Mechelle Y Faulk’s Reviews

Mechelle Y Faulk

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. reality check

    Posted by caring dad, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle was my attorney a few years back, and I could not help but weigh in because she nearly ruined my life (fortunately my new attorney turned it around for my family). Mechelle dumped me immediately after our custody evaluation. It wasn't for "non-payment" or any other reason, other than I had a really bad custody evaluation.

    I admit that there was good reason for the bad custody evaluation, but after I got a new lawyer things got better. The appointed evaluator actually had a heart to heart with my new lawyer and I turned things around. The custody evaluator actually told my new lawyer that Mechelle was young and ambitious and that she made me look worse during the evaluation. AFter that, my ex and I worked together and even though we don't get along we made things better for the kids. So, Mechelle was actually part of the problem and getting a new lawyer was part of the solution. Mechelle encouraged conflict that made things worse for our family. I agree with the other reviews that she reneged on old agreements and filed nasty briefs and personal attacks against the other party. She did the same in my case and I took the fall (partly for good reason but mostly not because good lawyer does things differently and should know better and advise their clients differently).

    There are really good family lawyers in the Denver Metro area. I recommend asking your therapist or asking someone that you know is divorced but admire their character. I hope that this review helps others who are in a bad situation and who are looking for legal help.

  2. Fantastic counsel

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle was actually opposing counsel on my termination of parental rights case. She was gracious and understanding, all the while making sure her client's needs were met. Her friendliness and professionalism made an emotionally difficult process and easy as it could possibly be. She was understanding and gracious in all of my interactions with her. I could not imagine someone handling a case like this better than she did. I would absolutely recommend hiring her for any family court proceeding you might have.

  3. Reality Check on this Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    Mechelle has been a complete lifesaver for me and my family. Without providing too much detail, I was involved in a high-conflict situation with very significant assets at stake and a spouse who was doing everything possible to ensure that I would not have contact with my children in the future. Mechelle and her team listened carefully to my situation and worked hard with me every step of the way to not only ensure that the court understood all of the financial matters, but that my relationship and time with my children were protected.

    I could not disagree more with the reviews below that state Mechelle performs poorly in court or that she does not write well. We appeared before the judge numerous times in my case and in each instance Mechelle was prepared, made well-presented arguments supported by the law and, in many instances, she was thanked by the court or the court made a comment about how well-represented the parties were. As a result, Mechelle and her team helped me to achieve very favorable outcomes.

    What I mean by the "reality check" in my comment above is that when an attorney takes on highly-contested cases, emotions often run high. Unfortunately, in family law cases, the party who does not prevail may end up really disliking the attorney representing the other side. I believe that is what is occuring here -- that some of these reviews have been written by the opposing party and not Mechelle's client. Those negative reviews are so fundamentally different than my experience with Mechelle and her team -- which has been irreplaceable.

    I highly recommend Mechelle and if my friends and colleagues need a family law attorney in the future, I will send them to her.

  4. OK with briefs but disappoints in court

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.

    I consider myself very experienced with family law issues. I have had a protracted post-decree case and for years I have provided suggestions to other struggling families about how to navigate through the complicated family law system. Many others have consulted my website and blog for help, and I consider myself a good resource to others and a good barometer of character. I worked with Mechelle because I have worked with Dufford and Brown on other legal issues.

    Mechelle does a good job anticipating the problems of the opposing party. I was even going to feature her as an expert on my website. However, she is absolutely positively terrible in court. I don't know whether the judge in my case had a personal beef against her but she lost her composure and started coughing and we never regained our position or credibility. She asked the most ridiculous questions and made bizarre statements...I should never have let this case go to court no matter how much money I lost. So, while I thought that the pleadings went OK I would never work with Mechelle again if there is a chance of a court appearance. I can personally attest to the fact that there are so many people who are the total package and I would work with them instead.

  5. doesn't write well or follow procedure

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mechelle made a mess of my case. She promised the moon and made a lot of money from me, but she is terrible in court and can't write. In my case, the appeals judge hammered her for not following procedure and for poor writing. If I were here, I'd be embarassed because that case is published opinion. That made me really think whether I was getting what I paid for. I think Mechelle acts aggressive and dresses provacatively for attention. However, respect is earned from performance, not posturing. There are plenty of other good attorneys in Denver. You don't need to work with this one.

