the passenager of the wreck settled out of court with my insurance company, while he was in a nursing home, after being in there for 7 months they let him go home with his wife, he cought phnumona then went back to nursing home, then a few days la...
Signing a release with an insurance company does nothing to impact a criminal prosecution. The insurance claim is a civil case and wholly separate and apart from a criminal prosecution. Furthermore, the victim is not the one who decides whether or not to prosecute, it is the prosecuting attorney. I suggest you contact an experienced DUI attorney immediately if you have not already done so.See question
The person that put up the bail said they didn't get any back.
I would contact the clerk of the court where the charges were pending. Generally, they will have the bond money refunded in full once the case closes. If they gave the Court permission, when they signed the bonding papers, they Court could deduct the fines and costs as stated below.
Definitely contact the court clerk to find out what is going on though.See question
he says that if i don't continue to have sex with him and talk to him he's going to tell everyone. will i get into trouble?
The age of consent in West Virginia is 16. Therefore, you cannot be prosecuted for anything based solely upon the age difference.See question
When i was 14, i stole a bracelet from claire's and got caught. I had to go to juvenile services and meet with someone who had me write a paper about why shoplifting is bad. I also had to pay $50 to claire's. I am now 19 and about to have an inter...
It will not show up on a background check. All juvenile proceedings in West Virginia are closed proceedings. Therefore, anything related to the charge is kept in a sealed file which takes a court order to open. Due to this, it will not show up on a background check.See question
is second degree arson a criminal defense in the state of wv
Yes, and it carries with it a potential prison sentence of not less than 1 nor more than 10 years.See question
I commited 3 misdemeanor s last year and was sentenced to a year in jail, 6mo suspended for 6mo house arrest, and 6mo suspended for a year unsupervised probation. I am about to complete my term of house arrest. Will I have to report to anyone or...
Unsupervised is exactly what it sounds like. You do not have to report to anyone, or drug screen. Really the only way to screw up unsupervised probation is to get charged with another crime.See question
So I had been harassed by a girl for over a year. She had made several threats towards me, and my son, made racial remarks, and even threatened to shoot me. After dealing with it for over a year I had gotten fed up. She came to my home where I liv...
This is hard to answer as every case is different and every county handles their cases differently. However, your lack of a criminal history will work in your favor. As stated in the other response, the severity of the actual battery and the extent of any injuries could most likely determine the outcome.See question
Im 18. I'm at a treatment center in WV. Im court ordered to complete this long program. Can I get out of it? Do I have any adult rights? I have juvenile charges too, Will they be expunged?
If part of a juvenile case, then no, you cannot get out of it. You can be kept in the juvenile system in West Virginia until you are 21.
As for your juvenile charges, they will be sealed and will not be on your criminal record.See question
i got pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt then charged for driving while revoked in a mcdonald parkinglot.i went back the next day to get my car and the same policeman pulled me over at myhouse coming home from mcdonalds.
This is a very hard charge to deal with. All the State has to show is basically that you were driving and that you were revoked. Its pretty simple to do. So basically the only way to beat the charges it to attack the stop. The first stop will be pretty difficult since it is a seatbelt violation. And the second stop even more difficult since the officer had personal knowledge that you were revoked.
A third offense is a felony, however, they cannot charge it as such because they don't already have a second offense conviction. So, they way to deal with the charges is to either plea bargain a plea to a misdemeanor, or to make sure that the second arrest is dealt with prior to the first arrest.See question
On November 26,2013 the CPS of Webster Springs Wv removed my child from my care due to truancy. My 1st hearing the judge presiding told me that he doesn't like nor agree with the medicine prescribed to me and he wants me off of them. And if I did...
I am going to assume that this medication you are taking is either suboxone or methadone, and that you are a patient at one of these clinics. The short answer to your question is yes, the judge is within his rights to order you to cease taking these "medications" or else terminating your parental rights. Many judges in this state views suboxone and methadone as simply substituting one legal drug for an illegal drug. And the clinic that administer these medications do nothing to help you. They get you addicted to these medications and have no intent of ever getting you off of them. It is nothing more than a money making scheme.
I have represented several individuals in these matters who are patients of these clinics, with mixed results. Some stop taking the drugs and get their children back. Others, sounds like you may be in this group, choose to keep taking the drugs instead of keeping their parental rights.
As an experienced attorney who handles these cases, sounds like the judge was wholly within his discretion.See question