Jon Forrest Erickson’s Reviews

Jon Forrest Erickson

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. WON MY CASE!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 6-12 months ago.
    • Jon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jon Won my case so I guess that's enough said!!! Sometimes some reviews need not say more but I will give you some specifics. He is very busy and I sometimes felt that I needed to be informed of what was going on but, I will take that all day long when the result is a win. He definitely knows what he is doing and I certainly felt much more confident in front of the judge when he was standing next to me. He knows law and he won both parts of my dui case ,the civil which rescinded my suspension and the criminal which won my case and put an end to my nightmare. Everyone should do themselves a favor and end their search now and go with Jon. He lifted a huge weight off my shoulders and for that he is a winner in my book.. It felt good to win my case and have that officer leave the court room a loser.He knows law and he is worth the price!!!

  2. Simply the Best

    Posted by Pat, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 6-12 months ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jon Erickson reminds me Perry Mason in the courtroom. I met Jon back in 2007 when I was in court with someone who I had been going to court with for over a year (because of attorneys who kept postponing the case and asking for more money). Anyway, I saw Jon in action for two days and he fought really hard for his client. On day two I followed him out of the courtroom and asked him would he fight that hard for a black man? he said yes and handed me his card. Well, who would have known five years later that I would need him for my son. On March 12, 2014, my son was found "NOT GULITY" for charges of Battery to a Police Officer. The Officer lied and said that my son hit him, but the Officer was really the aggressor. The Officer beat my son up and tried to cover it up. I wish you could have been there to see how Jon worked that Officer and his partner over. It was a work of art. Jon is also very reasonable. He let me know what his fee would be upfront. That fee never changed and any additional fees were discussed thoroughly and still reasonable.
    As a parent of an African American male I realize that my son is GULITY until proven innocent. There are not many attorneys like Jon who don't look at skin color but the charges and how they can help. Or attorneys who will stand up to Law Enforcement.
    I'm making plans for a career change to become an attorney and work for him:) "Jon's SIMPLY the BEST, better than all the rest"

  3. The dream team

    Posted by Dexter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jon was a great lawyer. They DESTROYED the witnesses and after an hour of deliberation the jury found me not guilty.

  4. Top notch

    Posted by Jay,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jon thoroughly reviewed my issue and explained my choices carefully. Was very responsive and stayed on top of the matter. Would work with him again and have recommended him to friends.

  5. First Rate Work

    Posted by Elizabeth,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.

    Jon is extremely knowledgeable and thorough. He and his team navigate the legal bureaucracy very well and I would recommend them to anyone.

  6. ERICKSON & OPPENHEIMER - The Home of Fearless, Competent and Dependable Attorneys

    Posted by Eric, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The attorneys at ERICKSON & OPPENHEIMER are simply, THE BEST. From helping me navigate the seemingly overwhelming legal system - which they did with COMPASSION and EMPATHY- such as attending the various court appearances and keeping me fully informed on the complicated goings on. To helping me to thoroughly understand ALL MY OPTIONS and what recourse was available to me. They are DEPENDABLE, PATIENT, and RELIABLE when needed. And when representing me and advocating on my behalf they were the most DOGGED, UNRELENTING, and VIGOROUS attorneys I could have hoped for. I have FULL CONFIDENCE in their abilities and should the need arise again I would without hesitation use of their PROFESSIONAL SERVICES AGAIN.

  7. Not afraid of the government. Will fight for you.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Whenever I talked to him I felt like he had things under control- and he did. He gave me great advice

  8. Supportive and Reassuring Counsel

    Posted by Frank, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have a fifteen year old daughter who has been doing poorly in school, is doing illegal drugs and staying out all night. Jon Erickson explained the law as it pertains to Juveniles with in the State of Illinois and the consequences and potential punishments for her behavior and is currently working with me and monitoring my situation to see if there any further remedies available to me so far seeking forced psychiatric help in the event , as he put it ...."she becomes a danger to herself or to others". More importantly, I received helpful information on non for profit organizations and contact people that might be helpful to my child and my family, for which I am grateful. Thank you !

  9. DUI Genius

    Posted by Edward, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got a DUI about a year ago and the court system was not a process I was very familiar with. After sitting through various court hearings and seeing first hand the representation being given to others I can honestly say I was one of the lucky ones to have found Mr. Erickson's law firm. From the first call his staff was very courteous and knowledgable. They gave me a free consult and answered my many questions about what to expect. They immeidately took action to get my license reinstated and Jon ripped the cop apart on the stand which was the best part of this whole process. LOL I was exrtremely happy with the outcome and all of the advise that was given to me by Mr. Erickson and his law partner Mr. Oppenhimer. Thanks Guys for all your hard work!

  10. DUI - Highly Recommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jon Erickson.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He came highly recommended by a friend to help me with a DUI last year. I had never worked with or needed a lawyer before and he was very respectful of that. He was incredibly knowledgable about the processes and helped me both understand and get through it.