  6. A True Advocate on Your Side

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am to Mechelle and her team for guiding me through my divorce in a sophisticated and sensitive way. Mechelle always took detailed notes, both in our individual discussions and at hearings before the Court. She is one of the most organized attorneys I have ever worked with. And, she was careful to use those notes and the other documents in my case to craft detailed settlement proposals and detailed arguments which were persuasive and easy to understand. As a result of her attention to the facts of my case and her attention to the finer points of the law, my case (which consisted of significant assets and issues related to children) was concluded in a fair manner. Most importantly, even though there was a significant amount of anger and distrust in my case, Mechelle worked hard with me to file motions only when absolutely necessary and to avoid increasing the anger and distrust. While the divorce was not an easy process, it was made infinitely easier with Mechelle on my side.

    I would like to comment on the negative review below. I cannot imagine a more inaccurate description of Mechelle and the manner in which she practices law. Mechelle takes her ethical responsibility very seriously and was always very careful to reflect the facts and precisely what the judge ordered in all documents filed with the Court. In fact, the reviewer’s description of temporary orders simply could not occur the way he described it. When an agreement is read into the record, both parties (and their attorneys if they have them) are sitting there listening to it read into the record. If Mechelle were to state a term that was not agreed upon, the other party (or his or her attorney) would have the opportunity to tell the judge that term was not agreed upon. Therefore, the reviewer’s comments that Mechelle read an agreement into the record that was not actually the agreement simply could not have occurred. It is unfortunate that reviewers posting negative reviews do not have to post their names as I believe the two negative reviews of Mechelle have been posted by opposing parties. Mechelle is a true advocate who cares about her clients and her work. I would recommend her to anyone.

  7. hurt tremendously by this lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Mechelle for about 18 months on a case. She seemed really responsive, but I figured out that filing a bunch of motions and writing bad responses was a way for her to promote her career.

    I thought for a while that it was helping my case. When my ex and I tried to negotiate an agreement, Mechelle read into record a different agreement than what was reached. The judge signed this as a temporary order and I thought this was a great move. However, we really got chewed out at permanent orders. I didn't understand that this was not ethical and I think it hurt my case.

    I think that Mechelle is really good for looking out for number one. Anything that you read about her is based on her skill at padding her billing sheet. Since dropping her as a lawyer I have done some looking around and she is not well respected in the profession.

    When she told me I was a smart and good looking guy I believed her. But I now see that this is just her game.

  8. Excellent attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have been working with Mechelle for 8 months now. In that time, she has shown herself to be very professional, knowledgeable, and trustworthy. My divorce was unexpected for me and not something I wanted whatsoever, and Mechelle has helped navigate through this with as little damage emotionally and financially as possible. I cannot say that for the opposing attorney. She is very accessible and seems to remember everything about my case. There is a reason Mechelle is listed in 5280 Magazine as one of the rising stars of Denver. I would recommend her without reservation.

    I'll also agree with the other reviewer noting that the one negative review about Mechelle is likely to have come from someone who was on the opposing side and did not use Mechelle personally. That write-up does not accurately describe the situation at all.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have been meaning to write a review of Mechelle for quite some time, and am happily doing it now even though I am a very busy professional. Mechelle was recommended to me by a colleague (who is an attorney) after I had expressed how unhappy I was with the lack of foresight, detail and communication with my counsel at the time.

    After Mechelle came on as my counsel, the entire case changed. She not only made real, significant efforts to communicate with opposing counsel to identify what my wife and I could agree on, but she also made some key litigation moves (after discussion with me and with my consent) that helped me to obtain points for negotiation and put me in a better place for litigation. She was very accessible and usually e-mailed, texted or called me back within hours of a communication to her office. She is knowledgeable about the law and is very detail oriented -- which was an extreme benefit in my case as we own businesses and many other investments.

    It was also helpful that Mechelle is experienced in working with experts and understood the complexity of the child-related issues present in a divorce matter. She was professional, smart, sophisticated and tough. I highly recommend her.

  10. She's great!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mechelle Faulk.
    • I hired Mechelle more than 3 years ago.
    • Mechelle handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used Mechelle for a very complicated family law issue and she handled all aspects of my case with professionalism and persuasiveness. I am a professional who has worked with numerous lawyers in the past, and I was quite impressed with Mechelle's knowledge of the law and with her commitment to her clients. With difficult issues, my family and I came out very well. She knows the law and knows how to use it. I am surprised to read the above review, as that is not at all my experience with her. In fact, I almost believe that the person writing that review was not a client, but was an opposing party. When you have Mechelle as your attorney, you really have someone great on your side. I recommend her highly.