Cynthia Stump Swanson’s Reviews

Cynthia Stump Swanson

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommended

    Posted by Tom,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Swanson.

    I hired Cynthia to represent me in a child custody case. I wanted a lawyer who would take a balanced approach, and help me get what I wanted, without turning the case into a huge expensive lawsuit. Cynthia accomplished that just fine. She gave me an estimate of what it would take to bring the case to trial, which was a price I could live with. Her estimate turned out to be accurate - she didn't "lowball" me. There were times when I wanted Cynthia to file more motions, but she talked me out of it, even though she could have made more money by just doing what I wanted. When confronting the lawyers on the other side, she was firm and assertive without being belligerent. I recommend Cynthias as an attorney who will give you good advice, represent you in a professional manner, and keep your case from spinning out of control.

  2. My bad experience with Ms. Swanson

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I saw Ms. Swanson twice with my daughter who was the client and I was the person paying Ms. Swanson for her services, such as they were. My daughter and I first saw Swanson in late June 2014 (or early July 2014) regarding her desire to divorce her husband. Our understanding was that this first visit was free (we later found out that it cost $500). As my daughter has no money, I agreed to pay for the divorce. I paid Ms. Swanson $2,500 as a retainer. I quickly became aware that Swanson was more than unrealistic regarding my daughter's situation when she commented that "if this goes to trial, it will cost $30,000 to $40,000!" Needless to say, I don't have that kind of money and both my daughter and her husband are totally broke (hence, my willingness to pay for the divorce.) We found another attorney (my daughter made a total of 3 visits to Swanson to provide financial information, etc, requiring about 3 hours total of the lawyer's time) and then cancelled Swanson. She then sent me a bill for an additional $950--what happened to the $2,500 is beyond me since she essentially did nothing but talk with my daughter (and me, on the one visit in which I gave her the $2,500). She even charged $50 for telling my daughter that the court requires her to attend a "parenting class" which is required by the state of Florida. The class itself only costs $25 and anyone getting a divorce in Florida is given information about it. I doubt that they are charged $50 by their attorney for telling them about this class since it is public information. This may sound hostile, but believe me, it is factual. My daughter is getting a divorce, and her current lawyer charged less than $2,500. And it is done.

    1. Cynthia Stump Swanson

      Cynthia Swanson

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm so sorry that you were dissatisfied, but, as you say, you were not our client. The services we provided were commensurate with the concerns we discussed in confidence with your daughter. I'm happy you found an attorney who better suits you - not every client "clicks" with every attorney. We wish you and your daughter only the best.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  3. A caring and dependable lawyer.

    Posted by Stephanie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cynthia Stump Swanson is a wonderful, caring, dependable lawyer. The firm was always on top of things by keeping me well informed. Cynthia would constantly give me hope and provide good advice. Her experience with custody and persistence made that hope become a true reality. I always felt well taken care of, but most importantly Cynthia always had my child's best interest at heart.

  4. If you have a family law issue, Cynthia Swanson is the best. Don't hesitate.

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cynthia Swanson has represented me on a number of occasions, most recently this summer. She was actually recommended to me by another local attorney, but I was already familiar with her professional reputation in this area. She is widely recognized for her honesty, professionalism, integrity, and expertise. And I can tell you, for me, her advice was always calm, level-headed, and fair. Family law is one of the most difficult practices, I think, because it involves very sensitive issues, and cases can very easily blow up into vicious disputes. Cynthia knows this better than anyone, and as part of her practice, has become certified in cooperative divorce resolutions. She takes extremely emotional and painful situations, and gives excellent, straightforward guidance. She was ALWAYS responsive, timely, and she regularly kept me apprised of developments in my case. Trust her - she has never steered me wrong and I recommend her to anyone I know who needs family law advice.

  5. Expensive, Nickel-Dimer, Non-Producer: Run Away!

    Posted by JGW, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired CSS to help with problems getting visitation with my son. While she promised the moon, she never seemed to make any progress toward resolving the issue. She bills for everything! Send her an email asking for an update - she charges to read it. Call and leave a message - she charges for the receptionists time. Even though I provided her with extensive written notes, I received a phone call from her paralegal in Tallahassee and had to repeat everything over the phone to her - more charges billed for the duplicate effort in addition to her already billing for reading my notes. Rather than taking the matter to a family judge, she told me she was going to take it before the dependency court - WORST IDEA EVER! If you are a dad, dependency court is not the best venue for you.

    DOR issued a summons for a child support hearing and two working days before the hearing, she abruptly dropped my case.

    The end result of the four months she was retained by me was a loose leaf binder about my case which cost me about $3,000. She never got so far as to file anything with the court or even write a letter to my son's mother about the matter.

    What I tell those who ask about my experience with her is that I don't believe she is a positive advocate for fathers. For the rate she bills and the retainer she requires, I had expected her to proceed on my action in a timely manner. I was disappointed and all my new attorney got was a very expensive, looseleaf notebook. In addition to wasting $3k, she wasted 4 months of my time.

  6. Custody

    Posted by Lance, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cynthia Swanson has provided outstanding representation for me in my custody suit for my daughter. She is exceptionally knowledgeable of the laws, local application and local personnel involved in these matters. Her office staff are exceptionally responsive.

    I was kept informed of the process at every step and always understood what was happening, the approach that was being taken and what my options were.

    For an extremely difficult time, Cythia made it for less painful

    I highly recommend Cynthia!!!!

  7. Hague Convention case

    Posted by a International Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Swanson.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my International Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cynthia Stump Swanson represented my daughter and myself in a case involving the Hague Convention. Ms. Swanson did an outstanding job of researching this law, and all the factors involved in defending our daughter against her husband who brought the suit against her for leaving him in Mexico with their 2 year old daughter. Ms. Swanson was fantastic in following up on the information we provided her concerning the history of the plaintiff and providing us with the facts as she uncovered them. She spent many hours talking with all potential witnesses, and the outcome was we won our case!

352-375-5602