Carleton Penn III’s Reviews

Carleton Penn III

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review for Carleton Penn III, written by Michael Pate

    Posted by a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 1-3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Appeals matter.

    Carleton came highly recommended to me, and I couldn’t of asked for a better representation for myself in the courtroom. Carleton will fight for justice where justice is deserved and he has my recommendation and support 100%.

  2. Recognized expertise and reputation of success

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 6-12 months ago.
    • Carleton handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was facing assault charges in Fairfax, VA and Mr. Penn was able to have the charges dismissed. I was facing a potential jail sentence, $2,500 in fines and possible medical reimbursement for the complainant's broken nose. Mr. Penn's knowledge and expertise were invaluable in clearing me of the charge. Mr. Penn was not only extremely knowledgeable of the law, but also very familiar with the judges and the entire process exclusive to the Fairfax, VA court system, having had so many years of experience and success. Mr. Penn's straightforward approach and mentality of success helped me to get through the ordeal and reassured me greatly. I recall asking Mr. Penn what possible sentence I could expect, his answer was, "Bite your tongue!" Mr. Penn then informed me that his intention was to prove I was not guilty. I was so certain that I was going to be found guilty that I saw no other outcome and focused on the jail sentence. Mr. Penn proved to be right and I cannot stress how fortunate I was to have sought and retained his services. Other attorneys I consulted painted a far bleaker outcome and all wanted to charge me twice what Mr. Penn was charging me. Even after the trial, the judge had additional comments, and when he was finished, he turned to Mr. Penn for validation. Words really can't describe how fortunate I was to have been represented by Mr. Penn. If you find yourself needing an attorney, look no further than Mr. Penn. He's the man. 'Nuff said.

  3. Best Attorney around

    Posted by Tracy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Penn is absolutely the best attorney I've had the pleasure of doing business with. He is very knowledgeable, responsive, and caring. I highly recommend him.

  4. Review of Carleton Penn III

    Posted by James, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 6-12 months ago.
    • Carleton handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Ms. Penn did a great job with all responsibility as my attorney. I can't say enough about his overall attitude and work ethic.

  5. Review for Carleton Penn III

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Penn is credible, trustworthy, and most importantly, provides results. I would highly recommend Mr. Penn.

  6. If you are looking for the best use Carleton.

    Posted by Jeff, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton more than 3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first used Carleton in 1998 for a Reckless driving ticket 91 mph in a 45 while racing on RT 7 near Sterling. I was 17 at the time and somewhat unsettled about the whole process I was going through. Carleton was recommended by a friend of his who I worked with and immediately after my parents and I met with him we all felt reassured. He had me bring him pictures of the area, and provide him with grades and teacher references. The day of the trial Carleton again was calm as always, it was clear this wasn't his first time at the plate for a very large ticket. The judge told me to "get my algebra grades up" and that I was sentenced to traffic school, which was going to happen anyway since anyone who turned 16 earlier this year faced mandatory traffic school after their first ticket. And upon completion of the traffic school (8hr class) and provided I went a certain amount of time without another ticket, the offense would be completely wiped off my record. It was an incredible result given the fact it was a 91 in a 45 while drag racing in a Camaro.

    The second time I used him I was 26 and it was for a 75/55 reckless driving and a lane violation on 66 in Fairfax County, a ticket written by a U.S. Park Policeman. The park policeman relied on his speedometer as his way of measuring how fast I was going. Carleton had me provide my speedometer calibration as well. It was a somewhat complicated case given other circumstances, and the initial offer from the DA was to null process the Lane Violation if I plead guilty to reckless driving, which meant I would have been liable for VA's new civil remedial fines. Carleton said that isn't going to happen and we were going to a trial which is then the DA began to look further into his case. The end result were two non moving violations that left no points on my license. That is a huge difference then the initial offer the DA sent our way which would have had me plead guilty to a reckless driving case. I had consulted with another attorney before I came to my senses and called Carleton who said I "was lucky the officer did not arrest me". Carleton had a much different reaction when I told him of the circumstances about the case that immediately reminded me why I wanted him up there fighting for me.

