Julie Ann Dichtel Byrd’s Reviews

Julie Ann Dichtel Byrd

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Would not recommend.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie 1-3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unprepared. Disorganized office environment. Agreed to things with opposing counsel that were not discussed with me previously. Distracted and not focused on conversation/ matter during meetings. Got the feeling that she just had way too much going on and my situation suffered because of it. After contacting a new attorney, my issue was resolved to my favor within 90 days.

  2. Excellent Attorney! Did a great job for my family.

    Posted by Henry, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie 1-3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    She went above and beyond what was needed and expected for us to win our case. We will always appreciate her assistance in making us a family!!

  3. Legal Eagle

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.

    Ms. Byrd did a wonderful job on my divorce/child support. I would recommend Julie for any legal matter that needs resolved. I absolutely think she is one caring person & attorney. She not only gets the job done. She goes above & beyond to make sure things are done and done right. KUDOS JULIE!!!

  4. Legal Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Byrd handled my contested divorce/child support case. Not only did Ms. Byrd do an excellent job at that she explained and reviewed in depth every step before going through them. She was and is caring, compassionate & very considerate. I would refer Julie for any legal issue you may need resolved. SHE'S THE BEST & THANK YOU JULIE for a job well done.

  5. BEWARE!!! HORRIBLE!!!!

    Posted by lisars, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie more than 3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney was so scatter-brained. She never got the facts of my case right. She would not send me letters the other lawyer would send. I could have settled my case for so cheap if she would have properly told me what was actually going on in my case but she wanted to get more money from me and lied to me about what was going on. I had to fire her and then was able to settle my case with my wife's attorney with no problem. She is a scam artist and BEWARE!!!

    1. Julie Ann Dichtel Byrd

      Julie Byrd

      Lawyer Comment:

      The information indicated on this review does not match any of my recent divorce cases; therefore, I cannot address the specific concerns. My goal is to offer quality legal services at an affordable price. Each of my clients has full access to their file, and receives all correspondence and pleadings via email or mail, whichever is preferred. In addition, all of my contested clients receive my cell phone number and are encouraged to call with questions and when emergencies arise, even after-hours and on weekends. While I cannot verify that you were a client, please feel free to contact my office with any concerns you may have.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. Julie D. Byrd = Quality and Value

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie 1-3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was seeking an attorney for my divorce, I wanted quality and value. Mrs. Byrd provided just that. My husband and I had agreed to everything – how we wanted our assets separated – and Mrs. Byrd and her staff provided efficient service at the lowest cost. From the first appointment, I felt important as a client; I wasn’t just another file number. My paperwork was prepared as we waited, and the divorce was final before we knew it. Everything was hassle-free. When I called to check the status of my divorce, Mrs. Byrd’s staff quickly and accurately responded with the date my waiting period would expire and the approximate time the final decree would be recorded. This information was accurate. Thank you, Mrs. Byrd, for providing such a valuable service at an excellent and competitive cost.

  7. Worst money i ever spent

    Posted by Joyce, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie more than 3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I knew more about what was going on in her life than she knew about my divorce case. She made the outcome of my divorce case sound very good and promising in the beginning. She never returned my phone calls or kept me informed after initially hiring her. When we finally went to mediation her tune and demeanor changed when my estranged husband made a settlement offer of ten thousand dollars. She insisted that I accept the offer because she was receiving 3,300 dollars of that amount. I did not want to agree to this, I even tried to leave and then she said if I left without signing I would be held in contempt of court. I was very upset, and scared after she told me this I felt that I was coerced into signing. Her integrity should be held in question as should her ethics. I called her the next morning and fired her. I had to hire another atty. Needless to say out of the 10,000 she got her 3,300. I would not recommend her to anyone by no means on the face of this earth for anything!!!! Beware!!!!

