My license has been suspended because of being behind on child support.
The courts and State seem to believe having a driver's license is a privilege, not a right. They also believe they can simply take privileges away and it's up to the people to object.
Not saying it's fair or right, just how the laws currently are. Want to change it, change the law.See question
I have a 16 yr old who gave an adult (once or more ) money to buy cigarettes. One is 18 the other is over 21. Shame on my minor. That's being dealt with but what charges could be filed against the young adults purchasing them?
Yes, charges could be pressed by the police against the 18 and 21 year old. However once the police are contacted and brought into the situation the police may decide to also charge the 16 year old.See question
I'm 17 and got hired at a bowling alley in mid December. I worked for about 3 days then I had to go to JDC. My mom messed up my papers and I missed a court date on an underage drinking charge. I called my employer and told them I would not be able...
Employers are allowed to do this because Minnesota is an "at-will" State. Meaning that you don't have a right to work, and unless you are protected by an employee contract, or union, employers can choose to put you on the schedule, or not.See question
I was recently put on probation for 5th degree domestic assault in Hennepin county MN. I met with my PO for the first time and he told me that I am unable to travel outside of the country. I asked him if he is not letting me go or its just a part ...
It's fairly common, although you can seek the courts approval for travel.See question
Do fighting words still apply to people with whom the actual slurs or insults weren't directed towards? So in simpler terms, If i call somebody names and say their friend or spouse fights me and not them am i still the one that is in trouble?
Name calling is not a defense for physical assault, whether it's the person the names are directed to or not. However, the person calling someone names may be charged with harassment or disorderly conduct depending on what is being said, how it's being said, how often it's being said, and where it's being said.See question
A federal agency/employee refuses to perform duty/function. What can an individual do to remedy this situation? I'd like to hear any/all possibilities. The highest level of oversight (I believe) the ombudsman refuses to act. So where can someon...
This question is so vague as to be essentially unanswerable. You may be able to file paperwork, threaten to sue, sue, file an appeal, write a letter, contact the media, schedule a meeting, contact your representatives, talk to their boss, etc.
The best course of action would be to contact an attorney directly.See question
Is it possible to expunge a Misdemeanor DWI in Minnesota, which occurred 5 years ago and you plead guilty to it. It is the first and the only offense !
Yes, it is possible to expunge a Misdemeanor DWI which is 5 years old. But it can be a very difficult process. Many Judges are hesitant to expunge DWIs, especially within the 10 year enhancement period.See question
I recently signed an apartment lease for the 2016/17 school year (starts September 1st) for a double occupancy room in a 2 bedroom apartment. Each double occupancy room costs $1,176/month, so each person pays $588/month. When I went to sign my lea...
It depends on the terms of your lease. You may want to have an attorney review the lease and see if you are liable for the whole amount.See question
My husband has a suspended MN DL we moved to FL 2 years ago and paid his $687 reinstatement fee not realizing that it didn't reinstate his DL. He called yesterday as this is creating a hardship in our family as he cant get to work and back and in ...
There are a lot of factors that are not listed in the information here. Typically a reinstatement fee of $687 is for a DUI conviction, not DAS. With most similar cases, you will generally need to find out what specific holds the DMV (DPS) has on the license, these will typically include unpaid fees, or pending suspensions depending on the underlying charge. From there, you can often work with the DMV (DPS) to get those resolved and get the license in Minnesota reinstated. From there, in most cases, Florida can review the situation, confirm Minnesota has removed the hold, and get a valid FL license.
But this process differs from case to case, you may need to hire an attorney in Minnesota to track down the information, and possible resolve any pending issues.See question
So I was 16 years old and I received a DUI of alcohol, let's not mistake this for a DWI, how long will the dui stay on my record and my driving record? I live in Minnesota, I am currently 19 going on 20.
In Minnesota DWIs and DUIs are the same thing. Even if your actual charge was underage drinking and driving, this offense will stay on your record for life. You may be able to get the case expunged if you meet the qualifications. But the Minnesota DWI Taskforce is working hard to prevent that.See question