If the Court is saying you violated the terms and conditions of probation then you need a lawyer. A lawyer can investigate and bring proof to the Court that you did in fact comply with the terms of your probation
If your Friend went to prison for 6 years then he is on parole now. As a condition of parole he can be forced to make certain payments. Such payment can include court costs, court appointed attorney fees, restitution and fine, to mention a few.
First of all you need to start talking to lawyers and hire one. The evading arrest is a state jail felony and is punishable by 6 months to 2 years state jail or 2 - 5 years probation (if you are eligible by not having been convicted of a felony in the past) the Burglary of a motor vehicle is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail or up to 2 years probation. If this is your first offense then you need a lawyer who will try to get you Deferred adjudication...
Harris County as a very good court appointed lawyer system. If you can't afford a lawyer just tell the court coordinator that you want to apply for a court appointed lawyer. If you qualify the Judge will appoint you a lawyer.
Texas law will not allow your sentence to be changed. Under Texas law the law that applies to your case is the law at the time your crime was committed. So even though the punishment range was lowered for the offense you were convicted of it does not affect your case.
In Fort Bend County the District Clerk will create a cause number with a "A" at the end when a writ, or motion to reduce bond is filed but the criminal case is not yet indicted. If he was placed on Deferred adjudication probation for 2 cases he will only have to answer for those cases. You should not worry about any old case. With his name and date of birth or his cause numbers I can search specifically for him on the Fort Bend data base and give you a definite answer on what he is facing...
This is a civil demand letter the only option Walmart has if you refuse to pay it is to file suit against you in small claims court. Since no police came out to the store it sounds like no one was charged with theft.
There are no criminal consequences for not paying the demand
Evading Arrest/Detention is found in Section 38.04 of the Texas Penal Code and can have a variety of possible punishments depending on the facts of the case.
The most common is a class A misdemeanor. A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in county jail and a fine of up to $4000.
If you evade and use a motor vehicle or have been convicted of evading arrest in the past then It is a state jail felony. A state jail felony is punishable between 6 months and 2 years in a state...