Mechelle Y Faulk’s Reviews

Mechelle Y Faulk

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing! Changed the direction of my high conflict divorce.

    Posted by DeAnne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michelle Faulk is an amazing lawyer and came into my messy divorce at just the right time. Well, earlier might have been better to avoid the disaster created by my ex husband and previous attorney firm. I walked into separation unrepresented and had hoped my ex and I could dissolve our marriage without conflicts and arguments. That was the worst mistake ever! In the following two years he NEVER paid a single child support check, paid or supported a single activity/ sport for any of our 4 children, NEVER paid the mortgage on the house he kept in the separation, NEVER paid a dime toward the equity owed to me from the house, kept all of our belongings except the small amount he allowed me to take when I moved out, and skipped out on any of the parenting responsibilities outside of providing food and shelter for our children although he had 50% parenting time. I finally retained my previous lawyer when our house was foreclosed, I had nothing for equity, our children were doing poorly in school (when he had them attend), and I was financially crippled. My previous attorney did a terrible job and left me with little faith in our court system. After this court appearance I spoke with Mechelle to see if she could just "make the bleeding stop". In the 3 years since that court date she has completely turned my life around and gave me hope. It's not that I expected to 'steal' everything from my ex, I just wanted it fair for both of us and in the best interest of our 4 children. I just needed need the court orders to be followed and the children to be a priority. Mechelle has made such a difference. She is very knowledgeable, honest, and compassionate. She has been very available and when she is at her busiest she is able to send out an email, make a quick call, or have someone in the office call and set up an appointment for us to meet. If I were to select just one situation that she handled for me, and there have been many, I would choose her expertise when my ex husband dropped my oldest daughter (13 yrs old) off at my house, at night, while I was at work, and drove away. He never called to check on her nor did he call to let me know she was at my house. I am an RN and work 12 hour night shifts. Mechelle was immediately concerned and spoke with me that evening (during her off time) so we could come up with what I needed to do next. She contacted our CFI, set up for supplemental CFI report, got the information in front of the judge, and now I have full parenting custody of our oldest child. She not only handled this situation as an exceptional lawyer, but also reached out to me with comfort in the horrible ordeal. I trust her completely and always feel like she is in my corner. I will always recommend Mechelle Faulk as she is top of the top! My divorce has been horrible, but she has given me hope and helped restore my faith in our court system.

  2. adoption gone terribly wrong

    Posted by Mom, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mechelle handled my step-child adaption so poorly that I had to find another attorney to fill in and get us back on track. It could have ended in disaster, and I feel compelled to alert others so that they don't fall to the same trap. The biological parent was essentially out of my child's life for almost a decade, and my partner genuinely wished to adopt him. This seemed like a straight-forward adoption, except that Mechelle was absolutely bent on capturing back child support. This wasn't our initial intention, but she was so convincing that there would be no problem, this was the right thing to do, etc., etc. that we trusted her advice. That was a mistake that we regret. Well, the floodgates opened with an onslaught of pleadings and our relatively routine step-child adoption process went out the window. We then had a fight on our hands. The sad thing was that there should not have been a fight, and if we had not pushed the back child support, the adoption process would have gone smoothly. From our perspective, Mechelle intentionally started a fight for seemingly personal reasons. Our second attorney was great, though, and salvaged the situation. In contrast we recommend finding an attorney who hangs their reputation on resolving conflict, and being classy and level-headed, rather than a bulldog in court.

  3. The BEST! Reliable and compassionate.

    Posted by Todd, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I unfortunately had to get a divorce. I was lost, scared and had no idea of what to do or what was going to happen. I met with Mechelle for my initial consult and I was so amazed by how confident she was that everything would turn out just fine. Throughout the process so much 'crap' would come up and I would email or contact her and she would respond in a very timely fashion. Divorce isn't easy on anyone emotionally and Mechelle definitely understood that and put so much of my anxiety and worries at ease. Everything that she said would happen, happened. I couldn't have been more happy the day I picked up the phone and called her.

  4. An Amazing Attorney!

    Posted by Jerry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Mechelle for some time due to the contentious nature of my divorce. I always felt that she kept my best interests at heart. I was very impressed at her competence. Divorce is a very difficult process to go through but I'm certainly glad Mechelle was on my side. I came out of the divorce with what I thought was a fair settlement and at the start things did not look so rosy (my spouse,who initiated the divorce, was totally disabled). I would, without question recommend her. Mechelle is an amazing attorney!

