I agree to call the police. There is a felony in Nebraska called Abuse of a Vulnerable Adult for this type of a situation. Also, you may want to consider a conservatorship over your mother to ensure her financial decisions are made by someone other than her.
It depends on whether your county participates in a Diversion type program. In Nebraska, each county is different and not all have diversion. In general, you would be contacted prior to your first court appearance about how to start such a program if your county has one. You can always call the County Attorney's office and ask them if there is a program and if you are eligible for it. Good luck!
Yes. Often times the case is dismissed before all the requirements of diversion are complete. Diversion will still track your progress and alert the prosecuting attorney if you do not complete the program. Then, the prosecutor may refile the charges against you.
Third Degree Domestic Assault is a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Nebraska. That means that the maximum jail sentence is 1 year and the minimum is 0. The maximum fine amount is $1,000 and the minimum is 0. A fine or probation is also a possible sentence.
Any time it is alleged that you have violated your probation, you face the same penalties that the original charge carries. If you have already been sanctioned by adding more time to your probation when you got the shoplifting charges, you can expect the punishment to be more severe if you violate again.
If you currently have a vaild driver's license, the maximum penalty you can receive for DUS in NE is a $100 fine. If you do not have your license reinstated, you face up to 90 days in jail, a $500 fine and a 1 year license revocation.
In addition to what the other attorney answered, you may be eligible for a Diversion Program if this was a first offense and you have a clean record. This is a way to get the charges dismissed. Again, you should contact a lawyer before your court date to discuss all your options.
In Nebraska, the punishment for many theft crimes is determined by the value of items taken. The ticket probably is an indication that the value was less than $200 therefore the charge is a class 2 misdemeanor theft.
Chances are there are no current pending charges or warrants. With technology and the Interstate Compact Clause, it would be difficult to "hide out" in another state for long. The Nebraska State Patrol or the Sheriff's Department in the county in which the crime was committed maintains criminal records.