These comments are made for educational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. No attorney-client relationship exists between us.
The statute of limitations for the collection of debt in Texas is 4 years beginning the day after your first missed payment. This does not change when a debt is sold. The debt buyer must file suit to collect before that 4 year period ends. Collectors can and do often try to collect debts many years after limitation period ends. If that happens,...
You really need a police report number so you can inform the credit bureaus that you are a victim of identity theft. Usually, you can get a report number even if there is no investigation. As for the others, you might want to try the sheriff or the FBI.
The Texas Property Code requires a landlord to refund the deposit or explain why the deposit was kept IF you give notice of your new address in writing. No phone call is required. If there was more owed the landlord can turn the claim over to a collector and they do report to the credit bureaus. You have deal with the collector and the credit bureaus to get the matter resolved. This entry can make it very hard to get a new apartment.
When you finish paying the settlement the creditor will file a release of judgment with the court and the county property records. The judgment will remain on your credit report but it will be marked as released which is as good as it gets.
Don't pay anybody who will not give a written verification of the debt. If they say you must request it in writing that's fine, get the address. If the accounts are not showing on your credit report it is possible the debt is more than 7 years old and has been dropped as it should have been. Do not admit to owing any debt in writing. If you do you renew the debt for 4 years for purposes of being sued and 7 years for credit reporting.
You'd have to sue the repo man for trespass and conversion, the lender for conversion, and the car owner for theft of service. You'd have to be willing to wait a really long time before you saw any information or money because you can't do regular discovery in justice court. You need to decide if the amount you are trying to collect is worth the effort.
THIS IS A MYTH. In Texas, once you sign the contract to purchase, it is enforceable. To break the contract, you must be able to show there some kind of fraud associated with the formation of the contract such as misrepresentations about securing financing, failure to pay-off your trade if applicable, or a material misrepresentation about the vehicle such as the year or model of the car. If you discover such a problems, you must act quickly to resolve the matter.