Sarah Jane Martoccia’s Reviews

Sarah Jane Martoccia

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very happy!

    Posted by Tracy Nash, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are so grateful to Sarah for her help with our unemployment case, which was settled in our favor. She went out of her way to prepare us and make us feel confident. She was reliable, showed up on time, and was very professional. I would recommend her highly.

  2. I Could Not Have Found A Better Attorney

    Posted by Richardson, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Sarah Martoccia through the California Bar Association Hotline. I was skeptical at first, concerned with the quality of legal counsel I might get through this service -- but Sarah was simply incredible. Extremely knowledgeable. Extremely prepared. Everything I could have hoped for and more.

    My appeal hearing refuting a claim of overpayment brought on by the State of California Employment Development Department (EDD) was less than a week away. I had faced the EDD in the past and though I proved my case at the time, I was still made to pay a fee and suffer a significant penalty. I knew it was in my best interest this time to have an attorney present.

    Sarah listened patiently to my defense and scoured through my paperwork (I kept everything). She made me feel at ease and confident -- but still explained that there are no guarantees. A day later, Sarah called to tell me she had discovered precedent for my defense (in a 1970's decision). This was huge!

    She was professional and arrived at the court early to go over the precedent case and what to expect in the room before the judge. My hearing could not have gone better. We had all the paperwork to defend me against the claim. Sarah's manner and knowledge were impecable and professional. She stated my case plainly and cleanly and was ready for everything.

    It was Sarah who followed up on my case and called me with the decision, days before I received it in the mail. We won on all counts! She also arranged to have the State return my tax refund which were garnished and applied to the disputed overpayment claim.

    I cannot recommend Sarah Martoccia more highly. She is an outstanding labor attorney.

  3. Experienced, knowledgeable and amiable

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    With barely over a week before my hearing, I thought hiring a lawyer last minute would feel complicated and rushed. However, Sarah worked quickly to formulate a game plan for my case and put me at ease. She not only has a very strong grasp of the law itself but also the dynamics and politics of the courtroom. She is to-the-point and efficient but at the same time a very personable and warm person. The effort she put forth on my behalf made me feel that she was personally invested in my case. Sarah's professional prowess exceeded my expectations; I would strongly recommend her representation to a friend or family member.

  4. Excellent Service

    Posted by John, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very happy with the service i was given by Sarah, she knows the law well and had be very well prepared for my case with the judge.
    I would highly reccomened her.

  5. The Best Lawyer you can always rely on!

    Posted by Alexander Marzo, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We met Sarah M. thru a referral to help us in an administrative case (unemployment matter). At that time, my mother was undergoing treatment for cancer so the case against her was a heavy burden. The moment we met Sarah, we know we have the right lawyer for the case. She is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and explained to us the process and what to expect. If we lost this case, my mother would have to pay a lot of money and this will affect her treatment and her fight against cancer. Sarah understands this. And at the moment we met her we saw her serious work ethic and passion to defend her clients. She interviewed my mom and review piles of documents to understand the situation and drafted a very well written and detailed response letter.
    The case was ultimately sent for a hearing to an administrative judge. Sarah explained to us the process and prepared my mother for the hearing. The preparation was so good that the hearing went very well, and Sarah was beside my mother all the time guiding her along the way.
    Few weeks later, we received the response informing us that we won the case. We were so happy about the outcome and we know we couldn't have won without the help of Sarah. My family is very grateful to Sarah, if not for her who knows what could have happen to my mom. My mom was fighting cancer throughout the legal process and Sarah was there to gently guide her. She is very easy to work with, and easy to get along with. She is a lawyer that care for her clients, that will defend her clients with passion, and that will work hard for her clients, and the results speaks for itself. Thank you Sarah!

  6. Excellent legal services

    Posted by Ayla, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sarah Martoccia helped me with an unemployment case. I hired her from out of state. She was extremely reliable, upfront about her costs and the time involved and quick to get back to me when an issue arose. With her help, the case was settled completely in my favor. Given the fact that she was able to represent me from a distance, I highly recommend Sarah's expertise to anyone who wants a lawyer who is not only efficient but effective.

  7. Excellent

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sarah was very responsive and kept me informed which helped me to win my case.

  8. Outstanding Attorney That is100% Trustworthy that will fight for you!!!

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I worke for Los Angeles County Sheriff Dept. Prior to working for this department I worked for OPS and got into some serious issues where I was being railroaded by my department preventing me from obtaining my dream career with LASD. The supposed evidence against me was the size of a yellow pages! I was refered to my union,but when I was directed to look thru the evidence and come up with a game plan by my union rep., I began a search for an attorney. My search was not easy because many lawyers did not want to get involved in a case involved a Skelly Hearing and that might possibe end up in Civil Service. I found Sarah thru the Los Angeles Attornery Refferal Service. I contacted her via phone and she did a phone consultation right then and there! She had me fax over some docmentation which she reviewed and immedaitely gave me her thoughts on how I should proceed with no strings attached. I was so impressed with her knowledge of the system, that I knew I had to retain her. Once I informed my my union rep. that I had retained a lawyer she was so negtive telling me it was a bad move and that my attorney would not be sucessfull at a Skelly Hearing and I would run back to the union. My rep was so wrong!! Sarah and I had several sitdowns going over the evidence. I know she had other cases but she treated mine like it was the only case she had. She was very honest with me and paid close attention to every detail of my case leaving nothing to chance. Beause of her hard work I walked away with results %100 in my favor. I also want to add that Sarah was not just my attorney , but she also became a friend. She is very caring and you know its sincere. She has a very easy personality to gel with. Even now if I need any advie she is very easy to get in contact with and always willing to give her advice free of charge. She is outstanding at her craft and well worth the money to retain her!!

  9. Fabulous Attorney

    Posted by Summer Haddad Irby, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Martoccia.
    • I hired Sarah more than 3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the moment I spoke to Sarah Martoccia, I immediatley felt comfortable with my decision to work with her. Not only was she very educated with my legal issue, but also extremely sympathetic to what I had been dealing with over the past few months. She provided me with the guidance that I needed to pursue my case as well as a tremendous amount of support and comfort. In the end, I am happy to say that we WON my case. I don't know if I could have done it without her. She is truly an amazing attorney and I would highly recommend working with her.