W. Scott Hanken’s Reviews

W. Scott Hanken

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Totally Satisfied

    Posted by Sandy, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken 1-6 months ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    You don't often think of using the word lawyer and happy in the same sentence but that is indeed the case with Mr. Hanken. I could not be happier with the service I received from him. He was a consummate professional: returned phone calls and e-mails within 24 hours; kept me apprised of the progress of my case; was efficient and effective; did I mention reasonably priced. Would not hesitate to recommend his services.

  2. Peace of Mind

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken 1-6 months ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Hanken was totally professional throughout my entire process. He provided counseling, confidence, hope, and peace of mind. Would recommend him to anybody.

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken 6-12 months ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott went all out for me, getting me a better case disposition than I thought possible. It's not possible for me to recommend him highly enough.

  4. AMAZED!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.

    Scott was AMAZING. He did a fabulous job and I would highly recommend him to anyone. He really knows his stuff and knows exactly the best way to handle each case. I am very satisfied with what he has done for me. So grateful, I don't think I could have gotten such wonderful service from anyone but him.

  5. Review

    Posted by Lisa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken 1-6 months ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Scott met with us a week before court to explain to us exactly what would take place and what to expect the outcome to be. Never did I anticipate such a great outcome! I also appreciated the quick responses to all of our questions. I highly recommend Scott to anyone! Trustworthy, informative & explained everything in detail so we would understand everything.
    Thank you for everything!!!

  6. great lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    so far has got what i needed done

  7. DUI King

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    All I know is I was facing alot of jail time, for a dui (was not my First) every attorney I had spoke to tried to get me to plea out , for less jail time, jail would of destroyed my life, and my familys, then i met scott, he got the charges dropped.....three other Springfield attorneys a year in jail....scott knows the laws,and found a problem with my arrest,case gone !!!!! thank you Scott Hanken,He does not look at your past, he makes sure all your rights,are kept

  8. Scott Hanken- The BEST defense attorney

    Posted by Joy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    W. "Scott" Hankin P.C. was actually referred to us by a mutual friend. I had contacted a different attorney at a big law firm initially. He also gave me Scott's name & number, due to a conflict of interest. Since Scott's name came up on two seperate recommendations, I "went for it." THANK God~
    Our (then 20 year old) son was caught up in a legal matter with a hundred different "issues" that COULD have went a MILLION different ways, through no fault of his! Our world as we knew it had been turned completely upside down within a matter of minutes. Not knowing WHAT to expect, nor what was possibly going to happen was terrifying!
    After callling Scott, he set up a (consult) appointment that was quite timely & much appreciated. Within seconds of meeting Scott in person, immediately we felt confident Scott was THE one to represent our son, 20 years of age at that time. We felt very comfortable talking to him. Scott was just one of those guys....he seemed like someone we had known our entire life, rather than having just met him.
    Scott was VERY knowledgeble of the law. He spent a great amount of time asking specific questions and gave us a wealth of information at our "free consultation" before we even told him "you're hired!" That was not only amazing to me, we all were very impressed. Our family was overwhelmed with worry, anxiety, etc. as is anyone (and/or their child) when facing possible criminal charges.
    We have done business with other attorneys, but never because our son's future was on the line! Scott went above & beyond the call of duty. He informed us of all things that may or may not happen. We were kept abreast throughout the case of all of the updates and all that was CURRENTLY going on. Although it seemed like forever-only because of all of the "oh my God, what if's".... at the end of the case our son IS still a free man, free to continue as a full time student, free to continue working at his job that he loves. Thanks so much to Scott Hanken, for taking the time & having the knowledge as well as expreience that was needed to get the charges cleared.

  9. BEST ATTORNEY IN SPFLD IL

    Posted by greg, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr Hankin is the best attorney in spfld.il.He is knowledge in all aspect of of the judical system and he as represented me in different court cases.Everyone court cases he has represented for me the judges decision is always in our favor.
    Mr.Hankin is very professional and is always concern for the the clients legal needs and he has never let me down on any court case he has handle for me.I would refer anyone i know to Mr. Hankin no matter what the case is,he is the best around.

  10. Scott Hanken

    Posted by Dave, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Hanken.
    • I hired W. Hanken more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Hanken handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I've worked with a number of lawyers over the years on various personal and professional matters. Fortunately for me, only one of them (the most recent) was a DUI. Luckily I was referred by a trusted friend to Mr. Hanken. Scott knows the law and the system/process inside-out. Although that might be the case with other attorneys, it’s my experience that Scott is at the very top of his field in terms of accessibility, responsiveness, and his ability to communicate everything going on in a simple straight-forward manner. I’ve been so frustrated with other Lawyers because it was obvious I was one of too many clients they were handling simultaneously and I could only expect about 15 – 30 minutes of effort monthly. Not the case with Scott. Call him, text him, email him, whatever – on Monday – you’ll hear back from him usually on Monday but positively by Tuesday. Furthermore, you’ll understand completely what he’s told you – he won’t hang up until he’s sure you did. Finally, I appreciate the fact that he told me during our very first meeting precisely what I could expect throughout the entire process. He didn’t guarantee anything, and pointed out that there are “variables”, but in the end everything played out exactly as he described it would. I believe he’s primarily a defense lawyer, so I can’t honestly say I hope to work with him again, but if I ever need a defense attorney, I’ll call Scott.