Bram Louis Scharf’s Answers

Bram Louis Scharf

Jacksonville Litigation Lawyer.

Contributor Level 11
  1. I have a warrant for my arrest due to unpaid court fine for misdemeanor dui from almost 2 years ago

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. Stephen Andrew Mosca
    3. Lewis Lee Lockett
    4. Jeffrey David Boston
    5. Charles Elwood Soechting Jr.
    5 lawyer answers

    You can contact the clerks office and attempt to set a court date for you case. If you have everything paid before you go to court, there is a good chance your case would just be set aside. In some cases you might have to schedule a court date through the Judges office. You might be able to avoid the expense of an attorney if the warrant can be withdrawn by setting a court date and paying your fine.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

    3 people marked this answer as helpful

  2. Can a witness in a lawsuit be made to testify without a subpoena?

    Answered almost 3 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. Stuart M. Address
    3. Paul Y. Lee
    3 lawyer answers

    It is unusual for a Motion to Compel a deposition to be heard by a Judge unless attempts have been made to schedule your deposition. A subpoena is not required for parties to a lawsuit. You must be given reasonable notice as to the time and place. Take a look at Rule 1.310 in the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure. A special rule is in place for corporate representatives that may apply in your case. However, since an order has already been entered, this section will most likely not apply.

    Selected as best answer

  3. What is the penalty for contempt of court violation of child visitation?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. Kathy Czepiel George
    2 lawyer answers

    I agree with the advice of the prior post. However, you should probably act now in order for the Judge to see that you are not going to stand by and let this happen. Sometimes a Judge will look at a Contempt case based on how the parties react to a situation. If the Court knows that you are taking a proactive stance to see your children, the Court will view the case differently than if you let it go on.

    Selected as best answer

  4. Florida law: Question about the marital home.

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. Charles Christopher Alley
    2 lawyer answers

    Since the divorce papers are not finalized, you should contact your attorney to determine if the language of "exclusive use of the home" is part of the agreement. If it is not part of the agreement then either party has access to the marital home unless a Judge has ordered otherwise.

    Selected as best answer

  5. Been married for 5 years, been unemployed since last year, getting divorce due to infidelity, can I get alimony?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. Earl Kenneth Mallory
    2 lawyer answers

    Unlike child support, there is no formula to calculate alimony in Florida. Alimony calculations are left up to the Court's discretion. Florida Statute § 61.08 provides that in determining alimony, the court shall consider all relevant economic factors, including but not limited to: • The standard of living established during the marriage; • The length of the marriage; • The age and the physical and emotional condition of each party; • The financial resources of each party, the...

    Selected as best answer

  6. What are the numbers of the fee shifting statutes in florida?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    2. John Davis Hoffman
    2 lawyer answers

    Your question is vague but here is the statue on fees. 733.106 Costs and attorney’s fees.— (1) In all probate proceedings costs may be awarded as in chancery actions. (2) A person nominated as personal representative, or any proponent of a will if the person so nominated does not act within a reasonable time, if in good faith justified in offering the will in due form for probate, shall receive costs and attorney’s fees from the estate even though probate is denied or revoked. (3) Any...

    3 people marked this answer as helpful

  7. Can someone without bodily injury insurance be covered by parents bodily injury insurance if caused accident injuries?

    Answered almost 3 years ago.

    1. Joseph Anthony Mesa III
    2. Keith Patrick Ligori
    3. Lars A. Lundeen
    4. Bram Louis Scharf
    5. Julie S Luhrsen
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    You failed to mention 2 very important facts that would help answer your question. 1. Who owns the vehicle that was at fault 2. How old is the driver of the at fault vehicle. You should ask your attorney to find out the answers to these questions. If the driver is a minor, his parents could be liable. If the driver does not own the vehicle then the parents could be liable.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  8. I am a nurse in the state of FL, and my roomate smoke pot in her room , can i get into trouble by liveing there.

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Bram Louis Scharf
    1 lawyer answer

    It is unlawful to possess marijuana. If for some reason the police searched the residence and found marijuana in her room, there is a possibility you could be arrested. However, the burden would be on the prosecution to prove that you were in possession of the marijuana.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  9. Can a spouse file a wrongful death case against Dr that failed to diagnose complications of migrated biliary stent?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Spencer Rhodes
    2. Lawrence Joseph Marraffino
    3. Bram Louis Scharf
    4. Jeffrey Mark Adams
    5. Charles Joseph Michael Candiano
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    In order to assess you case, you should contact an attorney who specializes in medical malpractice. You should not have to pay any fees or costs to retain an attorney. The attorney would be paid out of any award.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  10. Opposing insurance company gave claimant wrong legal info (statute of limitations)& says they closed the claim.What can be done?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. David Irving Shiner
    2. Bram Louis Scharf
    3. Lawrence Neil Rogak
    3 lawyer answers

    The statute of limitations to file a claim in Florida is 4 years from the date of the accident. If the time has not passed then you will still have a claim. If you were given false or misleading information by the insurance company then you may be able to pursue a bad faith claim. You should consult with an attorney as soon as possible.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful