Your probation can't be revoked solely for nonpayment, as long as you are paying as much as you can.
You will need to have documentation to show the judge that all of your extra money goes to probation and not to cable television, going to the movies, expensive cell phones and the like.
Most of the time judges don't like to send people to in-custody sanction facilities like ISF if they're just behind on their payments, especially if they are the sole breadwinner in the family.
This area of law is complicated because you are dealing with several conflicting sources of law.
Under Texas law you can possess a firearm just like the judge said.
The Federal firearms law says a person "convicted" of a felony can never possess a firearm. "Convicted" for federal criminal purposes does not include a Texas deferred adjudication.
Army regulations will determine what the Army considers to be a conviction or not, and what is an acceptable conviction and what is not....
Another option is to petition the Governor for a pardon. You will need to hire a lawyer and the Governor does not give out many of them, but if you can really build yourself up with strong credentials and community involvement this will make the pardon route more likely.
The previous answerers gave excellent responses but I wanted to add another point.
The judge sees someone tampering with their interlock as a direct challenge to the court's authority. That makes it all the more important for you to ensure that you are doing everything else you can as well as you can on probation. Do extra AA meetings, do more CSR than required, pay your fines/fees more quickly than they order.
Do everything you can to show the judge that you want to be successful on...
This offense is often for failing to protect a child from a known abuser or for failing to take a child to get medical attention for an obvious injury.
Your lawyer is in the best position to tell you what a Waco jury will do to your case if you go to trial, so be sure to sit down and listen to his advice.
It does not matter if the cop could see the sign. What matters is whether the cop could see you stop or not.
If you did not run the stop sign you should not plead guilty saying that you did.
However, a jury might believe the cop over you, so you might decide you'd rather just take defensive driving for $25.00 than risk eating a conviction and a 1/2 day trial. Either decision is completely justifiable.
Disclaimer: This answer is provided as a public service and as a general response...
I have gotten these type of charges reduced to misdemeanors in Willliamson county. The important key is to convince the prosecutor that you are not a risk for drug abuse.
One case I had that was reduced was for a kid who got an ADHD pill from a buddy so he could study for the SAT. While this isn't a great reason to possess a controlled substance, it is certainly not the same as a person with a rock of crack cocaine and shouldn't be treated the same.
Stay out of trouble, be able to...
You must hire a lawyer to petition the court to amend the conditions of boyfriend's probation.
Judges DO NOT MESS AROUND when dealing with folks on probation for a sex offense.
Just suppose what would happen if you and he were sitting around your house and the neighbors get into an argument. The cops are called and they start knocking on doors to find witnesses. Boyfriend is listed in the police dispatch records as being prohibited from contacting you so he gets hauled off to jail....
Deferred prosecution in Travis county is a dismissal of the charge in exchange for performing certain actions, and is permanent and expungeable if you stay out of trouble during the deferral period.
A person is only prohibited from possessing a firearm in family violence cases if they are convicted or if there is a protective order.
If the case is dismissed, there is no conviction. so as long as the case has been dismissed (i.e. under a deferred prosecution agreement) and there is no...
In the event that father has two prior, sequential prison trips for different felony offenses he would possibly be looking at 25-life.
However, I plead a client to 4 years on Friday who had 2 home burglary charges, after he had done 2 prior prison trips for home burglaries. So it is impossible to determine exactly what the minimum time is in father's particular case.