    1. Julie Ann Dichtel Byrd

      Julie Byrd

      Lawyer Comment:

      The name provided and the facts and information in this comment do not match any case I have had in the last 10 years. This office has never had a contingent fee agreement with any client ever. Although divorce is a very difficult process, clients are expected to put forth the effort to be reasonable and see through the emotion clouding their judgment to negotiate on financial matters in mediation. No one is forced or coerced into agreeing to any settlement. No person has ever been forced or coerced into agreeing to anything in this law office. Sometimes clients feel the pressure of alternative dispute resolution, but it is the attorney's responsibility to help the client sift through fact and fiction, good vs. evil, and reasonable settlement offers vs what a court would likely do to craft a unique settlement to their case. Attorneys naturally make recommendations to each individual client based on the facts of their case. Not every case, and not every issue in a case, will have an agreement reached and that is a fact of life. Every client is given personal attention and all telephone calls are returned. Some clients feel the need to call on non-emergency matters multiple times in an hour, dozens of times a day, or refuse to accept information and notifications from anyone other than the attorney. An attorney, like a medical doctor, employs professional staff to extend his/her reach and to meet the needs of every client. The attorney employs that professional team to assist each client in getting from point A to point B as quickly, inexpensively, and painlessly as possible. Sometimes during the course of a case, events that occur have an impact on the outcome. Those events, sometimes, are caused by the actions of a client. Some of those events are external and just occur (like economic cycles, loss of job, children's behavior).

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  8. Great Divorce Trial ATtorney

    Posted by Elana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie more than 3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Byrd represented me in a contested divorce trial in Dec 2011. She told me at the beginning what she thought would happen, and all that came true and she was able to get the court to see the lies of my ex and the judge awarded me atys fees and alimonoy - more than they offered and even more than I thought I could get! I was upset and emailed Atty Byrd on weekends and at night and she even responded when not during wk hours! She is a hard worker.

  9. Find Someone Else-Do Not USE

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie more than 3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    She didn't address my concerns-I wanted to fight the temp parenting plan that now ex and his lawyer had come up with at the first court appearance. That and another court appearance couldnt be completed due to having appointmens elsewhere, 1 personal and other professional. I told her (now) x was hitting his 401k, wanted to countersue/file on grounds that he cheated and he had walked out. I updated contact information and mail was still being sent to previous address. No communication-would call and leave messages asking for update, no response so would have to stop by and hope to catch at office. I gave file folder with discovery documents, journals were lost and last meeting with her to redo items that other lawyer was nitpicking/questioning, my information was missing and I was questioned as to whether I had actually turned items over to her and the office! She mentioned several times that she needed docs from now X but never brought up in court-opposing lawyer made it seem that I wasnt turning/providing info and it was due to the two of them not being able to agree on delivery and pickup! I was facing possible contempt charges/fines and to this day still have no idea what it was that he was not providing or what she was questioning. I gave financial info to her that opposing lawyer had requested in Jan and at court appearance in March, opposing lawyer still didn't have! Divorce was filed in 2009 and finalized this Year with the help of another lawyer. New lawyer/firm asked for file and she wouldn't release-I've only received one statement and no final bill was sent when I released from services and as requested. She wouldn't release or respond to new lawyer yet was able to make appearance at court to let judge know that she had been released, although that wasn't exact word used. So new lawyer, opposing counsel and she were front of the judge for my/our case. When I was with her I heard more about her family than my case. If I knew then what I now know, I would have gone with someone else. Not fighting the temp parenting plan, not placing a hold on assets, not knowing that unsigned mediation agreement can't be enforced by court....I hired her because she made great presentation about her experience but when we went to court, it was total opposite.

  10. Does What She Promises

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julie Byrd.
    • I hired Julie more than 3 years ago.
    • Julie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Byrd was prompt for her appointment with me, her staff was knowledgeable and told me what I needed to know, and I left after a 1 hour appointment with the divorce papers to take to my husband. I got them signed and took them back, and about 2 and a half months later, I was divorced. And for less than an Internet firm that fills out forms charges for the same thing! No court, no hassle. I recommended a friend with a child support matter to her, and the friend was happy with her services in Juvenile Court in Memphis.