W. Phillip Mccurdy’s Reviews

W. Phillip Mccurdy

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. WIN WIN! McCurdy saved my children!

    Posted by Joshua, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 6-12 months ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr McCurdy came into my case over 3 years into the divorce. My previous lawyer had not done anything to push it forward, and it was exhausting. My ex-wife had an endless budget, was on her 9th lawyer, and had already pushed the case onto a third judge in Fulton county - you can imagine the disaster that Mr. McCurdy walked into. That being said, Phil was excellent at not only getting the case to trial, but in obtaining the proper outcome. Through his excellent preparation, he was able to not only get himself up to speed, but to force the opposing counsel into getting my ex to take a settlement offer. In the end, after less than 2 months on the case, he was able to settle the custody portion of a divorce case that was over 3 years old. I was granted full physical and legal custody of both of my small children - A HUGE VICTORY for a MAN in Georgia, especially given that I have very limited income as I've been going back to school for the last 4 years. I couldn't have asked for better representation on this case - Thank you so much! And btw, after reading one of the recent reviews, I can definitely comment that Mr. McCurdy's rate and retainer are not only fair, but less than my previous attorney asked for - and he has considerably more experience.

  2. Very Disappointed

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I used Phil several years ago in a divorce case and was mostly happy with the quality of work and over all outcome. I hired Phil again in early 2013 and boy have things changed. He has become very unresponsive and the quality of work has dropped significantly to the point I really regret hiring him and could not be more disappointed. He has no regard for the importance of my case to me and has treated me like I'm a bother and not a valued client.

    1. W. Phillip Mccurdy

      W. Mccurdy

      Lawyer Comment:

      Peter - I am sorry that you have been disappointed in the progress of your case and apologize for and take full responsibility for any delays in responding to you. As you are aware your case is still progressing and we do not have an outcome yet. Hopefully by the conclusion of your case you will have a different opinion.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. Attorney gone wrong!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    His retainer fee is three times the average rate for the area he practices in. On several occasions he was supposed to contact the opposing attorney in the case and did not. Entirely incorrect information on the legal division of an inheritance that is part of the case. Out right lied to opposing attorney. He knew the absolute facts and lied 100% to opposing attorney. When an attorney lies to a client and turns around and fabricates lies to tell opposing counsel it is reprehensible .

    1. W. Phillip Mccurdy

      W. Mccurdy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm sorry you had a bad experience with our firm. This matter does not sound familiar, and we strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. Please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  4. Very pleased

    Posted by DuaneThornhillII, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Child Custody matter.

    Phil is a stand-up guy. I was referred to him by another attorney, and he hasn't let me down since . Phil listens to all your concerns, and he will work extremely hard to get you the best results.

  5. Prompt, Reliable, Trustworthy

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I, along with my parents, would recommend Phil McCurdy all day long and already have. He is prompt, very attuned to his client's needs, patient and incredibly informative. My entire experience was as pleasant as could be, given the circumstances, as I knew Phil was there to support me however I needed.

  6. Robert

    Posted by Robert, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a small business owner and Mr.McCurdy has represented my company and myself on several occasions. He has also always been available to dispense advice, keeping me and my business informed on all the laws, rules and regulations that apply.
    He has also represented me in court. This is where he really excels, in a court of law. Very impressive.
    If you have to go to court, you will want this man on your side, lest he be on the other side and against you. The man is a winner. There was one time when I asked for his help on a case and he informed me that I would be better served using another attorney. He then contacted another attorney and got the ball rolling for me. This shows integrity. Great Lawyer !

  7. GREAT Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by Chritopher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have utilized the services of Phil Mccurdy, for several years, in my business dealings. Being a small business owner, you need a good lawyer. I found that in Phil, he is very knowledgeable , in contract law, lien laws and corporate law. I am certain he is just effcetive in other area he may pratice.

    A few years ago I contacted Phil, on a family matter, mainly a divorce. After my consultaion, I allowed Phil to handle this matter for me. It was an 18 month battle and I am very please with the out come.

    The myth that there is no justice in Georgia for a man getting a divorce, is just that, a myth. I would have to say you had the wrong LAWYER. Divorce is not a pleasant matter, it is a matter that has to be handle. Not alloiwing Phil to handle you divorce, may me a great mistake

  8. phil helped me alot

    Posted by marsden,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    my wife and i got rear-ended at a stop light and phil took care of the insurance company that was jerking me around

  9. Locked and Loaded...for you in Family Court Matters

    Posted by EB, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Phil has and will continue to handle all my legalities. Bringing a widely recognized and respected legal family name into the courts along with his own decades of experience, connections, focus and tenacity, Phil delivers swift attention, an excellent legal mind and dedication time after time. Not being shy about telling me what I don't want to hear but what I need to hear is exactly who I want to have my back in this area. Legal proceedings are no place for client emotionalism and Phil is always level headed and fully prepared which keeps me out of selling myself short. We were able to avoid Divorce Court due to his Mediation skills and that was a huge relief (as well as not easy) with a defendant as erratic and unrealistic as my ex was. All clients I have referred to Phil have been most satisfied and grateful. Phil is great for a case by case situation though I feel safer knowing he has a roster full of long term relationships (clients) including myself, friends and family.

  10. Phillip Mccurdy is an exceptional lawyer and I would certainly recommend his services!

    Posted by Jeffrey M., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend W. Mccurdy.
    • I hired W. Mccurdy more than 3 years ago.
    • W. Mccurdy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Divorce is an ugly experience for any individual. I found the entire experience to be far less painful with Mr. Mccurdy's guidance. His experience, expertise, and forthright no games approach simplified my life. I was able to get past the experience quickly and painlessly. He was firm fair and consistent with his court dealings. He was timely with all filed paperwork. His level of professionalism exceeded my expectations and his rates were more than reasonable. I do consider myself fortunate for having found the right lawyer to see me through such an experience. Every aspect of my situation was clearly explained as were all my options. Most of us know when entangled in the court system, an exceptional guide and friend will make all the difference. I would not hesitate to suggest Mr. Mccurdy to any individual seeking the most capable, professional, and reasonable lawyer. What could have been a horrific legal experience was resolved speedily and virtually painlessly. I will always appreciate the work he did for me.