Richard V Stevens III’s Reviews

Richard V Stevens III

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Determined, extremely competent, and compassionate professional - your best advocate

    Posted by Field Grade Officer, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Military Law matter.

    I hired Rich after I was notified of a pending separation board. Rich was always readily available and always provided no nonsense advice. His candid but compassionate approach was exactly what I needed. He is a consumate professional who will be your advocate. Rich's efforts were succesful and the board proceedings were suspended. I was able to apply and recieve approval for normal retirement. I don't wish my situation on anyone, but if you find yourself there, CALL Rich.

  2. Hiring a former insider who cared was the key.

    Posted by Senior NCO, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Fraud matter.

    Hiring someone who was a former JAG was so valuable in this case. Rich took time to look at all the pieces, determine who was or should have been involved and was very open and honest the whole way through. While the outcome at the time was less than what I wanted, it was realistic considering the circumstances. Things Rich put into place back then helped me 3 years later when presenting my case to the discharge review board. Could not have done this alone. You head is spinning and you cannot believe this is happening this way. Rich guides you and keeps you focused on the important things.

  3. Couldn't ask for a better attorney!

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Military Law matter.

    Rich is the most conscientious, responsive, knowledgeable, aggressive (in a good way) attorney there is. As an attorney myself, I didn't think I needed the assistance of another attorney to fight for my case. Boy was I wrong. Without Rich, I would have missed out on substantial arguments that were critical to my defense. He's been doing this a very long time and it clearly shows. He knows what to say, how to say it and when to say it. Every time I send Rich an email, he responds within an hour. That is remarkable for any attorney, especially one as busy as Rich. If you don't get the outcome you want, he continues to fight. I will keep his number on speed dial for life and would recommend him to anyone that wants a fighting chance to win his/her case.

  4. Highly Recommended!!

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Military Law matter.

    Mr. Richard Stevens did what I hoped for and more. I have nothing but the utmost trust and respect for him. During the proceedings while I sat there and watched I could tell that he takes great pride in what he does. He takes the time to do the leg work and ensures he does everything he possibly can to properly represent and help you. There were times during the trial I sat in awe and found my self feeling over whelmed with emotion when he used the information he gathered and along with what I told him and used it to make significant grounds in my case. I have dealt with other attorneys for a few minor things and my divorce. I never felt the trust with the other attorneys that I felt with him. He is upfront and honest. I recommend that you are honest and truthful with him about everything so he can truly give you the best representation possible. I would highly recommend Mr. Stevens to anyone who is dealing with any type of high profile significant military investigation or trial. I know that not all outcomes will be the same, but I firmly believe he will represent you to the fullest. I was facing some very serious charges that could have resulted in prison time and or a convection that would have followed me for the rest of my life. After it was all said and done none of the above happened and I am pleased with the outcome. I feel that Mr. Stevens did an excellent job. Thank you Mr. Stevens for what you do.

  5. Courts-Martial for Sexual Assault

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was accused of sexual assault and conduct unbecoming of an officer. After I was accused I hired Mr. Stevens along with my military lawyer to help defend me in my case. Mr. Stevens was extremely knowledgable about military law and knew the process the trial would take in great detail from the initial accusation to the courts-martial proceedings. He was extremely well prepared for each phase of my trial and knew the steps in the process so well that he put my mind at ease that I was getting the best support that I could. I of course was anxious throughout knowing the consequences if I was found guilty but he gave me confidence that with his knowledge of military law and the facts at hand that I would get the best defense I could expect. After the assault charges were dropped he led me through the next steps of the trial until we had a satisfactory pretrial agreement. Unfortunately my failure to follow military regulations caused an end to my military career but I came through it with my life intact and I could exit with the potential to continue my career as a civilian. He was always timely in answering phone calls or emails. In every step of the process he was prepared and had rebuttals generated almost as soon as the complaints were filed. I would recommend to anyone who finds themselves accused of criminal conduct to consider hiring Mr. Stevens to defend them. I have referred several others that have found themselves in similar situations to Mr. Stevens for his excellent legal support.

  6. Full Acquittal 7 charges General Court Martial

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Full Acquittal 7 charges General Court Martial. I was facing potentially 73 years in prison and multiple federal charges. Hiring Richard Stevens gave me the confidence that a true professional was on my side. Richard Stevens saved my career.

  7. Got an LOR? Get rid of it with Mr Steven's help

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a senior USAF officer and contacted Mr. Stevens when I got the bad news. We had less than a week to respond to a LOR. Mr Rich Stevens was incredible. A very talented lawyer who knows his stuff. He worked non-stop preparing my rebuttal. I was on the west coast, he was on the east coast...No problem though. Mr Stevens will give you the attention you deserve, much more than a junior ADC lawyer could ever give you. He was phenomenal with my case and saved my career! the LOR was reduced to a LOC. I cant recommend him enough. You will get your money's worth as he is a very experienced attorney.

  8. Stevens

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Stevens' representation of me was fantastic. He was organized, knowledgeable, had the right temperament, and owned the military legal process. I would highly recommend Mr. Stevens.

  9. The absolute BEST ATTORNEY you could ever wish to have on your side

    Posted by Senior NCO, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went through absolutely the most visceral, horrible and nightmarish experience of my personal and professional life. Richard Stevens was the shining light throughout that. From the beginning he was up front, honest and gave me the "no kidding" expectations of my particular case. He did not try to fluff up anything nor did he try to pump sunshine and that in of itself was a breath of fresh air during a time when all I wanted was some straight up answers.

    Rich will defend you to the UTMOST. His professionalism has been unmatched in my experience. Any question, any concern, any doubts I had where addressed promptly and at all hours.

    It's because of HIS tireless efforts and aggressive defense that my charges were dropped. I'm typing this today from the comfort of my home because of Richard Stevens.

  10. Experienced, responsive, trustworthy. Rich Stevens was by my side every step of the way.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stevens.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Rich Stevens when I faced a military court martial for a very complex and involved case that proved too difficult for many civilian and military defense attorneys. Within minutes during our first conversation, Rich was able to accurately comprehend the overall nature of the case and immediately put me at ease with his personality, knowledge of the military justice system, and his genuine care for my well-being. Throughout the case, Rich worked diligently to develop a keen, winning strategy and his expertise and experience proved highly successful. Beyond that, Rich was always accessible by phone and email and returned phone calls promptly. It was a great comfort to have Rich personally answer the phone and help put me at ease or answer a question that had come to mind. Rich also helped put my family at ease by explaining the case to them in a factual yet understandable manner. The bottom line is Rich Stevens is a highly experienced and skilled defense attorney who cared about me and my case. I owe my success of the case and my success today to Rich Stevens.