Caroline Kaplan’s Reviews

Caroline Kaplan

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. TAKE ALL BAD REVIEW VERY SERIOUSLY

    Posted by Lori, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ms Kaplan is highly unprofessional, rude and generally a very angry person. I was repeatedly billed for hours that she ran personal errands on. She had me waiting over 2 hours each and every court date with no apology or excuse, Well once she did say she had to have her oil change in her car because it was close to time. Of course I was billed that time. The bad reviews here should be taken seriously because I've never met a lawyer who has the attitude and disregard towards her clients as she does. The final submitted paperwork on my divorce was open to much interpretation by opposing council which created problems in my case. All we can do here is tell you or stories and hope you take them seriously because she is not a good choice for an attorney.

  2. RUN AWAY FROM THIS WOMAN!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    All of the negative reviews on here are completely factual! I retained Caroline to handle my very simple divorce and realized my mistake almost immediately. This woman is extremely cunning and talks a great game but as soon as she has your money, she all but disapears. She doesn't return calls and never responds to emails. She even went so far as to no - show for one of my court appearances. I truly believe that my ex wife's attorney felt sorry for my lack of competent representation and that is the only reason why my divorce was finalized. Caroline is a train wreck.

  3. quick divorce

    Posted by Cheri, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Caroline helped me navigate through my divorce in four months in a very cost effective manor. she explained the process and steered me toward making smart decisions. I can't thank her enough

  4. Do not hire

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Family matter.

    Under no circumstances would I recommend her. I never received a bill itemizing expenses, she is impossible to get in touch with and although her paralegal is wonderful, that's not who does the work. Phone calls are not returned, emails are ignored and work takes forever to get done.

  5. THE BEST IRRESPONSIBLE LAWYER IN LAKE COUNTY

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Family matter.

    I hired Caroline on 2012 to handle my case, Its going to be a year and she has not done a single thing on my case, after I paid the retainer I have attempted to contac her but never get an answer from her, when she does answer she tells you we will meet next week to file your papers and when the week comes she cancels or just plain dont answer, she doesnt even care that you were waiting for her and from week to week its almost going to be a year and still nothing drafted, all she cares is about getting money out of you, she does not care that this are important things and thats why she is being hired, I already contacted the ARDC to see my options on getting my money back since she has not done anything for me.

  6. Unethical Manipulative Bogus...BEWARE!!!!!

    Posted by Ricky Boling, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline more than 3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Promises you the world, acts like she cares, acts cute in front of judges, and opposing counsel.... Sound familiar to anyone else who's made the mistake of hiring Caroline? How she's still allowed to practice is beyond me. I ended up firing her because my case would've never ended otherwise. Take from all the other terrible reviews, she'll promise you the works and leave your pockets dry... All with a smile on her face. Plenty of other attorneys out there!

  7. The WORST experience of my life

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline more than 3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I knew I was going to have an ugly, bitter, contentious, nasty divorce. I didn't know it would be because of my attorney. Kaplan told me my divorce would cost $75,000 if fees, no more. I relied on her to tell me the truth. She kept me going with her insane stories, that things were going my way. EVERY time I told her I was not in agreement with how "she" wanted to proceed, she would threaten to quit on me. Her fees cost me over $200,000. In 18 months of litigation, she never gave me an invoice of her "claimed" hours of work. She did nothing but agree with opposing counsel. I intend to take action against her. How she can continue practicing family law is a crime. NOTE TO ALL WHO CONSIDER HER FOR REPRESENTATION .... SHE ALWAYS, AND I MEAN ALWAYS, AGREES WITH JUDGES, EVERY SINGLE TIME. MEANING, SHE DOES NOT CHALLANGE WHAT A JUDGE MAY BE THINKING BECAUSE SHE WANTS TO BE THE ATTORNEY WHO GETS ALONG WITH ALL THE JUDGES.

  8. Hard to believe anyone has a positive experience with Caroline Kaplan

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Caroline Kaplan when I was going through my divorce. Not only did she cost me a lot of money and did nothing to help me, she was constantly yelling at everyone around her, she rarely returned my phone calls and I had to hire a different lawyer after spending a few thousand dollars with her. I don't think she realy knows what she is doing becuase she could not answer many of my questions without screaming and never realy gave me an answer. She would hang up on me during phone calls and a few times cancelled scheduled metings right before we were supposed to meet. If you are considering Caroline Kaplan beware. There are many other lawyers available and I was fortunate enough to cancel my relationship with Caroline before things got worse. She never helped my case!

  9. UNPROFESSIONAL LAWYER CAROLINE KAPLAN

    Posted by Maria, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Please DO NOT choose this lawyer; I am going through a divorce at the moment and made the horrible decision of choosing Caroline Kaplan. I made 8 appointments with this lawyer and she has cancelled every single one of them one hour before our schedule appointment. One time, we made an appointment for 3pm and this lawyer never showed up; she didn't pick up her cell phone and had me waiting in her office for over 2 hours. She never keeps you up-to-date on how the process is going. She ALWAYS has a new excuse on why we are not able to meet and talk about the divorce. SHE NEVER PICKS UP HER CELL PHONE OR RESPONDS TO E-MAILS. This lawyer is highly UNPROFESSIONAL, PLEASE do not pay attention to the good ratings she has received because that is a bunch of lies. At the beginning, she promised a lot of good things would happen, but I still haven't seen anything positive from her. She is very quick to charge you the $5,000 at first, but after that she is no where to be found.

  10. An excellent, responsive and detail oriented aattorney.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Caroline Kaplan.
    • I hired Caroline 1-3 years ago.
    • Caroline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Caroline Kaplan. She saw me through a very contentious divorce and worked diligently with my ex-husband's attorney to provide my children and I the best physical, emotional and financial protection possible. The case was settled well. When having to return to court to resolve various issues she was diligent, kept me informed and managed to get things done without my incurring exorbitant legal fees. Four years later there continue to be issues that drag us back to court and she takes calls on weekends, at two in the morning and is willing to be brutally honest even though I might not always want to hear what she has to say. The original agreement she drafted is rock solid and has held up in court several times for my benefit and that of my children. She is tough, respectful and highly knowledgeable. I can't imagine using anyone else for any of my legal matters. Her paralegal is just as qualified and will keep me up-to-date when Caroline is unavailable.