Catherine Ann Drees’s Answers

Catherine Ann Drees

Daytona Beach Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 13
  1. If a witness claims that I was drunk when I rear ended him does that constitute a dui?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Eric J Trabin
    2. Ronald William Slonaker
    3. Catherine Ann Drees
    4. Aaron Daxdaniel Cilek
    5. S. David Rosenthal Esquire
    6. ···
    10 lawyer answers

    In Florida, the witness cannot be used to put you behind the wheel or testify about your faculties because there is no corpus delecti..proof a crime occurred. Additionally, no officer saw you drive. You are extremely lucky..but they may still try to charge you with leaving the scene but I believe they would have the same problem with proof.

    9 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. Will the state attorney look for prior dui out of state when researching my case for a dui in got in FL

    Answered about 1 month ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Michael Charles McGinn
    3. Brett Nicholls Metcalf
    4. Richard Anthony Adamy Jr.
    5. Robert Jason De Groot
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    Counsel above is correct, but you should go to the traffic clerk in your county and ask for a lifetime driving record. If it does not show up for DHSMV, it will still show as a prior criminal offense. The criminal charge information is provided to the FBI and the NCIC, National Crime Information Center has a repository of said crimes. Let your defense attorney know about this right away, if anything comes up, you have a record of being honest, which goes a long way.

    8 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Can Florida issue me a DUI from a yr ago from an accident? They never did breathalyzer but they are requesting to contact hosp?

    Answered about 1 month ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Gregory L. Olney II
    3. Majid Vasigh
    4. John Joseph Brosnan
    4 lawyer answers

    If there were an accident with injuries they may be able to pull blood on the night of the incident. If they are requesting blood from the hospital records you had better get an attorney in the county where it occurred...they are very serious and this will follow you forever...don't take this lightly, and good luck.

    7 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  4. If already convicted for misdemeanor dui and on probation, can you be reconvicted of more serious charge after record revealed?

    Answered 5 months ago.

    1. Jonathan Burton Blecher
    2. Nick Jay Dorsten
    3. Mark H Randall
    4. Alberto Marino Quirantes Jr.
    5. Catherine Ann Drees
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    I have seen folks who plead to a second dui, but given a sentence with first dui minimums, but the dmv suspended for five years because their records show the dui to be a second for suspension purposes...and this also includes the ignition interlock devise. Sometimes they do not catch it at all. its a crapshoot. Hope you are not put in that position. Good luck

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  5. Moving to Florida from California with a restricted license from first DUI. Will I be able to drive in Florida wid this license

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Michael Adam Haber
    3. Juan Alfonso Fernandez-Barquin
    4. Alberto Marino Quirantes Jr.
    4 lawyer answers

    The restricted ca. license can be used for thirty days until you can get the restriction lifted and gain a florida dl. Please make sure you contact California dmv to determine how the restriction is lifted once the thirty days is over. It may not be automatic. Additionally, do not drive in florida anywhere you cannot in California..stay with the restricitons so if you do get a ticket, you can defend it in our court system. Good luck

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. What is a principal grand theft charge? Is this a felony or a misdemeanor charge?

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Christopher Robert Kaigle
    3. Christopher Robert Dillingham II
    4. Robert Jason De Groot
    5. Mark H Randall
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    A principal is somewhat like a co-defendant, both can be charged with the same offense. Grand Theft, as opposed to Petit Theft, is a felony, and could be a third degree felony, the lowest category, all the way to a first degree felony. The amount stolen will determine what level is charged. You may not have committed the actual crime, but helped in such a way that it facilitated the crime. You need a criminal defense attorney asap.

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Violated back on track programs drug test, tested positive for thc. Advocate program is sending info to state attys office

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Paul J Knudsen
    3. Nick Jay Dorsten
    4. Alberto Marino Quirantes Jr.
    4 lawyer answers

    I assume this is a deferral program that requires urine testing. If you tested positive by using this device you might want to get an attorney who can provide the Assistant State Attorney with screen shots from your computer showing you purchased this legally. This may not work to keep you in the program, and if that happens and you end up on probation, do not try to "trick" the urinalysis...just stop ingesting all tetrahydracannabinoids or you will go to jail on a violation of probation....

    Selected as best answer

  8. Do I score prison for this upcoming violation of probation?

    Answered 5 months ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Robert Jason De Groot
    3. Christopher Robert Dillingham II
    4. Stephen George Henderson
    4 lawyer answers

    As for the guideline scoresheet, these are very low scoring points for the intial charges, however, upon the guideline scoresheet there are points added for the violation. If you violated in a technical manner, they may be willing to give you a period of community control. Many harsh judges will sentence you to prison, or a jail sentence, however, as they brook no violations. The best advice is to go see two attorneys in your county..these meetings are free from criminal defense attorneys...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. Getting credit in Pa. for a Fl. dui suspension. FLA took/suspended my license upon arrest 15 months ago.

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Robert Jason De Groot
    3. Michael Adam Haber
    4. Matthew Brian Podolsky
    4 lawyer answers

    Call the Department of Motor Vehicles in Pennsylvania and ask for a telephone appointment for a formal review hearing...it may not be called that..and ask what they need from Florida and would they put that in writing and you can then ask for the same hearing here and request they provide Pennsylvania with the documentation needed. This may be the only way to resolve this and it will get you closer to people in each agency that deal with these issues everyday. Good Luck

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. If I got a moving violation while I was parked would they leave a ticket on my windshield?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Catherine Ann Drees
    2. Justin Gary Hausler
    3. Craig A. Epifanio
    3 lawyer answers

    You cannot recieve a moving violation while you are parked as the officer must see you and pull you. If a ticket were to come in the mail, the officer would need to make sure the other party was subpoenaed and that is not going to happen short of an accident. How would he id you? How would he be able to get your dl and insurance card? He would have to be an idiot to ticket you under these circumstances.

    Selected as best answer

386-255-2121