Skip to main content
John Hunsucker

John Hunsucker’s Answers

232 total


  • Patrol cars in turning lanes

    live in small town and new cop is sitting in turn lane during night ,there has been several close calls ,this town has several older drivers ,blue hair and possible some that should not driver during the day , what are laws for patrol to set in tu...

    John’s Answer

    Kevin is right on the money. Will not invalidate anything he does and technically, you could make a citizen's complaint against him to the mayor or city counsel or police chief. The squeaky wheel gets the attention.

    See question 
  • My sister has breathlyzer for 2 years, is there a way to reduce time on these ?

    She was pulled over and police said that she denied to make the alochol test, which that was not true. They gave her a DUI..and she is carrying the breathelyzer, is very sad because she is not an alcoholic or anything like that, i wonder if she ca...

    John’s Answer

    If your sister has an interlock on her car in Oklahoma, it is probably the result of losing her license through the Department of Public Safety. In Oklahoma, she would have had 15 days to contest the license revocation. If she didn't or if she did and was not successful, then she received a 180 day (six month) license revocation providing she had no prior revocations within the previous 10 years. She probably asked for a modified license to let her drive during the six months which would have required an interlock in the vehicle. Because you stated she has to have the device for two years then I am guessing she either refused the breath test or took the test (or blood test) and the result was a .15 or more. This being so, under the Erin Swezey Act which took effect Nov 1, 2011, she is being required to keep the interlock on her car an additional 18 months after she reinstates from the DL suspension. It boils down to 2 years of the device on the car. Unfortunately, this may have been preventable in the beginning if we could have fought it then but after it has occurred....there is no way to avoid the requirement now. If my answer was helpful, please select it as the must helpful. Good luck.

    See question 
  • Does Texas have juriscition over me?

    I relinquished my parental rights in Oklahoma, and my children were adopted by their stepfather in Texas. Does that give that Texas court jurisdiction over me in future non-family court civil matters?

    John’s Answer

    Jurisdiction in what type of case. Your question is really too broad to answer correctly. However, just because you have children in Texas, that would not generally extend jurisdiction to non-family court civil matters.

    See question 
  • Can I get in trouble for meeting with the person who has a protection order against me ?

    She contacted me first and told me that she was just upset when she did it.. She says she has changed her mind and wants us to be together, We don't go back to court until December 18 th. I don't know what to do. She says if I do anything she does...

    John’s Answer

    The only person that can lift the VPO is the judge. You are in violation regardless of whether she called you or not. nThe court has ordered you to stay away and by not doing so...you are violating the the Court's order.

    See question 
  • I got a DWI this last weekend from a Highway Patrol . What consequences should I expect and how much money will it cost?

    First time offense. Never been arrested.

    John’s Answer

    If your case is really a DWI, then you will not have to worry about license problems unless you take a conviction for DWI. A DWI in Oklahoma means you had a breath score of .06 or .07. If you refused or had a breath test result of .08 or more (.02 or more if under 21), then you have a DUI charge which does carry license ramifications. If a DUI, it is important to take action within 15 days of arrest to prevent license suspension.

    As you were arrested by a trooper, then this will be a district court charge. If a DUI, fines and court costs will generally run 1-2 thousand but there are a lot of other fees for classes and probation. It is very important to speak with an attorney that handles DUI cases. Like myself, almost all of them give free consultations. Also, you can click the link below to my website which has very detailed information on Oklahoma DUI laws. Good luck

    See question 
  • Ex refuses to return child and I can't afford attorney what do I do

    I am a single mother with full custody. Ex has rehab hopped up until last 2 years of her 7. I allowed extremely liberal visitation and contact with ex (when he came around) and his parents have always taken her for visits. He now refuses to retu...

    John’s Answer

    Take your custody decree and call the police. If you have legal custody, then he has to return the child. Also, talk to local legal aid to see about filing contempt citation in court for not following the custody order.

    See question 
  • My storage unit was stolen, what are my rights?

    My boyfriend and I put our storage unit in a friends name because at the time it was last minute and he didn't have his ID on him.He has been avoiding me since then and says he has no idea who stole my belongings(even though hes the only one with ...

    John’s Answer

    You can file a police report with the Edmond PD but not sure they will do anything. Your remedy lies in civil court. You will need to hire an attorney and sue him for conversion which is basically saying he converted your property to his use.

    See question 
  • If i already confessed to a misdemeanor embezzlement crime can i still plead not guilty when i go to court and maybe work a plea

    I was charged with misdemeanor embezzlement for taking money from a cash register at work around 250 dollars this is a first offense.

    John’s Answer

    Terrell and Kevin are both correct but wanted to add that it is important to find a lawyer. Although most first time offenses like this will result in a deferred sentence that will keep off your record...that is not guaranteed. Depending on the court and which DA's office you are dealing with, you may or may not get the same outcome without an attorney. An attorney can also review that case to see if any prior statements are admissible.

    See question 
  • How do I get my suspended., modified driver's license reinstated?

    I was on a modified license with an interlock and restricted driving hours for 180. days. When I tried to renew my license, I was told it was suspended. I didn't understand that after the 180 day period I needed to report back to DPS to have my l...

    John’s Answer

    If it was a 180 suspension, then it sounds like it was your first DUI. You will need to go to DPS and show them that you completed an alcohol assessment and completed the requirements. After you completed the requirements and returned to your assessor with proof of completion, the assessor should have given you a completion paper with a red stamp showing completed. You take to DPS with the reinstatement fee to get reinstated. HOWEVER.....if you received your DUI or APC after 11-1-2011 and you refused to take the test or you took the test and blew a .15 or greater, when you reinstate, you will have to keep the interlock on your car for an additional 18 months under the Erin Swezey Act. When you go to DPS at NE 36th and Martin Luther King, I recommend going as soon as they open before it gets busy.

    See question 
  • Need help with a drinking in public ticket.

    recently went on vacation to Broken Bow oklahoma where we went Kayaking in the state park there. As we were floating down the river we were having a few drinks and a game warden pulls us to the side and gives us a ticket for Drinking in Public thr...

    John’s Answer

    If you pay the fine, it will be a conviction and will be on your record. Your best option to keep off your record is to contact a local attorney (don't get a city attorney from OKC or Tulsa as the cost in travel will be far more than the ticket). They should be able to look at the ticket and see if valid and set up a deferred sentence where it won't go on your record. JP Longacre is down in that area and would be a good place to start.

    See question