D Shackelford Shipp’s Reviews

D Shackelford Shipp

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. POOR RESPRESENTATION AND SERVICE AT AN OUTRAGEOUS PRICE

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp 1-3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very disappointed in the poor level of representation and service that I received from Dan Shipp. He was the most expensive lawyer that I spoke with and I thought that meant he was a good, BOY was I WRONG!!! He talked a good game and promised me he could win my case, but once he got my hard earned money it was as if he totally forgot about me. Dan Shipp is ALL TALK AND NO ACTION. He did not return my phone calls and he did not keep me informed of my court dates or update me on my case. He kept continuing my case and then told me I had to accept the plea offer, which was not a very good one, when I ran out of money to pay him. I would never recommend him to anyone!

  2. OLD MAN

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp 1-3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The only thing worst than being arrested was hiring Dan Shipp as my lawyer. He charged me a lot of money and got me the same plea deal the District Attorney would have given me without an attorney. He billed me extra for things that he did not do and I had to get call his book keeper several times to get the charges removed. He could not remember anything about my case. I felt like I was the only one who cared about my case and I had to argue with him constantly about the defense of my case. I felt like I knew more than he did about the defense of my case. I would not recommend this lawyer to anyone!!!

  3. Waste of my money

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp 1-3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I also had difficulty getting responses from Dan. I thought for the amount of money I paid I would be getting a more respectful, professional representation. Instead, I got a lot of lip service. His practice is run out of a barn and his staff seemed completely aloof, including the other attorney whose only concern seemed to be the blonde secretary.
    Bottom line. Don't waste your time.

  4. DAN, DAN, he's the man. If he can't do it no one can!!! SERIOUSLY!!!

    Posted by Joe, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp 1-3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would HIGHLY recommend Dan Shipp to represent anyone who is facing a DUI or drug related charges. He and his staff treated me like family the entire time, and went above and beyond the call of duty to help me. Dan personally picked me up and drove me to my court case because I couldn't get a ride. I was promptly notified of all matters regarding my case and treated with utmost respect. I was facing a 30 day mandatory jail sentence and Dan somehow had the jail time completely eliminated. THANKS DAN!!!

  5. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp 1-3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Dan for any legal problems that you may have. I have known Dan for twenty years. He is personable,caring,dedicated and loyal and quite intelligent.

  6. MUCH BETTER USED CAR SALESMAN THAN ATTORNEY

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp more than 3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He charges a lot of money and then is non-responsive to you. Extremely difficult getting a returned call and he doesn't seem interested in case or take the time to learn your case if it is complicated... he could not even remember my name at first! I felt like he was on the side of person pressing charges on me. Also seems like he and other lawyers are more concerned about their relationship with judges and DA's and not working for you. Just push for plea bargain and if you don't accept they all get annoyed. For all the money I pay an attorney and they don't even return a phone call without begging. I waited reasonable amount of time too as I know I'm not the only client but I had to threaten firing to get a repsonse. He made a lot of promises on the phone at first and talk about how great he was, but in the end, he did nothing for me.

  7. Terrible Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp more than 3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This so called attorney charged me three times what a reputable attorney in Glenwood Springs would have charged. All he did was continue my case and charge me $500.00 at a time. After he spent my entire retainer, he then withdraw from my case when I did not have anymore money to pay him. H left me high and dry.

  8. Best DUI attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp more than 3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used to be a police officer and have used Dan twice for Dui cases and both time he won the case. Awesome attorney and extremely knowledgeable.
    I would recommend Dan to anyone in this situation.

  9. Outstanding Representation!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp more than 3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My DUI case was unique, in that I actually WAS TRULY SOBER! When pulled over after rolling through a yellow light, I was asked to do all the roadside sobriety tests, and the Officer failed me. I do very poorly in tense situations, and hyperventilated and couldn't think straight. I declined the breath test, which resulted in a full DUI. After testing my breath at detox, they proved I was SOBER, but it was too late, I had already lost my license! Dan diligently gathered the facts, and proved to the Driver's License Bureau and also the State that I should never have been arrested, and that I was SOBER. No one but Dan could have gotten my license back for me!!

  10. DUI Defendent

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D Shipp.
    • I hired D Shipp more than 3 years ago.
    • D Shipp handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Completely receptive in defending an out of state client., and accomodating regarding my work schedule and travel time to and from court. In addition his whole staff was supportive, friendly, and helpful. Dan was responsive to any of my questions and was always straightforward and truthful. I w'ould highly recommend Mr. Shipp's representation to anyone!