Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.’s Guides

Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.

Wilmington Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 11
  1. A Police Officer wants to talk to me about an investigation he is doing. What should I do?

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    If the officer is investigating a crime, you should immediately contact an attorney to intervene on your behalf. An attorney is in a better position to evaluate whether is is appropriate for you to give a statement. Remember, anything you say to the officer can be used against ...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  2. Should I take a Breathalyzer?

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    In North Carolina, by driving on the roads you are obligated to take a breath test at the request of an officer (assuming he has sufficient grounds for the request). If you refuse a test, your license will be revoked immediately for thirty days. It will then be revoked for an a...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  3. The officer didn't read me my rights!

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    Your Miranda rights (the right to remain silent and to have an attorney present when being questioned) only apply to a CUSTODIAL INTERROGATION. That means that you must 1. be under arrest and 2. the officer must be asking you questions about the crime for which you are arrested...

  4. Information on Limited Driving Privileges in North Carolina

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    LIMITED DRIVING PRIVILEGES If you are granted a limited driving privilege, you should remember the following: Always carry it when you are driving; It is good ONLY for the hours shown on the back of the privilege; You may drive from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m., Mon-Fri. for work, schoo...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  5. DWI Punishments in North Carolina

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    DWI PUNISHMENTS THE FOLLOWING REPRESENTS THE MAXIMUM AND MINIMUM PUNISHMENT ALLOWED BY LAW IN A MISDEMEANOR DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED CASE. MAXIMUM: 2 YEARS IN PRISON MINIMUM: LEVEL 5 60 DAYS SUSPENDED JAIL SENTENCE 2 YEARS UNSUPERVISED PROBATION ONE YEAR SUSPENDED DRIVER'S LICE...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  6. Tips for Your Personal Injury Auto Accident case

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    At the accident scene. If your injuries are not too severe, you should try to get the following information at the scene of the accident: Driver information: Obtain and exchange information with all

    3 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  7. What to Do When You Are Charged with a DWI in North Carolina

    Written by attorney Dennis Sullivan, over 3 years ago.

    Keep track of all of your paperwork. Many DWI cases are won based upon errors or omissions in the paperwork. Keep everything you are given by law-enforcement, jail personnel or the magistrate in a fo

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful