Scott Edward Walker’s Reviews

Scott Edward Walker

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do not use this service if you are looking for legal advice.

    Posted by Nicholas, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott < 1 month ago.
    • Scott handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.

    I would never recommend this service if you are looking for legal advice. Their law firm only pushes papers at a fast rate and is not interested in what your business goals are. After sending numerous pages of documentation I was surprised when the lawyer on the phone had no idea what my intentions were. Furthermore, I have not gotten any clarification on my emailed questions. All of my questions have been disregarded via email. This is very frustrating because I'm going through with creating a company and feeling blindfolded. I would have been better off using legal zoom because thats the service provided here. This is a cookie cutter law firm where everyone will be Delaware incorporated or bust.

  2. Not the best experience for a startup

    Posted by Startup Guy, a Internet client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Internet matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Scott, or should I say, Scott's firm for my last startup. I chose Scott because of his blog posts on startup issues, his active participation in LA startup events, and the fact that he was located in LA, which is where I am. This last attribute turned out to be worthless because I only spoke to Scott on my first call with him, where he introduced me to another member of his firm in San Francisco who I worked with over phone and email. I suggested meeting up with him as I felt it important to know my lawyer in person, but he ignored my requests.

    I got the impression that Scott's firm is trying to break into the startup market, rather than being experienced in it. When I asked for references of successful startups that they'd worked with, they had trouble producing any. No problem, I thought, these guys are sort of a startup, too. Big mistake. The firms up in Silicon Valley are much better versed in startup issues, and are prepared for anything, and can say "we've done this 100x before, this is the way to do it" and move on. They will also defer fees until you raise money, which Scott was reluctant to do, although he did offer flat rate for many things.

    I think the bottom line was that I never felt like I had a startup-focused firm on my side. Scott's firm seemed rooted in their large corporate backgrounds, always presenting lots of alternatives and saying "well, you're exposed to risk if you do this" ... hey man, we're a startup, we need to just decide and move on. We don't have time to be dealing with CYA up and down, we just need to know what is the quickest way to get this deal done, and they couldn't help with that.

    In closing, Scott and his firm may be good lawyers, but not for startups.

  3. I Highly Recommend Scott

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Scott. He helped me sell my business to a private equity firm in a complex transaction and worked very hard to protect me.

  4. CEO Champion-Arrowhead LLC

    Posted by Jim, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Scott and I have worked together for 2 1/2 years. He is the corporate attorney for both of my companies. We have undertaken some very thorny issues including a major financial restructuring. I have the utmost trust in Scott's counsel, and also know that he will tell me what I need to know and not be focused on what I want to hear.

  5. Client's review

    Posted by Lou, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Scott on a few different occasions, he successfully managed to bring his big firm experience to smaller deals. The main reason why I’d keep using Scott’s services in the future is because of his business judgment. I feel strongly that in Mergers & Acquisitions good business judgment is even more important that legal knowledge, and I’d rate Scott in both of these fields as a perfect ten.

  6. Michael Feldman, Pyramat

    Posted by Michael, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Scott has managed several different issues for me in the past, including incorporation, standard business up-keep, licensing agreements and an acquisition. He is knowledgeable about a very wide gamut of issues relating to business law, and a truly competent attorney. And, most importantly, he is an honest and reasonable man who gives very good advice on issues both big and small.

  7. Experience in selling a company with the help of Scott Walker

    Posted by Albert, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Scott Walker represented me in selling my mid size food company in 2007.

    Scott was always available and kept me informed about tax laws and benefits, and pointed items not in my favor that the buyer had been asking for. Scott tried to minimize the work necessary to complete the merger, as the buyer's lawyers were trying to drag the case to make their billing hours larger.

    At the end, all ended well, and Scott appologized that the billing was a little bit higher than he had guesstimated because the buyer's lawyers tried to invent the wheel, including wasting over two weeks trying to write a lease agreement from scratch, instead of using a standard Lease form used by most Real Estate companies.

    I was very satisfied with the courteous service, and would recommend Mr. Walker with NO hesitation. I will be selling another company in a few months, and I can only think of Scott to represent me.

    Albert

  8. Excellent Negotiation Skills

    Posted by Jon, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We brought Scott in on a very invloved partnership issue with much history. He was able to sift through all the contracts and review then rewrite our contracts to our benefit. I felt that he was very efficient and his follow up was excellent. Time was of the essence and he came through to our complete satifaction.

  9. Very Responsive and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Walker.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott handled some stock purchase and repurchase agreements for us and was extremely capable and responsive.