Rhonda J. Thompson’s Reviews

Rhonda J. Thompson

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. She saved my daughter

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Child Custody matter.

    This is a no nonsense attorney that is on your side, but will also tell you when you are wrong. She will fight to the end for what is right. I highly recommend. Very smart and intelligent in her realm of practice.

  2. Professional!!!!

    Posted by T. Colby, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Those ladies had my back for a very LONG divorce because my wife was very difficult to say the least. All I can say is, I will take blame for the smell of smoke because you let me light up in the office because I was upset, sorry if that mad some people mad. Yes, you are in court every day because thats what a great lawyer does! love both you gals and I sent many friends your way and they are happy I did! keep it up gals! T. Colby

  3. Unresponsive

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I very much regret hiring Ms. Thompson to represent me. During the most stressful time of my life she only added to the grief and frustration. Her staff of one is rude and dismissive. IF the phone is answered you will the get the pat answer of "Rhonda is in court." Phone calls and emails will not be returned, appointments will be cancelled with very short notice. The office is tiny and reeks of cigarettes. They have no business calling themselves professionals. Glad this nightmare is over!

  4. Wonderful.. Caring and Concenred

    Posted by Chrissy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rhonda handled my husbands child support case today.. She stepped into a difficult situation after our other lawyer did not do his job, with 2 days notice she represented my husband masterfully in court and she delt well with my little freakout! ((sorry again))) I would not go to another lawyer from here on out.. She is absolutely wonderful and I can not say enough good things about her!

  5. STICK TO THE FACTS

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I stumbled upon this website because I was searching for Rhonda's fax number and what I have read is quite disturbing. To quote one post " these are people's opinions on how they were treated. So in defense of anyone in my position, those who post anything positive must be fake reviews" That is mean spirited and untrue. This is NOT a fake post, I am a current client and I am deeply disturbed that you would take to the internet to bash your attorney. I understand going through a divorce is extremely difficult but I also know as a business owner myself that having people post negative and untrue information can be highly determimental to their business. The whole country is trying to get back on their feet financially, so why would you try to hurt someones ability to make a living? I believe not referring her to your friends or family would suffice. Also, An attorney does not determine the amount of money anyone would ever pay for mainteance or child support. THE JUDGE does. Yes, these posts are here to help people and the positive posts are here to support RHONDA and what she has done for many of us. If you are a current client stop taking your complaints to the internet and call her! I highly doubt a current client who is so unhappy would continue to pay her... doesn't make a bit of sense. I will strongly suggest all my friends who have used Rhonda to continually post the truth!

  6. Former Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I just concluded a very difficult divorce. Rhonda helped me through every step of the way. She didn't always tell me what I wanted to hear, but she told me the truth. I had been divorced once before and my previous lawyers led me down the road of unrealistic expectations at my expense. I professional and fair treatment with this firm and would recommend her to anyone.

  7. Talk is cheap.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I put all my trust in this attorney and completely believed in her.My family begged me to get another attorney due to unrealistic settlement offers proposed by Rhonda. Needless to say I have a unbearable financial maintanence obligation because of her incompetance. Again I blame myself because I trusted with my heart not my head.You get what you pay for. A small office with little staff that does not research the case will give you poor results. My advice to Male bread winner that has a marriage lasting over over 20 years. Hire the best so you wont be sorry later. This attorney can handle house closings and simple child support delinquencies. Sorry I followed this attorney over the cliff...

  8. Hurt

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm going through so much with my divorce and hired Rhonda based on a friend's referral. I guess she did well for my friend, but I have had no such luck. I'm trying to find a new attorney. I completely agree with the post about hire at your own risk. It is very difficult to get any kind of response, and there have been times where I have just had a quick question and I need to wait over a week to be able to ask. I can't be okay with that service with the amount of money I'm paying. Even if it was free, I wouldn't want that kind of service. And I definitely agree that the paralegal talks down to people. She has made me feel stupid and like a nuisance. By no means do I call everyday either as the other secretary implied about the person who posted below. I send an email and will wait almost a week and then follow up with a phone call where I am badly spoken to. The only time I was treated with any respect was when I first met them. When Rhonda took my retainer. Since then this entire experience has been awful. These reviews are supposed to be here to help, and I don't understand why people feel the need to try and discredit other reviews. These are peoples opinions on how they were treated. So in defense of anyone in my position, those who post anything positive must be fake reviews. Or they are all women. The experience my friend had with Rhonda was great, but she is a woman. I'm a man, have not at all harassed Rhonda or her secretary - have simply tried to seek help through an extremely difficult time - and I get treated very poorly. Maybe it is possible that Rhonda should be a women's rights lawyers and not retain any male clients. If that's not the case, then it is just extremely hit or miss with her - and all of these reviews are correct. I know my friend raved about her, but my experience has been anything but satisfactory - by no fault of my own. I think it is reasonable to expect an answer within a week. I appreciate that lawyers are busy, but then do not take on a new client if you cannot offer the service that is deserved by each and every client. Someone who thinks people should just be okay with waiting over a week for a response, must not be going through a very difficult time. It should be understandable that for some of us, this is the most difficult thing we have ever gone through and is the most important thing we are currently going through. Therefore, we feel that our experience - our questions and concerns, deserve the respect of a decent reply - even something just acknowledging that they will respond as soon as possible. Very little communication from Rhonda, and very unsavory behavior from her secretary. I hope to be out from this downward spiral soon.

  9. THANK YOU

    Posted by Carrie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rhonda was my attorney for my divorce and I couldn't say enough good things about her. After my divorce she also did my closing for my house,. Rhonda returned all my phone calls and if she was unable to, her paralegal would either answer my questions or set up an appointment for me. Anyone who would say anything bad about either of these women probably doesn't get along with anyone. I never met two women who are both professional and very friendly. We had many laughs together during my difficult time which helped so much!

  10. I can finally sleep at night

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Thompson.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Rhonda to handle my child support issue and after my first appointment with her I could finally sleep at night. I am finally receiving my child support from my ex and it was done very quickly. I can now pay the tuition bills for my child without begging for it. Rhonda does have a great way to communicate with clients through "phone appointments" which saved me the cost of coming into to her office. Her paralegal has always treated me with respect and went above and beyond for me. As for the other comment posted, I know your type because I am a secretary myself for a doctors office. You probably called every day harrassing her paralegal or secretary demanding a call back. I'm sure she had her breaking point with you. I developed a great relationship with her paralegal so It upsets me that someone would post such an untrue statement. Just so you know, treating staff in that manner is rude and understand doctors and attorneys are very busy and do the best they can. Rhonda and her staff did the best for me and I recommed all of my friends to her!