Denise K Houston’s Reviews

Denise K Houston

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. STRENGTH OF CHARACTER

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise 1-6 months ago.
    • Denise handled my Child Custody matter.

    Upon reviewing dozens of attorneys and seeing her length of same job performance and her accomplishments , I had to speak with her to find that special tone and command of respect that should be present when, wanting someone with strong confidence but still polite and professional. I needed to know she would stand her ground without apologizing for it, for instance. During a conversation with MS. Houston, I noticed our signal from my phone or hers had gone out for a few seconds and while speaking to her I accidentally spoke while being spoke to but she did not notice the failed signal and when I heard it come back she said, and I quote " Mr. xxxxx I cannot let you know what you ask, if you keep talking over me, so please listen to what I am saying to you" end quote. Now that tells me that she will not take any disrespect and commands it with firm acknowledgment and that is what I feel is needed in a court of law to win a case. Of course intelligence goes with that and I believe she has that. I know she will take command in court and will be feared by other lawyers with intimidation. I did not mention the problem with the phone signal because she proved to me that she is what my wife and I were looking for to ensure our confidence in her that, our Grand-Daughter will have the best possible chance of a better life and at 11 months old (as of this letter) her safety and well being are a great concern to my wife and I. My daughter has openly admitted she can't raise her for a few years or more and the father is mentally unfit due to he was born with problems, but her safety is in question and I know MS. Houston can make the case. She really does let you know where you stand and is very clear as long as you have given her all she asks of you and the truth is open. I do believe she is a very smart woman who can look you in the eyes and not guess her answers. I feel she will go in to the court and be more prepared than the other attorney and run over anyone if needed with the ability to do so. There are not many people I will let me feel as though, I am under their thumb but she has done that in a good positive way, that ensures me I will get, the best intelligent professional to stand up for my Grand-Daughter.

  2. Highly recommend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Divorce is a painful process. What a client wants is straight talk and no sugar-coating and beating-around-the-bush. You'll get that here. There are times she's hard to reach because she might be in trial or working with another client, but didn't I like having her full attention when she was in meetings, negotiations, or in court with me? My experience makes it laughable to me that someone would accuse Denise of not giving her full attention their case. This was not my experience at all nor anyone else I've met that has worked with her.

  3. Use Denise if You Want to Be Belittled

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She is arrogant, impatient, and always seemed annoyed by me. She mocked me, ME, her client in front of the other side. She cost me money by making long-drawn out mistakes. She would not answer my calls or my moderate amount of emails. She did not prepare me thoroughly. When we were waiting for someone once in a courtroom lobby, I remember feeling totally unprepared for what was about to happen next, and turned to her to ask her if we could at least use these free moments to prepare, and found her texting away on her phone. One quick glance at the text showed me it was about vacation plans. I consulted a lawyer friend to ask if this was normal behavior that I should expect from an attorney. He was shocked at my descriptions of what was going on. I would not recommend her to anyone.

  4. Divorce Success

    Posted by Dana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ms. Houston to handle my divorce. She is an extremely hard working attorney who always had my best interest in mind while keeping me informed as to the reality of the situation. She always responded to my emails and phone calls in a timely manner and was able to provide me with the information that I needed. I was able to concentrate on other areas of my life because I had the utmost confidence in her abilities as my attorney. Ms. Houston is dependable, trustworthy, and knowledgable.

  5. Amazing!

    Posted by Debbie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recommend Denise to anyone inquiring about an attorney. Denise was there when I had to file for a divorce against my husband who left the country. My case was not on ordinary terms and Denise worked very hard for the children and I to make sure that we would be taken care of throughout the years. To this day I call and ask advice whenever something comes up and if she does not have the answer she goes and finds the answer. Denise cares very deeply for each and every client. We become her family.

  6. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked both for and against Ms. Houston on a variety of cases in various expert testimony roles. She is always very well prepared and services his clients at a very high level.

  7. Family Law/ Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Denise was excellent in handling our custody case. She IS very knowledgeble and very professional! I would as a professional highly reccomend her!

  8. Not knowledgeable of county laws!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Denise Houston.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We wasted numerous months on a custody case and thousands of dollars going to court twice only to find out that we had to do mediation before anything else could happen. She reassured us that we had a good case until right before the hearing and over $5,000 later she told us the judge we had would go in favor of the mother because that is how she is! At a meeting, she spent 10-15 minutes discussing politics with the other attorney and billed me for it! I was not happy with her representation. I felt that she was clearly in it for the money!