Joshua Mark Geller’s Reviews

Joshua Mark Geller

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. josh helped me again

    Posted by antoine, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua 1-6 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is the second time I hired Josh as my lawyer. He kept me out of jail and got the charges reduced to a county ordinance so it wouldnt go on my record. Josh is a good guy.

  2. Be Warned--read this before you hire him.

    Posted by Laura, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Josh Geller was appointed to me by the Ga state court of Cobb county towards the end of 2013. Since this was a 'pro bono' case I was determined to do whatever was in my power to assist him bc I wanted to make things go as smoothly as possible considering I knew he must be extremely busy and I appreciated that fact. I was not given the same basic courtesy at all, he actually told me at one point (in a seemingly rude way) to stop emailing him and that he "hopes rehab gives me the help I so obviously need". That behavior continued into him barely letting me know my court dates on time and all but refusing to discuss my defense with me, should we have gone to trial. He did not fully explain all of my options, just continued to press me to take a plea deal that I did not feel comfortable with. He showed zero empathy, or sympathy for me and honestly I felt as though he had zero respect for me from the start. I tried multiple times to talk to him and try to understand why he was treating me with such disdain, but to no avail. I am not writing this review to hurt Josh I just want potential clients to know what they are possibly getting themselves into by hiring him at their attorney.

    1. Joshua Mark Geller

      Joshua Geller

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ethical rules prevent me from saying a lot here. Client failed to show up for court several times and I kept her out of jail. Client came to court intoxicated on some prescription medication on at least two occasions, I told her she needed help and I would find her a rehab facility and she responded by calling me a "f***ing douchebag." Yes, it's fair to say I didn't care much about the case because I was more concerned with saving her life, which she would not allow me to do,

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  3. Josh

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Geller was a good attorney but when it came to him letting me know the status of my case thIs was his weakness. I was not even provided a copy of my discovery. It just seems as though he was too busy. He did answer any questions I had, and I didn't go to jail.

    1. Joshua Mark Geller

      Joshua Geller

      Lawyer Comment:

      I strive to satisfy every client and keep them informed. Sometimes there are no developments in the case, but sometimes it is my fault. I'd like to know how I can improve in the future, so if you'd like to talk about what I could have done better then please give me a call. Thanks for the positive review.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  4. ATTORNEY GELLER NEGOTIATED MY YOUNGER BROTHER'S CHARGES. THEY WERE DROPPED DOWN FROM FELONIES

    Posted by ABRIAL, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Geller represented my younger brother in a felony case. He was facing at least 10 years in prison. The state had enough evidence to convict him on all counts. But Attorney Geller was able to negotiate a plea for lesser charges. My brother did not go to prison, he was only given probation. This attorney was very friendly, down to earth & accessible.
    Thanks so much Attorney Geller for caring!!! May GOD continue to bless you & your practice in a very special way!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!

  5. Saved my life!

    Posted by Corey, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    i was facing ten years in prison for possession of cocaine with distribution. The prosecutor tried to make a plea offer, but Mr. Josh told me not to take it because he would get the case dismissed. He knew the prosecutor and the judge and got them to agree to dismiss the case. My wife is sick and now I can be with her and not in prison.

  6. He got my case dismissed

    Posted by Antoine, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Geller.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with armed robbery and kidnapping. They told me I was facing life. Mr. Geller told me to trust him and that he would get my case dismissed. We filed some motions before the trial and the judge threw the case out. Now I'm a free man.