Mary G. Commander’s Guides

Mary G. Commander

Norfolk Divorce / Separation Lawyer.

Contributor Level 16
  1. Immunity of Child Abuse Reporters in Virginia

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Immunity of Child Abuse Reporters in Virginia In order to encourage reports to be made of child abuse or neglect, those who make reports of suspected abuse are immune from liablity by staute in Virginia. Virginia Code Section 63.2-1512 provides: Any person making a report pursuan...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  2. Involuntary Termination of Parental Rights in Virginia

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Invountary Termination of Parental Rights in Virginia Under certain circumstances the rights of parents can be involuntarily terminated by court action. Parents must be afforded due process, and the procedures must be adhered to strictly. Circumstances That Are Grounds for Termi...

    2 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  3. What is Domestic Violence/ Family Abuse in Virginia?

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    What is Domestic Violence/Family Abuse in Virginia? Defined in Domestic Violence Civil Laws Virginia Code 16.1-228; 38.2-508(7) ''Family abuse'' means any act involving violence, force, or threat including, but not limited to, any forceful detention, which results in bodily i...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  4. Virginia Infant Safe Haven Law

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Infant Safe Haven Law Parents have the ability, without the prospect of criminal or civil liability, of delivering their infant child to a "safe haven". Infant's Age Virginia Code 18.2-371.1; 40.1-103 A child may be relinquished within the first 14 days after his or her birth...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  5. Adoption Placement

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Who May Adopt, Be Adopted, or Place a Child for Adoption Adoption in Virginia is governed by statutes that must be strictly complied with. There are specific rules regarding who may adopt, who may be adopted and who can place a child for adoption. Who May Adopt Virginia Code 6...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  6. Parental Drug Use as Child Abuse in Virginia

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Parental Drug Use as Child Abuse in Virginia Use of drugs by parents can lead to many lapses in parenting, in addition to outright abuse of children. The use or possession of drugs, in and of itself, however can lead to a finding of child abuse even without a showing of some over...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  7. What Constitutes Child Abuse or Neglect in Virginia?

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    What Constitutes Child Abuse or Neglect in Virginia? Child Abuse and Neglect are defined by statute in Virginia. Physical Abuse Virginia Code 63.2-100 Abused or neglected child means any child younger than age 18: Whose parents or other person responsible for his or her care ...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  8. Who Has To Report Child Abuse or Neglect in Virginia?

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Who Has To Report Child Abuse or Neglect in Virginia? Parents often come to the attention of the Department of Social Services and the courts by way of reports from "mandatory reporters", those who are required by law to make reports of suspected child abuse or neglect. The list...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  9. Rights of Unmarried Fathers in Virginia

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Rights of Unmarried Fathers in Virginia Some states define the term Father by statute. Virginia does not. Virginia has established a Putative Father Registry which is a statewide database. You can register online at www.dss.viginia.gov/family/ap/putative_fatherhood. Registration...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  10. Social Media And Divorce

    Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 3 years ago.

    Social Media And Divorce One of the primary sources for damaging evidence in divorce cases often comes from you yourself. Sometimes, it can be in the form of what you do or what you say. Often, it can be in the form of what you say and do and then post online for the world to see...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful