Mark L. Medley’s Reviews

Mark L. Medley

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. CHILD CUSTODY REVIEW

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Medley.

    Mr. Medley took on my case after it was decenlty underway. He gave me much more confidence in my case than my previous attorney and started straightening out matters right away. Because of his experience, he is not easily shaken by attacks of the opposing party, which is very helpful. I would have liked to see more availability and more preparation before the custody trial as far as the witnesses went. My best friend wasn't even sure who was questioning her when she was put on the stand, so her testimony was very choppy and hindered (she thought she was being questioned by the opposing party and was hesitant with her information). I also feel that the asked for geo restriction (should the jury vote FOR a restriction) should have been more broad, but I am ultimately pleased and am still in contact with Mr. Medley. He is busy, so be prepared to assist in your own case where possible, but he does know what he's doing, so definitely would recommend.

  2. Custody

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Medley helped and succeeded in obtaining custody of my son with great professionalism. I have recommended him to several other close friends and collogues and they have nothing but praise for Mr. Medley. He is well respected in the legal community here in San Antonio and I can see why. I highly recommend utilizing his professional services.

  3. Mark Medley the Tim Duncan of the court room and the cream that rose to the top!

    Posted by Marc Bayona, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Family matter.

    Mark did an exceptional job of getting the job done. Mark is well respected in the legal community and when a judge or his colleagues see him in court, they know he means business. Since all Mark does is family law for the past 20+ years, he is very good and experienced at it. When he makes a recommendation to the court is taken with a little more esteem. Mark is what I would call a bulldog and in a divorce that is the kind of attorney you want. Mark knows the law, he knows how to try a case, and he knows how to win! Money well spent, thank you Mark!

  4. Honest, ethical, trustworthy.

    Posted by Joe, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired Mark at the recommendation of a friend to help me with a custody suit. I found him to be very effective and knowledgeable and was able to win my case. One of my concerns with hiring an attorney was having my bill run up. I know many people who seem to get taken advantage of financially, so it must not be rare (unfortunately). I am pleased that Mark worked swiftly and effectively and came in dramatically under projections. Mark is an excellent attorney who is compassionate and, most importantly, effective.

  5. Mark is a brilliant well established lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Medley.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Like many I never thought that I would have ever needed a divorce lawyer. During a very difficult time Mark not only become my lawyer but my advocate. He was strategic , responsive , incredibly well prepared and always honest. My divorce and custody agreement was favorable . Mark is a champion of fathers rights and I am appreciative of the work he did.

  6. Best Lawyer in Central Texas

    Posted by Carl, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.

    If you need a divorce lawyer or any other disputes such as child custody or child Support Mark Medley and his staff is the team you hire without a doubt. Mark and his team will work their hardest to ensure you have the best chance in getting the results you want. From the beginning Mark listened to my concerns and what I ultimately wanted out of my divorce. As a male I initially felt it would be impossible for me to win the right to establish primary residency (primary custody) of my child. My ex-wife had done an excellent job of smearing me and having me arrested on false accusations. In the beginning of my divorce my ex-wife had primary custody of my son and even the court ordered psychiatrist who completed the social study recommended that my child remain primarily with my ex-wife. This was one of the biggest obstacles to overcome. But, Mark knows how to focus on the details that matter to ensure you get what you want out of your divorce or child custody dispute. During my child custody trial I was amazed how much work he puts in. We would exchange text, emails, and phone conversations well past midnight during the 12 day trial. That’s what you can expect from him. I would not hesitate to hire Mark and his staff again. Because of Mark I was able to win primary custody. His legal expertise is second to none and he is the one you want on your team.

  7. Should be disbarred due to ethics violations

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Support matter.

    Mr. Medley sales pitched me to get the retainer and told me I had a great case and this "wasn't his first rodeo". He told me the initial meeting was free (another way to get me to pay) and then charged me for it when I fired him. He then didn't return calls or emails and his staff was rude and unprofessional. Once he realized I didn't want to go to court and settle outside of court, he stopped caring and told me that my case was a lost cause and I should prepare to pay the maximum to my ex-spouse. He communicated with the other lawyer without my knowledge or consent on decisions that I should have been a part of and then told me that he communicated with me. When I fired him he took a week to get me the final bill so he could nickel and dime me. I filed a grievance with the Texas Bar but is was denied and the local San Antonio Bar office was of no help. Mr. Medley is an unethical, unprofessional and untrustworthy person.

  8. Worst lawyer

    Posted by Kelli, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.

    If you want to have a lawyer you can communicate with, who will represent you aggressively and be fairly honest do NOT choose Mark Medley. His insessant dishonesty, failure to hold himself accountable for constantly dropping the ball, and his non existent availability was disappointing and ridiculously expensive. My divorce and custody case was drug out over the course of two years. At first he seemed aggressive and invested, once the checks cleared I was lucky if I got to speak to the paralegal to the tune of $150 an hour. He has forgotten to file papers, failed to enforce agreements and never protected me from the abuse of the legal system by my ex, worse was his ability to make me feel like an annoyance instead of a client. Don't put an important issue like child custody into the hands of this smug, magnanimous, lazy attorney. Those are my observances in regard to my relationship with Mark Medley. If I could have rated him lower then poor I would of, but I had to choose at least a poor rating, so my experience was not even deserving of one star.

  9. UNPROFESSIONAL

    Posted by Shawna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mark 2/09, he was recommended by a co-worker who stated this attorney was a bulldog in the court room. Shortly after taking my retainer, he was impossible to get a hold of. I attempted to reach him various ways, ph, email, messages, where he tells me, you contacting me multiple times won't get you an answer.

    I found out I was to be in court the next morning through my ex., was told we mailed you the notice by his office. The day before my finalized decree I tried to ask Mark questions concerning my decree, he was no where to be found.

    Do not hire him, you will regret it. I am still recovering from the negligence and ill advice. Worst lawyer I have ever dealt with.

  10. The long term effect of poor representation.

    Posted by clare, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Medley.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I used mark 3 years ago in my Divorce, I was an emotional reck and thought he would fight for me. He told me " this ain't my first rodeo" so I put my trust in him as most of us do. He wasn't prepared for court ever, I didn't go to my final hearing cause I wasn't informed. I am sure someone else received my notice because I received other people's paperwork. Major hippa violation. When I had a question I called him. He told me he didn't have time for me because he was hanging Christmas lights and hung up on me. I tried again a couple of days later and he told me my husband and I were in a pissing contest and he was getting his kids off to school and once again hung up on me. I couldn't fire him because he had already taken all my money I took out of my retirement, which he suggested I do to pay him. During the divorce he never communicated anything to me. I have a special needs child and lost more than what I should have. I am now dealing with retirement and child support issue he drew up which are unclear ,and have had to hire a different attorney. What lawyers need to realize is the long term effects it has on peoples lives.I have had to borrow money to try and fight for my mentally retarded son, who is now an adult, while Mark is living a high life on all my retirement money I gave him. He took full advantage of my time of emotional destress and I am sure has not thought twice about us. I have now gained strength over the last couple of years and write this in hope he doesn't do this to anyone else. I tried to report him to the Bar but the statue of limitation is up. My new lawyer listens to what I have to say and what a difference a little kindness makes when ur not scared to ask a question from ur own lawyer. If I lose my next court case the kindness my lawyer has shown toward me and my son is worth all the money I am having to pay. Kindness goes a long way. I am a nurse and treat each patient as if they are a family member. Someday I might be taking care of ur mother, sister, wife husband and would expect me to provide exceptional care. Why can't he have done the same.