Shawn E. McDermott’s Reviews

Shawn E. McDermott

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Shawn Mcdermott is that one-in-a-million lawyer...

    Posted by Carolyn, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I HIGHLY recommend Mr Mcdermott and his team. I am disabled and my LTD company was trying everything to drop me from their coverage. I believe Mr Mcdermott and his team saved me. He was upfront about his experience with the insurance company I was fighting and had even finished a case (successfully) for an individual with the same rare condition I have and the same insurance company I was fighting! He set my expectations realistically by explaining his past experience with this insurance company. I was worried that they would need a lot of involvement from me but they are a well oiled machine. He, the junior attorney and paralegal diligently kept me apprised of everything going on and answered every question I could possibly think of. He is remarkable. He handily won my case and did it with excellent economy of my money. Highly knowledgeable, expedient, experts in ERISA law, outstanding quality of work, excellent use of time/money, kind and always available to the client--these are just a few of his outstanding qualities. During one of the worst experiences of my life, he took control of everything and allowed me to focus on healing while eviscerating the opposing case. A good lawyer is like the lost city of Atlantis. You've heard of it, but doubtful you'd ever find it. Shawn Mcdermott is that lawyer and winning never felt so good.

  2. Excellent Disability Attorney

    Posted by Maggie, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you are battling an insurance company, you NEED Shawn McDermott. There is no way for the "little person" to have success against the "Big Insurance Companies" going it alone. Mr. McDermott is a shining star in his field. His knowledge of the laws necessary for fighting insurance companies is outstanding, especially ERISA and a disability claim. Not every attorney has the expertise when it comes to actually knowing much in this area.

    He is also very personable and cares about his clients.

    The entire staff at the McDermott Law Firm work together to help you win your case. They are always prompt in answering questions, phone calls and emails.

    I highly recommend Shawn McDermott, Esq. to anyone needing help in winning a case against an insurance company.

  3. Best Legal Representation Available

    Posted by Christina, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn McDermott is very knowledgeable about insurance/benefits law. He and his staff are supportive and responsive, and I feel confident that I have the best representation available. His fees are reasonable and he is honest and fair. It's very easy to contact them whenever I have any questions.

  4. Successful ERISA Litigation

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.

    Shawn and Heather represented me in a lengthy and complicated ERISA litigation. Throughout the ordeal, they kept me apprised of the legal process, offered sound advice, listened to my concerns, honored my decisions, and ultimately provided the best possible outcome given the shortcomings of ERISA law. As the "little guy" going up against a big insurance company on an uneven playing field, Shawn and Heather fought for what was right and just. I enthusiastically recommend both Shawn E. McDermott and Heather Petitmermet.

  5. Automobile & Medicare

    Posted by Shelly, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Car Accidents matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am the daughter of my parents who were in an automobile accident that happened almost a year ago. I did research prior to choosing an attorney, but went with my gut and chose Shawn Mcdermott by "word of mouth". I thought it would be hard to choose an attorney from the Denver Metro area when my parents live in the San Luis Valley. I did a "meet & greet" on behalf of my parents and did almost everything by email. I helped handle my parents case because the injuries they sustained which were keeping them from handling any type of communication with the outside world. Thank God I was here to help my parents & kudos to your staff as well Shawn!

  6. ERISA Lawsuit Settlement

    Posted by Cathy, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Lawsuits & Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn and his staff were always there when I had a question, concern or just flat out was falling apart. Becoming totally disabled is a stressful life transformation and Shawn and his staff were understanding of that and were not only professional, but caring, empathetic and reassuring. He was always truthful helping me understand the legalities so I could make an informed decision. He never tried to sway me and totally supported both my decision and my time frame in doing so. I would highly recommend Shawn McDermott for any type of legal needs of this matter.

  7. ERISA Lawsuit

    Posted by a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn and his staff was great. I became a bug in their ear with all my questions. Shawn always answered me truthfully, explaining it so I understood and let me make the decision, even if it meant it would lower his pay. I am grateful I found him and I think we even made a new law together... !!!
    Mary Sue was great, she always made me understand all the legalese she was sending me. I know if I had a question I could call or email her anytime and she would get back to me asap with any answers I had.
    I would recommend Shawn and his team to anyone!!

  8. Very personable and knowledgeable lawyer & staff!

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Lawsuits & Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn McDermott and his staff helped me with a successful outcome to my lawsuit. Being involved in a lawsuit is a very time consuming and stressful process.. Shawn and his staff made the process less stressful because they always kept me in the loop, always responded to my inquiries in a timely fashion and made me feel I was part of the team.

    Shawn is extremely knowledge in LTD/ERISA cases and I would highly recommend Shawn to anyone that is considering a lawsuit against their LTD carrier. He is very passsionate in what he does and it shows! Shawn always told it to me straight, gave me every option and let me decide. He's very easy to talk to and will talk to you in laymen terms. His low key, unassuming, but very professional demenor, made him and his staff a pleasure to work with. Again I would l highly recommend Shawn McDermott to represent you.

  9. Disability Litigation

    Posted by Dave, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn McDermott.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I suffered an accidental fall on July 26th, 2008, and underwent an emergency craniotomy. Because my disability company that was retained by my company felt I could go back to work, they would not pay me dispite what my local Doctors were saying in letters to the company. I had to retain Shawn and because of his hard and professional work, we finally reached a settlement with the disability company in November of 2010. Everybody in his office was professional and very diligent. I would highly recommend him.

Call now for a free consultation.

303-964-1800