Joseph Malone Newberry’s Reviews

Joseph Malone Newberry

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Family Attorney

    Posted by Richard, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We Hired Joe in 2013 for a complicated Child Custody case and divorce that a different attorney made a mess of. He handled everything with great professionalism, efficiency, and quick responses to every question we had! Finally in 2014 we completed our case with the best outcome and had a pure understanding of our order. I would recommend him to anyone in search of a family attorney!

  2. happy with the out come of case

    Posted by Terri, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I received Grandparent rights. A lot more than I expected. I recommend this attorney for who are raising their grandchildren or any child custody case. This law firm should be your choice. I am 100 percent satisfied.

  3. Joe Newberry review

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe is a great attorney who helped me get my situation with my child and child's mother taken care of and made sure everything was set in place and that my child was kept in Travis county with an agreement with her mother not able to leave town. He helped me structure a child support agreement and got the best visitation rights without having to go to court. He also assisted me with a CPS case after health issues I had when they attempted to keep my daughter from me for no reason. I highly recommend Joe for family law issues especially when you have a child and are not married, to get your father rights. Top notch

  4. Best bang for the buck

    Posted by Kevin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Newberry and his staff represented me in a child custody case. Though the opposing counsel and his client tried to bully us, and made the entire experience as drawn out and difficult as possible, Leecraft and Newberry stayed the course. Through their great persistence and diligence, I was able to obtain custody of my daughter. Participating in a custody battle can be expensive and arduous, but Leecraft and Newberry were by far a bigger bang for my buck. My legal fees were half that of the opposing counsel, and the outcome of the case was overwhelmingly lopsided in our favor. I would absolutely recommend Joe Newberry and his firm for legal representation in a family law matter.

  5. Joe Newberry and Team

    Posted by Garrett, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    I had been in a nasty custody battle for almost 3 years prior to meeting Joe and his amazing team. My first lawyer never believed in my case, used up my retainer, gave me unhelpful advice, and never went to court for me. From the first meeting my wife and I had with Joe and Melissa, we could already tell that these people were going to get the job done. I was so impressed with all of Joe's knowledge on the laws and how things are supposed to be done. Time was of the essence and Joe was able to get all the paperwork filed correctly and in a timely manner. I always felt like my case was a priority to the team, and Joe was very good at calling me to give me updates. He is very strategic and powerful in the court room. All in all the entire team at Leecraft and Newberry is an amazing group of people. Everyone works together to get the job done. I am so proud to say that my two daughters live with me full time now. I can not thank Joe and staff enough. It is because of them that this blessing has happened. If you looking for a fighter, Leecraft & Newberry is where you will find it. I would highly recommend Joe to anyone who is in need of a family law attorney,

  6. Top Notch Attorney and Firm!

    Posted by Sharon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I retained Leecraft & Newberry PC to prosecute my very contentious divorce case. From the initial client intake and for the duration of the 10 months, the firm’s representation of my interests was outstanding. Joe Newberry ensured my rights were protected and navigated me through a very difficult process. I hired Leecraft & Newberry on a recommendation from a friend. I have been an attorney for 22 years and was very pleased at the caliber and quality of the legal representation I received. I highly recommend this firm and Joe Newberry specifically. Shannon, Joe’s paralegal, is just super as well and a true professional to work with.

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe took over my case after my previous attorney made a huge mess out of things. He took a bad situation that was headed for disaster and pulled out the best result possible. He was very frank about what my options were, honest with what he thought the cost would be and helped weigh my options objectively. He and his staff worked to keep the cost of my case at a reasonable price always being mindful of their time and the expense that adds.
    He made sure that every detail was addressed, even counseling if necessary. He was aggressive when needed and cooperative when it was required, the right balance the entire time.

  8. Outstanding family attorney.

    Posted by Barry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Being relatively new to the Austin area, I asked people I knew for a recommendation on a family attorney and the one recommendation that stood out was for Leecraft & Newberry. Joe replied to my first email during the weekend close to the New Year and had me scheduled right away.

    No question went unanswered and being my first legal conflict of this type, my expectations were well managed and Joe delivered exactly as discussed on every bullet point at every step of the process. He provided me with realistic scenarios and let me choose the path to proceed on.

    Joe is direct, confident and experienced. His team is professional, friendly and efficient and not only with me, but with the opposing party. I honestly dread the thought of how things would have gone with a cheaper attorney or even worse, trying to do the forms myself online.

    My case was final in just over 60 days and Joe still takes the time to check in to see how things are going. I wholeheartedly recommend Leecraft & Newberry to anyone going through family issues and want things handled right the first time.

  9. Reccomendation for Joe Newberry as exceptional attorney!

    Posted by Cynthia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe Newberry has most recently been handling my child custody/support case; however, his office also handled my very difficult and complex divorce that took over a year to resolve. So I have now known Joe for close to three years and have experienced nothing short of knowledgeable and honest guidance though out both cases. He has been quick to respond to my inquiries, and timely with updates as they occur. I wholeheartedly recommend Joe for all your family law related needs.

  10. A divorce is a tough thing to deal with and Joe made the situation very manageable

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Joseph Newberry.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Joe Newberry handled my divorce and really made the entire process easy and painless. There were issues with my wife being non-responsive, but Joe kept things on track and made everything happen smooth and easy. He was professional, knowledgeable, ad honest with me through out the process. Luckily for me, there were no children involved with my divorce, but Joe was able to explain my options to me and made things fair for both parties when it came to property and assets. The firm was very affordable compared to many others I had looked into and kept me informed on where I stood with them on fees and expenses. That made me very comfortable about what I was paying for. I would highly recommend Joe and his entire team.