STOP THINKING ABOUT STEALING. That will usually decrease your misplaced attempts at stealing, and is pretty much guaranteed to stop any criminal charges for stealing. If you need motivation to not steal watch Les Miserables or something.
You can eventually qualify again, but it is not the drug charge that is the problem but the DUI. In Nevada you have to wait 5 years after a DUI to pass the sheriff's review.
Here's the state law to apply for the permit:
If I am reading this correctly, I think your bigger issue is: what effect does this have on you as a borrower? The loan is an asset that can be transferred and you're responsible to pay who you understand holds the loan. Or else you risk being foreclosed on. Nevada courts have not been too kind to the "they don't own my note" series of defenses...
You would look first for back pay, what you have missed by not working (minus unemployment and your current income), front pay (maybe 6 mos to 2 years' worth, depending on your time at the employer), consequential damages (costs of moving, lost things, extra medical bills, etc.), then perhaps a few thousand for emotional distress (not as easy to get).
For misdemeanors like the suspended license and DUI the state has 1 year to file. NRS 171.090
For the felony marijuana charge, they have 3 years to file charges. NRS 171.085(2).
That said, 6 months is not unusual if they did a blood draw to prove your BAC (likely, since you say they found drugs too). In fact, here in Vegas I tell my clients not to expect their arraignment for at least 3-5 months after a DUI with a blood draw.
The requirements for the Nevada Board of Pharmacy include that you have not, "been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor that involves moral turpitude, dishonesty or the unlawful possession, sale or use of drugs." There is also a requirement that the person does not "abuse" drugs. See NAC 639.240(2).
If you are ready to seal those records, then possibly he could qualify. Sealing a record gives you the right to legal right to deny the arrest and conviction on an application. However, some...
The insurer of the *vehicle* would still pay under most circumstances, even if he had no license or insurance.
Also, you need to verify whether you have "uninsured/under-insured motorist" coverage ("UM/UIM" in insurance lingo). This will pay you for your bodily injury claim even if he has no insurance at all.