Russell J. Amsberry’s Reviews

Russell J. Amsberry

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommended

    Posted by Eva, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell 1-6 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I will start off by stating that I am an active duty military member. I sought out help from my local JAG office for assistance and I was instructed to find an attorney off a referral list with a snarky “good luck” to tend to my child custody modification. I was divorced post 2 years and I had a geographic limitation to Bexar County. In my past experience with attorneys in San Antonio, two actually, I’ve hired and fired. Make sure your attorney has YOUR family’s best interest at heart. Mr. Amsberry prevailed in my case and listens to you what you have to say. Honesty is the best policy and he is definitely not afraid to tell you the truth. I had a long drawn out modification due to my ex- spouse pushing for a jury trial. Mr. Amsberry and his paralegal team were superb in preparing my discovery documents, research, presentation, depositions, witnesses, and expert witnesses. Listen to what Mr. Amsberry has to say, if you need an expert witness, get an expert witness. Money comes and goes, but do you want to be cheap when it comes to your child (ren)? Sometimes you get what you pay for if you settle for less. My case went up to the day set for the trial and we settled out of court with a mediator. Which I still had my expert witness present and Mr. Amsberry. My ultimate advice; is do what is best for you and your children and have Mr. Amsberry with his team in your corner. You are the ultimate judge to figure out what attorney is best for your case but, I highly recommend Mr. Amsberry and his paralegal team.

  2. Great results from experienced Attorney.

    Posted by Mark, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell 6-12 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.

    I spent years dealing with other attorneys wasting my time and money in a child custody case. Mr. Amsberry and his staff finished my case in two months awarding me full custody of my son, that I had not seen in years. I will be forever grateful to him! Mr. Amsberry was recommended by the Fort Sam Houston's JAG office after years of false hope and promises from other attorneys.

  3. Excellent Service

    Posted by Tony, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Amsberry did an excellent job for my family and our multiple issues. We had several wills that were long overdue in being probated and he took care of this very quickly and easily for us. He also updated others. We had various issues regarding family land and he made several suggestions on different options and even set up appointments for us with city departments to determine our best course of action. He went the extra mile for us to assure our questions were answered and our needs were met. We would highly recommend Mr. Amsberry to anyone needing legal advice or assistance.

  4. Attorney Russell Amsberry

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Russell Amsberry has been my divorce attorney and workplace attorney for seven years. During this time Mr. Amsberry practiced his expertise in law far above and beyond what I had expected when searching for an attorney. He was always available day or night and would answer his phone even to say "I am with a client, I will call you back". Mr. Amsberry was very professional and also empathetic. He is one of the best attorney's I have ever come across. I would refer my friends and family members first to Mr. Amsberry before anyone else.

  5. Competent and Knowledge of the Legal System

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Amsberry is an amazing attorney. In what I considered to be a difficult and complicated matter, he was able to review the facts, utilize his expertise, act quickly and competently. He communicated completely, demonstrated high levels of professional standards, and proved at all times to prepare and focus on my behalf for a positive result. It is my honor to know Mr. Amsberry, and my good luck that I was introduced to him. With great admiration and gratitude, I sincerely recommend him.

  6. The Amsberry team is WONDERFUL

    Posted by Kristy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Amsberry and his team have helped me and my children very much. He always explained everything that was happening and what is/was going to happen. Any time that I had any questions or anything I just had to call and if needed they would set me up with a meeting. My ex has tried to make this difficult and Mr. Amsberry has always been ready and willing to fight for what I am needing in my case. Mr. Amsberry and his team have already gone above and beyond, I feel like he has my back no matter what, I trust him completely. I also feel like he has mine and my childrens best interest in mind.. He has a great heart and my family is very appreciative for what he has already done and what he is still doing. Thank you to Russell Amsberry and his team... They are wonderful.

  7. Estate Planning/ Elder Law

    Posted by Jorge, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Had my Dad losing all of his savings due to placement in a nursing home. Came to Mr. Amsberry and he helped my and my family understand proactive estate planning/medicaid planning strategies to keep Dad where he was and preserve as much of his estate as was possible. In the process, we saved over $120,000 in monies that would have had to be spent down to qualify for medicaid. He was concerned and his staff was very polite and professional. In short, he and his staff helped turn an imploding situation into one where we could find some light at the end of the tunnel. Would recommend him to any of my friends or family.

  8. Terrible Attorney

    Posted by Lynne, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The day before my hearing, he informed me that he was not available to appear because he had another commitment. He claimed that he was not aware my hearing was on that particular day. WHAT?? He certainly was aware when it came to being paid. He snatched up the money and ran, plus added more money to my bill through a credit card payment without my knowledge. What a nightmare! On the plus side, I did get a refund thanks to my credit card company.

  9. Smart Aggressive Attorney

    Posted by Sarah P., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a difficult custody fight and Russell along with his staff went the distance -- staying until 11 p.m. at night preparing witnesses, preparing and presenting my case. After the end of week before a jury, I won in large measure do hard work and smart lawyering. Getting my kids back was one of the best days of my life!

  10. Great Experience

    Posted by Paul Saenz, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Amsberry.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Amsberry helped me with a divorce and subsequent adoption. Throughout the process, he kept us informed, was very professional and demonstrated a high degree of competency and respect from both the judges we appeared before as well as his opposing counsel. Rarely are my expectations exceeded. He and his office did so.