Derick Calmerin Villanueva’s Reviews

Derick Calmerin Villanueva

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. From Beginning to End.

    Posted by Brandie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick 6-12 months ago.
    • Derick handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very pleased with the outcome of my case. I didn't expect to get back as much money that I originally thought I would receive. I am so grateful for Mr Villanueva's help. I wouldn't know who I would have gone to file for bankruptcy. Also thankful that my co-worker referred me to Mr. Villanueva.

  2. Derick is a Very Good Lawyer

    Posted by Jorge, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick 6-12 months ago.
    • Derick handled my Personal Injury matter.

    Mr. Villanueva was my accident lawyer a few months ago. He keep me inform on my case when I was confuse about process. I used him as my bankruptcy attorney as well and he is a very good attorney

  3. He is an honest and trustworthy attorney.

    Posted by Samuel (Sam), a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick 1-3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Derick handled my divorce case and kept me informed about the process and although it was a little difficult, we reach a great resolution about the terms of custody and child visitation. I am satisfied with Derick, he is a fellow military vet and has served his country as well.

  4. Very shady

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick more than 3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    While his tactics worked, I regret the way I allowed him to push lies to get what I wanted. In the end winning was not everything. An unethical lawyer can ruin the rest of your life.

  5. Excellent lawyer, I'd definitely recommend!!

    Posted by Gary, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick more than 3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Derick is great! I was referred to him by another client who used him for a divorce, but I was looking to file bankruptcy. I had read online about the different types, but wasn't sure which one, and Derick took the time to sit down and explain them to me, and advise me on which I should file. I chose a chapter seven, and he and I filled out the paperwork. It was filed quickly, and his office handled my crediters for me. It was a load off my mind. I showed up to my one hearing and never had to go to court again. Just like that, my stress was gone. Derick's staff was so nice to me, and listened, and they always called me like they said they would. He always seemed to know what he was doing.

  6. Excellent Family Lawyer!

    Posted by Mariela, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick more than 3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Attorney Villanueva about a year ago regarding a contested divorce and child custody matter. I found ouf that my ex husband who was from Mexico was having an affair and Attorney Villanueva assisted me in filing divorce and obtained alimony since I was a stay at home mom. Attorney Villanueva dealt vigorously against my ex's attorney and got me a great result and good amount of alimony and I had full custody of my two kids. I'm glad I hired Attorney Villanueva to handle my case and I have referred him to all my friends and family. He is an excellent lawyer and I'm proud he is and always will be my attorney.

  7. Would not recommend

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick more than 3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Derick in March for a child custody matter. The papers filed on my behalf were sloppy and the interrogatories were those that would be presented for a divorce case.
    He originally said he would take pmts, then changed his mind. I had to mostly deal with his assistant Andre.
    Derick seemed knowledgeable, and confident, he obviously has done good work in the past as he had many awards on his wall.
    He didnt however do what he said for me, even sent me a letter attacking my mental state when he found out I would be filing a complaint with the state bar.
    Approach with caution.

  8. Smart and Handsome Lawyer!! Highly Recommended

    Posted by Jenna, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derick Villanueva.
    • I hired Derick more than 3 years ago.
    • Derick handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    About several months ago I got into a car accident that wasn't my fault. At first I went to an attorney who said my case was not that important to him since it was not worth a lot of money and that I should go to another attorney. He's also cute, charming and smart!

    I hired Attorney Villanueva and he made me a believer! He dealt with the insurance company in a tough way and got me the maximum settlement almost 3 times as much than what the other attorney told me. I'm so glad I met Attorney Villanueva. He answered all my calls and I was able to call him on his cell phone.