Lawrence David Burroughs II’s Reviews

Lawrence David Burroughs II

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Experience

    Posted by Guy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have fairly limited writing experience, so please bear with me. I was a wreck dealing with my Ex-Wife (Scared/intimidated) on custody of our son. Mr. Burroughs was patient and thorough with me through the entire process. I couldn't be happier with my experience with Burroughs Law Office. I now have physical custody of my son. Thank you Mr. Burroughs! Thank you Geneva!

  2. My Testimony

    Posted by Kathryn Simms, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Child Custody matter.

    "I honestly don't even know where to start. When I was served with papers by my ex-husband who already had custody of our 4 year old son, I was floored. He was taking me to court for all of my parental rights to be stripped and to cut me out of my sons life once and for all. My first reaction was to jump on the phone and start dialing every number to every lawyer I could find on Google! after several interviews I was starting to feel hopeless...like none of them were truly going to fight for me, I felt like a lost cause. Until my final attempt. Heartbroken and scared for my childs and my relationship, I did one last search for lawyers in the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area. Burroughs Law popped up and I didn't recognise the name from prior attempts so I read through his profile...one word in particular popped out at me, ''hollistically". Instantly I felt connected and knew these were my people, so I called. Boy was I right!! Geneva Van Pelt answered the phone and I felt immediately as though I was talking to an old friend. She joked with me, laughed with me, got mad WITH ME at the horrific things my ex was attempting to do. I hadn't even felt that at ease when speaking with family and friends. She immediately had my back and for once in several weeks, I felt like things were going to be ok! She immediately set up an interview with Larry and I felt like I was waiting to go to Disney Land! I couldn't wait to speak with him and get everything started!

    The day finally came and Mr. Burroughs and I had a wonderful conversation. He LISTENED, he didn't talk to me like I was a nobody, like I didn't matter. He instilled confidence in me, made me truly believe that all would be ok and he would not let me fall. He gave me the advice I needed and the steps to get things done. If I felt nervous or scared, I called or emailed him and he reassured me. If I was angry and needed to vent, he was there for me to lean on.

    While we were in court, he had a professional, kind, and confident presence with our "team"...he held it together beautifully and gracefully to help maintain MY sanity. But somehow in all that calm, you could still see the storm clouds rolling in quietly. He had a subtle intimidation that rocked my ex to the core. He never hestiated, stood his ground, and didn't allow things to go unmentioned when we were in front of the judge. He may be a gentle giant but he is certainly no pushover and he knows his job and DOES his job well.

    Now that court has passed, I still remain in touch. Larry and Geneva are amazing people who helped me through one of the hardest times of my life and I will forever be grateful for the both of them. I would whole heartedly recommend Burroughs Law to anyone! "

  3. A Caring and Responsive Team

    Posted by Katherine, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Family matter.

    Two people I cannot imagine my life without. Larry, I cannot put into words the immense gratitude I feel towards you and all that you have done for me and my family. Never once did you judge me or make me feel like I did anything wrong. You calmed me when I was scared and gave me courage when I thought I was surely drained of all hope. I couldn't have had a better attorney on my team. Geneva Van Pelt, you are one amazing woman...you gossiped and trash talked with me...leting me vent any time I needed it...your patience, understanding, compassion and love for your job and the people you both help is the GLUE to this law firm. You are the face of Burroughs Law and you represent it beautifully.

    I love and cherish you both...you became a part of a very extended family over the last few months during one of the most difficult times of my life and you bet we will always be in touch!

  4. Lack of communication and accomplishing task at hand.

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Taken money without following through and actually getting the divorce accomplished. Very disappointed in his response time and follow up with actual ork accomplished.

    1. Lawrence David Burroughs II

      Lawrence Burroughs

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not have a client by this name that was hired within the last month or so. Our communication is excellent and I'm just a phone call away. My legal assistant, Geneva, is there daily from 8:30 to 5:00 and would have certainly let me know if some had called. If this is an existing client using a different name "Kim", please consider calling so I can help. It is frustrating to receive reviews like this when there is no way to know who needs help or what I can do to resolve the matter. Thank you and please call immediately.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  5. Thorough and Caring

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thorough and caring is a rare combination for an Attorney. Mr. Burroughs and his assistant Geneva were there for me at every turn of my messy and contested divorce. I would have paid double.

  6. Great Military Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Burroughs is not just a divorce attorney, he is a true family law attorney. I was so confused about how to handle the custody of our children and what my spouse should or could receive after the divorce. He didn't necessarily say what I wanted to hear but he was honest and thorough and the end result was the best for me, my spouse, and the children. He and his staff were patient and helpful at all times, despite my incessant phone calls and crazy questions. His assistant always returned my calls even if just to say that Mr. Burroughs was out and would get back to me by e-mail. His rates are more reasonable than other attorneys and he was worth every penny and then some. I would recommend him for military divorce or any family law in general.

  7. Justice Served

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Burroughs.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Burroughs represented my case in an ethical, professional manner. His knowledge of the Virginia Commonwealth laws are profound. Mr. Burroughs representation allowed my family stability for our future. He was able to show the court that I was intitled to a retirement settlement. His persistance and dedication enforced the law to have the individual to make resonable monthly payments at a timely manner. Mr. Burroughs is a family man that is caring, trustworthy and knowledgable. I would definitly recommend Mr. Burroughs to anyone who is looking for an honest, aggressive, compassionate and knowledgable lawyer in the Hampton Roads area.