  5. You can't do better than this attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-6 months ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mechelle has handled my divorce and post decree matters for the past 2+ years. Before writing my review, I read the others and felt compelled to respond to some of the negative comments by writing there is no way the reviews about poor court performance, writing and personal appearance are accurate. I suspect they were not written by actual clients, but by disgruntled third parties who've lost to Mechelle. My case was complicated and required beyond average attention from an attorney and Mechelle did an amazing job in managing the many issues that arose from pre-divorce to the present. My divorce involved three children, multiple properties and a business as well as domestic violence. This was not an easy divorce by any means. Therefore, I checked around before retaining her and discovered she has one of the best reputations within the legal community and is thought of as one of the best attorneys in Denver. Mechelle is an extremely professional, thorough, prepared, and skilled family law practitioner. In court Mechelle has proven to be very effective, while maintaining a high level of courtesy and professionalism towards everyone. Mechelle and her team were excellent at managing my case, keeping me informed during the process and getting me prepared for court. I feel my needs have been met and goals reached and was very pleased with my outcome. Mechelle handles matters expeditiously and does not waste time nor money in the process; which I greatly appreciated. I can honestly write I've never had better nor more effective representation than Mechelle.

  6. Review for mechelle Faulk by Dr. Anne Woodward

    Posted by Anne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-6 months ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mechelle Faulk handled my divorce professionally and kept me informed of my rights under the law. She was very ethical even when the opposing counsel was not. I would highly recommend her without reservation.

  7. Great Family Lawyer

    Posted by Pattie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired Mechelle to represent me in my divorce and am so pleased that I did. Being in the legal field myself but not having any experience with family law, I was concerned about hiring the wrong lawyer and to me that would have meant someone who was unnecessarily elevating fees or creating unnecessary contentions, or someone who was not familiar with the complicated issues in family law.

    While advocating on my behalf, Mechelle never "wallowed in the mud" with the other side over petty issues, was professional in all communications and correspondence, and monumental in helping me understand what my rights were and how the court and our state would likely rule on important issues. This ultimately saved in legal fees and made it possible to reach agreements with my ex, in spite of the delay tactics that were evident from the time I filed for divorce.

    Mechelle's knowledge of local family law practice is amazing and her ability to compose, draft and edit documents on the fly was not only efficient but awe-inspiring. Mechelle also has an associate and a paralegal who are both very experienced in family law, which allowed a very efficient and cost-effective representation without sacrificing quality or professionalism.

  8. reality check

    Posted by caring dad, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle was my attorney a few years back, and I could not help but weigh in because she nearly ruined my life (fortunately my new attorney turned it around for my family). Mechelle dumped me immediately after our custody evaluation. It wasn't for "non-payment" or any other reason, other than I had a really bad custody evaluation.

    I admit that there was good reason for the bad custody evaluation, but after I got a new lawyer things got better. The appointed evaluator actually had a heart to heart with my new lawyer and I turned things around. The custody evaluator actually told my new lawyer that Mechelle was young and ambitious and that she made me look worse during the evaluation. AFter that, my ex and I worked together and even though we don't get along we made things better for the kids. So, Mechelle was actually part of the problem and getting a new lawyer was part of the solution. Mechelle encouraged conflict that made things worse for our family. I agree with the other reviews that she reneged on old agreements and filed nasty briefs and personal attacks against the other party. She did the same in my case and I took the fall (partly for good reason but mostly not because good lawyer does things differently and should know better and advise their clients differently).

    There are really good family lawyers in the Denver Metro area. I recommend asking your therapist or asking someone that you know is divorced but admire their character. I hope that this review helps others who are in a bad situation and who are looking for legal help.

  9. Fantastic counsel

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle was actually opposing counsel on my termination of parental rights case. She was gracious and understanding, all the while making sure her client's needs were met. Her friendliness and professionalism made an emotionally difficult process and easy as it could possibly be. She was understanding and gracious in all of my interactions with her. I could not imagine someone handling a case like this better than she did. I would absolutely recommend hiring her for any family court proceeding you might have.

  10. Reality Check on this Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle has been a complete lifesaver for me and my family. Without providing too much detail, I was involved in a high-conflict situation with very significant assets at stake and a spouse who was doing everything possible to ensure that I would not have contact with my children in the future. Mechelle and her team listened carefully to my situation and worked hard with me every step of the way to not only ensure that the court understood all of the financial matters, but that my relationship and time with my children were protected.

    I could not disagree more with the reviews below that state Mechelle performs poorly in court or that she does not write well. We appeared before the judge numerous times in my case and in each instance Mechelle was prepared, made well-presented arguments supported by the law and, in many instances, she was thanked by the court or the court made a comment about how well-represented the parties were. As a result, Mechelle and her team helped me to achieve very favorable outcomes.

    What I mean by the "reality check" in my comment above is that when an attorney takes on highly-contested cases, emotions often run high. Unfortunately, in family law cases, the party who does not prevail may end up really disliking the attorney representing the other side. I believe that is what is occuring here -- that some of these reviews have been written by the opposing party and not Mechelle's client. Those negative reviews are so fundamentally different than my experience with Mechelle and her team -- which has been irreplaceable.

    I highly recommend Mechelle and if my friends and colleagues need a family law attorney in the future, I will send them to her.