Marilyn Fletcher Longwell’s Reviews

Marilyn Fletcher Longwell

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Marilyn Fletcher Longwell - Lawyer Review

    Posted by Ken, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This a very friendly, efficient, professional firm. They took very good care of my case and I am very satisfied with the outcome. If you're in need of a family lawyer I would definitely recommend Marilyn Longwell. Their guidance was valuable and they helped me undestand the process while going through the entire case.

  2. Wonderful experience with my Lawyer

    Posted by Corina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Mrs. Longwell via Avvo. She is professional, honest, thorough and compassionate Lawyer.
    I hired her to deal with my divorce. Even thou English is not my first language, she always made sure I understood all about the case. Every meeting was very fruitful . She guided me through this process, giving clear indications of what was needed to make this case successful. From the first meeting I felt welcomed and secure. She has a strong personality and the same time she is kind. I will go back to her if I ever need a Lawyer.

  3. Peace of mind

    Posted by Jane, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Child Support matter.

    I have had ongoing issues regarding my children due to my divorce 10 years ago, and Marilyn has consistently been there on the side of fairness and what is best for the children, as well as supporting my needs as a client. She has consistently given fair and measured advice, and so has helped me navigate the difficult waters of ongoing litigation. I have and will continue to recommend Marilyn to anyone who needs a good lawyer.

  4. A Highly Skilled Attorney

    Posted by ariane, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Marilyn Longwell is a trustworthy and highly skilled attorney. She took action to protect me, when it was needed and handled negotiations calmly and wisely. She has an erudite mind and she has very high standards.

    Throughout the divorce I learned that I could always contact her with problems and questions and I learned that I could always rely on her judgement. Going through divorce is immensely stressful and knowing that I had Marilyn Longwell standing up for my rights took a lot of the stress out of the situation.

    Marilyn is an amazing judge of character and completely knowledgeable in legal proceedings. She is able to work with people sensitively and sensibly and I would recommend her without any hesitation.

  5. Marilyn Fletcher Longwell

    Posted by Xavier, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marylin Longwell was supportive, understanding, sensetive, focused,
    realistic, dedicated and very professional. She helped to guide, direct, channel and looked for a fair an and equitable solution to the divorce. I was extremely appreciative of the tact and skill she demmonstrated in achiving resolution to such an emotionaly charged life changing event. Without hesitation I would recommend her to any of my friends or acqaintances who needed the services of a proficient lawyer.

  6. Review of Marilyn Longwell

    Posted by Sheila, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Longwell walked me through my divorce with clear verbal and written communication. I appreciated the emotional support that came through during the three-year process.

  7. Marilyn Longwell Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met Marilyn several years post-decree after an extremely acrimonious and prolonged divorce lasting more than half a decade.

    Marilyn was the 4th lawyer I retained during the life of this case and most certainly the last one I hope I’ll ever need. In any event she’s by far the best divorce lawyer I’ve ever dealt with. She is polished, highly experienced and also a very much respected member of Chicago’s Legal Community. She’s knowledgeable about both the law and it’s practical real-life applications and interpretations, in a wide and deep sense regarding family issues in Cook County. She knows a lot more than that too! Her earlier professional background is also not unimpressive, look her up (I did) and you’ll see her experience.

    My divorce got a bit complicated because I got a new job during my divorce pre-decree. My new job paid handsomely and I was blessed to be able to sign a decree, in good faith at the time, to pay a very generous maintenance + child support figure amounting to mid six figures per year to my ex. I am proud to have paid it every month and always on-time and for many, many years I did just that.

    I retained Marilyn after I lost my job referenced above (a material change in circumstance) and attempted to file "pro-se" or on my own for a temporary reduction and/or abatement in my support obligation until I found a new job. I had already completed my maintenance payments several years ago so I merely wanted to abate/adjust my child support. I didn't think I required any further legal advice because I was not seeking anything complicated, simply financial relief. Her Honor denied my claim. Because of this, I had to go to trial.

    Trials are unpleasant and exhausting no matter who wins. However, if you must go through this experience, find the best trial lawyer you can find, and then hope/pray for the best.

    Marilyn is just that, the best, and this is why I think she did such an excellent job on my behalf. In a trial, I have learned, there is the law and then there are the facts. Furthermore there are two opposing parties in a court room, and on top of that-two lawyers representing those opposing parties with all the zeal and vigor they can muster, all in an effort to convince a judge one side or the other’s portrayal of the facts or perception of reality is true.

    That being the case, you want Marilyn by your side in that situation. She’s equally passionate about both the law, and the facts to the best interest of her client, but overall she is concerned about the fairness in which it is applied practically speaking. This is a rare thing to encounter in the legal arena I have found. Fairness is something that she strongly believes in, and I’m glad there are lawyers out there that I can respect for that reason. I’m even happier she’s not my adversary.

  8. Divorce less painful.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Marilyn was not only thorough and extremely competent in handling my unpleasant divorce case, but she was kind and compassionate to me throughout that very difficult time. The judgement was fair and equitable and I was able to move on without rancor.

  9. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marilyn Longwell.
    • I hired Marilyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Marilyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Longwell handled my divorce and custody. She was able to settle the case before trial and got me a fair settlement, which provided for my child and my future. Through her efforts, a business partnership not previously disclosed, was discovered. Ms. Longwell was professional, yet thoughtful and considerate in her dealings with my family.

312-263-4730