John Arthur Nechman’s Reviews

John Arthur Nechman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent service and professionalism.

    Posted by Mario Borja, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John < 1 month ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent service and professionalism. We visited 4 different lawyers until we were recommended to contact Mr. Neckman. We felt comfortable with his attention, knowledge, guidance and advice. For sure we'll continue to hire him to complete my immigration case.

  2. Legal services for Immigration matter - Canada to USA

    Posted by Kirby & Simon, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John was compassionate, thorough and honest with my partner and me as we navigated our way through the immigration process. He and his firm carry a reputation of integrity in such matters and are clearly respected by the US officials adjuticating the cases. We were so fortunate to have been referred to him.

    We would most highly recommend John and his firm to those requiring legal counsel in matters of US immigration.

  3. John is the best lawyer for us so far

    Posted by Robert, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    After the Supreme Court DOMA decision for same sex partner marriage last June, we did some internet research and had initiated contact with different lawyers about our case. We kind of considered applying for a K1 visa stating our intent to get married and then apply for permanent residency status. But we were unsure if that was the best choice at the time. My partner and I decided to visit John’s office for a second opinion as one of my other lawyer’s friend highly recommended him to us. We both felt very trustful with John’s professional knowledge/suggestion for our case during our meeting. Since we both have been together for a long time, almost 20 years, John has different suggestion for us. We basically follow his suggestion and everything went well for our case being approved by USCIS in less than three months waiting time which included going through a three major holiday times (Thanksgiving, Chrismas-New Year, and MLK) period. We are happy to live like a normal people now except Texas still have a long way to go to have a real equality for same sex couple. If you were in our situation with Bi-international same sex couple, you would certainly need to talk to John like us.
    One more thing that you might need to know and I wish someone had told us before. John is a very nice guy to work with. But our case was handled by his associate from the very beginning until our real interview with USCIS. It might take extra efforts to get answer from John when something came up and you might need to aware of getting less client center service from his associate as well.

  4. THE BEST LAWYER EVER

    Posted by YASIR, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    I DID NOT EXPECT TO GET AN APPROVAL FOR MY ASYLUM CASE FROM THE FIRST INTERVIEW, BECAUSE MY CASE WAS NOT AN EASY ONE.
    I REALY RECOMMEND THIS HONEST, TALENTED AND TRUST-WORTHY ATTORNEY FOR EVERY ONE WHO WANTS TO APPLY FOR AN ASYLUM.

  5. An Excellent Immigration Lawyer

    Posted by Joseph, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    When my partner and I first met John, we were fearful that he may not be able to help our situation with my immigration status. But within the first few minutes, our fears were gone and replaced with a quiet confidence. He gave us knowledgeable information about what needed to be done and assured us that I would have no problem in updating my immigration status.

    A week before the interview with the Immigration Officer, John Nechman scheduled and appointment for us at his office. That meeting proved invaluable as he went through in detail what would happen, what we needed to bring, and what questions would be asked during the interview with the Immigration Officer.

    On the day of the meeting we were nervous, but confident, and it was reassuring to know John was with us every step of the way. Today I have John and his staff to thank for my permanent residency, and Green Card.

  6. Excellent well informed

    Posted by David, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr Nechman and his staff always kept us informed. When we call for information they always returned the call promptly. We were a same sex couple and he got us the green card exactly as he stated at our first meeting. I would highly recommend his law firm and will use him anytime we need legal advise.

  7. I now have a greencard. Thank you John Nechman

    Posted by Franki, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    John Nechman advised me with my immigration issues.
    I now have a greencard and am very pleased to recommend Mr Nechman as he ensured that the process went so well. Courteous, well informed, very experienced and professional. He helped me with all paperwork, and accompanied us to the interview at UCIS. I will now use his firm for all my legal needs.

  8. Immigration - Same Sex Case

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    John was the lead lawyer in our same sex immigration case. His firm is the absolute best. We felt we were among friends. We were so happy with them that we stopped by their office on the day we got approved to thank each one of them in person. They are highly recommended.

  9. Very disappointing

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    One of the main reasons I hired Mr. Nechman and his firm was because of the wonderful reviews of him on this website. Sadly, my experience in dealing with Mr. Nechman and his associates has not been similar to the other reviewers. I question the ability of him and his staff when it comes to keeping people informed. At first when I came to them with the case I hired them for they were all very helpful. Response to my initial email asking for help was almost instantaneous; after the initial meeting to determine if he wanted to represent the case I brought to them and vice versa he thoroughly explained all available options at that time. Once all the paperwork (and payment) was taken care of, that is when things changed. Mr. Nechman was supposed to show up for a court date (the first one since being hired to represent this case) but couldn't make it. I was told by one of the people in his office the reason for him not showing up was that he was in the hospital but that an associate of his, Mr. Benjamin Ha, would be showing up instead. I don't have a problem with that; the problem that I did have was when Mr. Ha showed up he explained the reason Mr. Nechman couldn't make it to court was because he (Mr. Nechman) had another court hearing for a different case that couldn't be avoided. Again, being needed in another court isn't something that bothers me. What bothers me is the blatant lie that was told. Since that point in time, things have only gone downhill. Every attempt I have made to contact either Mr. Nechman or his law firm has been a test of my patience to say the least. I would ask questions to his staff and most of the time there was no concrete answer to quite simple questions. I was told they would ask Mr. Nechman and get back to me as soon as possible. There was not a single instance where anyone ever got back to me regarding one of my unanswered questions. The office staff is snarky and unhelpful once you've signed the paperwork and made a payment. I even received a billing statement with "PAST DUE" (with interest already attached) at the top in big red ink on the 1st of the month, but the details of my retainer clearly state that payment is due on the 12th of every applicable month. That was annoying enough, but this was also the first (and only) time that I ever received a bill of any type, past due or not, in the mail. The only reason previous payments were made on time were because I had the days marked on my calendar and went out of my way to stop at their office on either my lunch break or after work before the due date. Part of this case deals with someone who is in jail, and has been for over 2 months. Just last week Mr. Nechman emailed me (in response to a question I had asked of him 3 days beforehand with no response prior to said email) and said that he had every intention of visiting the person in jail that day (a Wednesday) but that he was unable to due to his schedule. He assured me that he would visit the person in jail by the end of the week. It is now a week and a half later and Mr. Nechman still has not visited this person in jail. I was so frustrated with the lack of communication from Mr. Nechman and his associates that I called the receptionist and explained to her how I was looking for answers and nobody was returning any and to please have Mr. Nechman call me at his earliest convenience. Within 15 minutes his legal assistant Peter called me and was perplexed and offended that I had called and made accusations of not being kept informed. Later on in the day I received an EMAIL from Mr. Nechman with a similar sentiment and a big long story about how busy he is and he didn't have time to immediately respond to emails. People get busy, I understand that, but if you can't respond to a CLIENTS QUESTION at least respond with something like "I received your email and will get back to you as soon as possible." Mr. Nechman is knowledgeable, that much is obvious however communication is not his forte.

  10. Great Lawyer

    Posted by sylvia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Nechman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Nechman was there for me and my family during a very difficult time. He is trustworthy, honest and caring. Mr Nechman knows what he is doing and explained everything to us very well, consulted us on everything and did an excellent job. Mr. Nechman never lied or planted false hopes. He was very straight forward and worked very hard for our case. I highly recommend Mr. Nechman. He is unlike any lawyer I have ever met and is just a great person.