Jeffery Mark Leving’s Reviews

Jeffery Mark Leving

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. LOT OF MONEY LOST

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I should have realized that it was a bad idea when I paid $125 to meet with them but after meeting with one of their top lawyers I felt better. I had a very simple case but did not want to go at it alone since my wife had a lawyer. Since the case was so simple I was charged a $4,000 retainer and told that there was no way that we would come close to that. One week in and I was moved to a lower level lawyer in the firm. I had a problem with that because that's not who I paid to represent me but was told it would be ok because it was such a simple case. I went along with it. Two months in and nothing seemed to happen with my case. My wifes lawyer complained about not getting her calls returned and I realized it was happening to me as well. At the end of July I had a conversation with my lawyer over my concerns about finishing the case within the 4k retainer. He told me we were not even close to touching it. One week later I received a bill for 7k. He had gone through my retainer and charged me 7k on top of it. 11k for nothing. After weeks of complaining I finally fired them. They then tried to delay withdrawing with the hope of charging me more money. When they wrote up the motion to withdraw they stated that I breached the contract. When I told them to correct that they charged me office time to fix it. These people are a joke. I do not make a lot of money and ended up finishing the divorce by myself with the help of my wifes lawyer. The whole "fathers rights" message is a joke. I cant even listen to their radio ads without feeling sick. My only hope is that future clients will read this and other comments before considering them.

  2. They call right back and charge accordingly

    Posted by Todd, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Accepted my retainer and payments for unfinished filings and very little work. He really ended up with 3 court appearances that were each continued and then when I ran out of money he billed $14000 (lien on my house). I asked his office for updates on costs which took 2 months after retainer spent. He pressured me into waiving the 30 day notice to withdraw from case.

  3. Very good firm

    Posted by James, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Leving's firm last year after almost giving up on a terrible situation with my "X". It seems like if your a father you don't have any rights so why waste money on court, right? That's what I thought but I called Leving's firm and had the consultation. They went to court and I finally felt like I had a chance. It worked out and I got my support reduced and the time with my sons I was hoping for. We're going fishing this weekend. Last year at this time I was alone and never imagined I'd be writing this today. I'm really glad there are honest attorneys out there that will help fathers.

  4. I Have My Children

    Posted by Happy Dad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was involved in a long custody case in which my the only reason my ex wanted the kids was to chase me for money. I went to a number of other attorneys in the Chicago area, but Mr. Leving seemed to be the best fit for my needs. There aren't a lot of lawyers who care for the rights of the father, and there's still this assumption that the mother is "the best caregiver." It isn't always true, and it's fantastic that I found this firm when I did to prove that.

  5. Great service! They really care!

    Posted by Andy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm glad I took the advice and hired Leving. They offered great service and the results are better than I expected (although I admit my expectations were not very high being a man). The attorney my case was assigned to was very understanding and ran circles around the other attorney in court. The other side was visibly shaken by my attorneys well prepared arguments. The ordeal is over but if I had to do this again (I hope I never do) but I'd call Levin in a minute. They really care!

  6. Now my kids are safe thanks to Jeffery Leving

    Posted by Dale, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My sons were in a very dangerous situation where my ex-wife was dating a man who was a convicted felon. My first attorney did nothing but run up a bill. After two weeks of working with Jeffery Leving and his team I got into court and was able to get temporary custody of my two boys. Leving's team worked swiftly and aggressivley to make sure justice was served. A few months later I got full custody and my ex-wife only gets supervised visits. Best thing is she is paying me support!?! I'm just overwhelmed with joy and respect over this firm and their fantasticly talented group of lawyers. I thank God everynight for the work Jeffery Leving is doing.

  7. Mr. James Hagler is a superb attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • Jeffery handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Regrettably, I have had to endure two divorces in two different counties. Consequently I have personally seen divorce lawyers at work. I can say without reservation that Mr. Hagler and the Leving Firm are extremely knowledgeable, provide excellent representation and truly take a personal interest in and care about their clients.

  8. Dont be scamed by the "fathers rights" gimic.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After hiring this firm this past year to simply take my ex wife back for mediation....it costs me over $24,000 for 5 months of work. In the end...I had 2 different lawyers that talked a good game and made promises that just didn't happen. I fired them and hired a new attorney that did more work and got better results in 5 days than Mr Hagler or Mr Reardon did. Please do not get pulled into their marketing tactics.

  9. Do your research and avoid Leving

    Posted by David, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Leving goes all out for strategy but at a rate of $1,200 per month the client cannot even see specific statements involving the case. The only item to save the case was my children having a child representative appointed by the judge and, oh yes, the step dad sexually assaulted my daughter, took pornographic pictures for her grooming, and attacked me in front of the children. At this point, the gender biased Judge Katz still gave custody to the mom with the hopes that a parenting coach would change this. Leving said nothing. Having re-posted the photos throughout his firm, he backed the pervert who works for Chicago Children's Hospital and made it a contempt of court issue if I use the pictures to prevent this of others. I hope Jerry Sandusky gets the same consult from Leving that won't stand up unless there's money attached.

  10. Divorce and Child Custodt

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Leving.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This firm went through $45,000 in 3 months with no trial date, no custody hearing, really little of anything. They slowball the case to rack up charges and have very few deliverables. Please avoid them. they left me broke and with no resolution or movement in my case. Worst mistake of my life!

312-356-3237