    We have kept in touch ever since and he is someone I consider a great friend and feel lucky to have met him. I have emailed him many times with friends that have asked for advice on attorneys out of the area and no matter where it was, (Richmond, Washington County, Harrisonburg), Carleton has always given advice and known someone to contact each time. I can't recommend him enough and even though I hope I wont have to use him again, I would never hesitate to call him no matter the circumstance.

  7. Carleton PennIII Criminal defense attorney with over thirty years experience!

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton more than 3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carleton Penn III represented my former fiancee on numerous charges. Charges including DUI's,drug possession, Hit and run. Carleton prevailed on each and every charge, he was devine.The partners at the firm said, "he could walk on water". After my break up a year later I had Carleton represent me as well.It was a reckless driving charge and he prevailed in my defense as well.Carleton Penn III is more than a Lawyer he has become a trusted friend at the most trying and difficult times in one's life, Carleton PennIII is the one you can turn to and trust with your legal problems. Professionalism from an Attorney that has practiced for more then thirty years that understands what your going through and that cares about your life.

  8. Carleton Penn III: Not just "Bang for Your Buck," but he's as cunning as a fox

    Posted by Jack, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton more than 3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was a client of this attorney during the winter of 2010.

    What I really liked about this attorney’s services was his crisp – sometimes assertive – instructions to me about what I absolutely had to do to best assist him in preparation for trial. For example, I was instructed to find, and as it could not be found, fabricate a box and its contents, just exactly the same in every way possible as the box containing 12 bank statements and two six-part files which the accuser said was thrown at him with such force that it made a 1” cut on his face, the basis of the “Assault and Battery” charge that the accuser had sworn out before a magistrate just after the police told him to finally leave my office.

    With regard to the Possession of Marijuana charge that resulted when the same police office came the next day to deliver the Assault and Battery warrant, as Carleton predicted, it did not go at all as the police officer “promised” it would.

    I was found “Not Guilty” on the Assault and Battery charge.

    The Possession of Marijuana charge was eventually dropped.

    Carleton is firm, made no promises, and everything turned out just fine. I liked that about him.

    There was a moment when I thought Carleton was a tad bit insensitive. As we were telling the bizarre story of events, my wife broke out crying. Carleton promptly reached back for a box of facial tissue and slid it a bit abruptly toward my wife.

    AFTER A BIT, WE BOTH FIGURED OUT THAT WE NEEDED TO STAY FOCUSED IN ORDER TO GET THE JOB DONE.

    WE DID; HE DID.

  9. What can I say

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 1-3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found my experience wit Carleton Penn to be easy going and free from worry. He exemplifies the poise and intellect you expect from a top level attorney. Working with him I felt like I had a big brother looking out for me providing sound legal advice every step of the legal process. If you are looking for an attorney who will treat you like family and a legal firm with impeccable service, seek out Carleton Penn III.

  10. Carleton Penn III saved my life and he saved my family.

    Posted by Van Perrault, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carleton Penn.
    • I hired Carleton 1-3 years ago.
    • Carleton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I haven't enough good words to describe what Carleton Penn did for me and my family.

    My wife made assault charges against me, had me banned from my home and had me banned from my children. Carleton put together a defense that can only be described as genius and eventually brought about all charges being dismissed. I have no doubt that his aggressive defense directly resulted in my wife recanting all charges against me and led to her seeking medical help for her unstable emotional condition.

    Carleton responded to my phone calls and e-mails immediately 7 days a week and all hours of the day and night (as late as 3am on occassion). The situation I found mysely in was totally alien to me and that time was one of my most vulnerable points in life. Carleton was unbelievably sensitive to my emotional needs to a degree I would never have expected from an attorney. Throughout my dealings with Carleton I never doubted that he made my problems, his problems.

    Carleton's efforts were always clearly driven to not only remedy my immediate criminal charges needs, but he was also conscientious about laying a ground work of recovery for my family including me, my children and my wife.

    I thank God everyday for finding Carleton.

703-591-4900