Skip to main content
Lewis Lee Lockett

Lewis Lockett’s Answers

183 total


  • I entered a pretrial intervention program and failed to complete the sanctions. What are my options for my next court date?

    I was issued a notice to appear for a charge of Pet it Theft in the state of Florida . My next court date is soon and I have yet to complete all of the conditions outlined in my PIT agreement . I admit that it was of my own fault and laziness th...

    Lewis’s Answer

    We would simply call the State in advance of your court date and negotiate with the prosecutor an extension of your PTI. This will be difficult to do without an attorney assisting you. Many times we have succeeded in getting the state to extend before the deadline. If not, it may be possible to get a withhold nonetheless and then you may be eligible to have your record sealed or expunged. www.stonelockett.com.

    See question 
  • HELLO I WAS wondering a friend is seeing if there is a statute limations on dui that are 20 years ago?he got one in fl help plz

    he got one in fl an the ones in texas are 20 years ago if there felonies is there a limitation on that ??plz help me get answers thank u

    Lewis’s Answer

    It's possible to use the Texas DUI to enhance the current Florida DUI, but there's a lot that goes into that analysis. Typically the State will not file the DUI as a felony on old, out of state DUI's, but that must be looked into. Call an experienced DUI attorney here in Jacksonville. www.firstcoastdui.com

    See question 
  • I need a law attorney

    Well my sister have been in jail for 5 days because her case was push back and i have her kids all three of them "there very young" but i'm missing work to babysit is there anything i can do to get her out earlier or her case pushed up anything i...

    Lewis’s Answer

    Bond motions can be filed within a day or so where the attorney can request a release on her own recognizance if the circumstances permit. Call a local attorney here in Jacksonville.

    See question 
  • I got 2 third degree felonies as a juvenile now i am an adult. do u think i can get that sealed or expunged?

    it was aggrevated assault and possesion of weapon on school grounds i was charged with i didnt hurt anyone though both was third degree an thats what i was charged with after i did what i did

    Lewis’s Answer

    Agg Assaults cannot be sealed or expunged in Florida unless the charges were dropped. Agg Assault is one of the enumerated felonies that you cannot have sealed, even if you received a withhold of adjudication.

    See question 
  • First arrest and it is a DUI. I am terrified

    I was pulled over for a nonfunctioning tail light. I gave the officer my license, but it took me a few minutes to find my registration. He asked if I had been drinking, I said I had a couple of drinks earlier. He asked me to step out of the car an...

    Lewis’s Answer

    A multitude of issues exist now that will require you to act sooner rather than later. Your driver's license hearing must be set up within ten days of your arrest. This formal review hearing is an opportunity for your lawyer to challenge the administrative suspension of your DL and get you a hardship permit if eligible.

    Then, the criminal case prosecution will need to be dealt with as well. Often times your appearance can be waived thoughhout the pre trial process. Avoiding a DUI criminal conviction should be a priority. Contact a local attorney here in Jacksonville. www.stonelockett.com. 904-858-9818.

    See question 
  • Who do I file a petition to rescind the suspension with, clerk of court or DMV?

    License suspended, had arrested for dui but dropped to wreckless but thenm I got a suspension for refusal to blow. I did not refuse but told I would wait to go downtown and blow for the dui officer becuase of he Listerene mouthwash I had just used...

    Lewis’s Answer

    Based on the fact that your case was already reduced to a Reckless, you are probably outside the ten day window to petition DMV. You may need to enroll in the DUI school to obtain a hardship permit if your administrative supsension is still pending. If you agreed to a DL suspension as a part of the Reckless plea, that may aggravate things a bit.

    See question 
  • How much time am i faceing for two third degree grand theft from employer charges

    I have a background but nothing serious i have a couple less then 20 gram charges and petite theft but nothing serious i worked for a gold buying company and i bought two fake chains at different times and paid out over 500 dollars for each and i...

    Lewis’s Answer

    You should get with a local attorney here in Jacksonville immediately. Two separate counts of third degree felonies would expose you to ten years in prison if truly separate offenses. However, although it's unlikely you'd get anything near that, the charges are serious and you should retain local counsel prior to turning yourself in. It's possible to get probation or even to have your case diverted. Also, be aware that the local police here may in fact try and get your statement upon your turning yourself in. Not having your ducks in a row prior to that may put you at a disadvantage. www.lockettlaw.net.

    See question 
  • My son was arrested for armed robbery.he was placed in habitual court.but his priors were for other charges.can they do that

    he went to prison for grand thefth and served 3 yrs.He was arrested for drug charge misdemeanor personal use and served time for that.they have him in habitual based on his history .but this charge is armed robbery .and they say he is a threat to ...

    Lewis’s Answer

    The H.O. statute allows for such labeling when a person has at least two prior felony convictions, one of which must not be a possession charge. Time limitations also exist. A trained lawyer in this area should be consulted. ROC court (re-offender court) is somewhat of a specialty.

    See question 
  • What do i do if i name the wrong person in a breaking and entering and did not know at first and now that person is faceing life

    i feel very sorry for this person and i just want to know what can i do so that this person dont do life or any long jail time please be of help

    Lewis’s Answer

    You will want to contact a lawyer first before you speak to the prosecutor to avoid even the most remote chance that a false report charge being filed. Call a local lawyer here in Jacksonville.

    See question 
  • If I was charged with petit theft will i loose my life, health and variable annuties license?

    I was charged(but not formally charged, i never went before a judge) with petit theft last year the case was dismissed after doing a pretrial conversion program. I now have continuing education to do in order to keep my license will the charge hav...

    Lewis’s Answer

    It may be best to check with an Administrative Attorney on this particular issue. That is because a review of the statutes dealing with your licensure issues, as well as the admin rules drafted by the agency in charge of licensing in your area will be required. Since the charges can be expunged (assuming you are otherwise eligible), you might want to initiate those proceedings. Local defense counsel here in Jax can help you with that. www.lockettlaw.net.

    See question