Stephen A. Drazin’s Reviews

Stephen A. Drazin

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Poor Attorney and no communication.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Drazin never informed me of his reprimand that occurred which is why he doesnt represent his clients "DRAZIN, Stephen A. - Commission reprimand for failing to deposit and maintain an unearned portion of his client’s advance retainer in an attorney trust account for safekeeping until such funds were earned as fees or used as expenses related to the representation. He also, failed to keep his client reasonably informed about the status of the representation."

    He uses a very inexperienced attorney "Carey Jacobson" who doesnt know how to represent herself amongst attorneys and charges too much for her lack of experience. I would never recommend this firm. The communication factor is very poor and you are guaranteed to have an attorney with little knowledge but continue to charge you for services!

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      Interestingly, this poor review was traced to a disgruntled spouse of one of our clients - who we successfully represented and continue to do so.

      The Reviewer seeks to discredit anyone with whom he had contact with during his divorce proceedings. He sued his own attorney, the trial Judge, the Court Clerk, the Court Reporter, the Court's Social Worker, the minor children's attorney, and - of course - me. All to no avail. He, therefore, attempts to utilize this forum.

      Concerning the reprimand: It was entered by consent in that it occurred prior to the Commission's Opinion that such a deposit into an Attorney's Operating Account with the consent of the client was perfectly permissible and we did not wish to be the "test case" and spend thousands of dollars to litigate the issue. Now, six plus years later, such a reprimand would not be issued. The reviewer's trailer of failing "to keep his client reasonably informed about the status of the representation" was actually due to the client's Accountant who failed to follow-up and provide the Services for which he was retained. DrazinLaw was the "middle-man" and, as such, could only provide the client with frequent reports of "no change in status" with our recommendation for the client to contact the Accountant directly or find a new Accountant. The client opted not to do so - resulting in no movement on the complex Income Tax issue. The Reviewer fails to note that, after a reasonable period of time wherein the matter should have been resolved and was not (due to the Accountant), DrazinLaw informed the client that it could no longer represent him without the complex tax issue being completed (or, at least, a plan for such being in effect) and issued a FULL refund with absolutely no charge for the Legal Services rendered. The Reviewer also fails to note that such termination of Services and refund occurred prior to any reprimand and that the Client contacted the Commission to retract the Complaint realizing that the same should have been only against the Accountant. Needless to say, we no longer act as such "middlemen."

      Lastly, the Reviewer fails to note (although he states Cary Jacobson, Esquire has little experience, doesn't know how to represent herself, and charges too much) that Ms. Jacobson, during the many hearing she representing the Reviewer's spouse, consistently beat the Reviewer and won the issues being litigated. In essence, his statements concerning Ms. Jacobson are wholly incorrect.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  2. A Pleasing Experience!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Extremely pleased with the results of my case! I highly recommend anyone who is worrying about how to handle any of their legal matters to contact Mr. Stephen Drazin. I was very pleased with Mr. Drazin handling my case. He is very professional and immediately put my mind at ease! He takes time with you to help you understand exactly what you are dealing with! He took inventory of every aspect of my case; ensuring that he was knowledgeable about historic events which lead me to my case, sharing insight about the current laws, explaining things I clearly did not understand and supporting me the entire time. Further, he was punctual at each phase of my case; on time, organized and always attentive to any questions I needed an answer to. Also, I am thoroughly impressed with his staff. The staff are very friendly and will respond to you immediately (i.e. in office, via phone or email). I HIGHLY recommend anyone who needs a lawyer to represent them to the fullest extent of the law, to contact Mr. Drazin. You will be pleased!

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Results-oriented attorney who helped change my life

    Posted by Gary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A divorce lawyer is not a miracle worker. By the time you see him, you have to treat your marriage as a financial and legal problem, not an emotional one. Leave your spouse bashing behind and let him extricate you from your nightmare as best he can. Give him facts, all the detailed documentation you can and answer his questions completely, honestly and accurately. He will review the information you present and will do what he can to obtain information you may not have. To get information like bank records is expensive. You have to pay banks a fee to obtain records and he, of course, passes that on to you. You will pay for photocopying, postage, subpoenas, his time, his assistants' time and other necessary costs to get your divorce effectuated.

    My experience with the Drazin Law Center was that my costs were reasonable. He and his staff knew my case inside and out and did a splendid job in my estimation. My emails, phone calls and requests for consultations were addressed promptly and given the attention they required. Know that you are paying a professional many dollars per minute for his time and paying him thousands of dollars is not easy. Do you do that and win your case, or hire a cut-rate firm and lose?

    In all disputes, you need to know your position and know how much you should compromise. I did not expect to get awarded every demand in my complaint -- if you have such expectations and come up short, don't blame your attorney.

    Mr Drazin prepared my case well. Communicate to him what you feel is important. Be clear on your chances of winning your demands. Ask him for his honest estimation of your chances. If you have a nagging question about your case, ask him early on. You are paying him for his experience and abiltiy to judge human nature -- which he does quite well. Let him work for you.

    I sat in court with Mr Drazin and one of his colleagues. He was very well prepared, deliberate, confident and quick on his feet when some rulings did not go our way. As his client, you hire him to obtain an objective. In my case, that was a divorce, He succeeded in that assignment. I was quite pleased with his performance and had him prepare my will, power of attorney and other matters. I would hire him for other matters should the need arise.

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Caution. He promises the world, and then makes you file for bankruptcy

    Posted by Elana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hey, beware of this guy. His main goal is to get all the martial assets for himself.

    He made my divorce take 10 times as long as it should have been by constantly accusing my ex of everything under the son.

    Did we win. Yep. Sure did.

    What did I get? Everything, then I had to hand it over to him to pay his bill.

    What else did I get? A ticket off ex husband that I have to deal with the next 10 years because I made him go broke also.

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      I never represented this person. The person who posted this comment must be a disgruntled spouse of someone I did represent.
      /Stephen A. Drazin/

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  5. A shining star for my children

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Last year I was blindsided by my wife filing divorce. Being a father of multiple children, I was deeply concerned for the well being and upbringing that they needed, so I researched other lawyers in the area and selected Mr Drazin to represent me. I was never disappointed and never felt that I was compromised by being up against a system which I was told had "favored" women in divorce settlements. I wanted to make certain that I could influence a large part of my children's life as they needed the structure and stability that I could provide for them. Despite the opposition side's tactics to unnerve me into compromising or giving up--Mr. Drazins calm demeanor and guiding advice "won" my case. His presence in court was stellar and judges respect his representation for his clients. He advised that to be successful in court, to be a good parent be always above board and do whats best for the children. He was right. Now I can give my children opportunities that they would never have had and I can steer a course for them that will lead them through towards being kind, successful adults. His assistants are all top notch as well and had spent lots of time researching, planning and preparing my case for trial. While I hope never to be in the same situation again, I can be rest assured that what he has done for myself and my children will always be remembered for taking a negative situation and turning it into a positive fresh start. I would not hesitate to recommend him, especially to fathers who deserve and want to be a responsible parent in their children's lives. Thank you Mr. Drazin!!

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. The Best Lawyer in Town

    Posted by Ronnie, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Stephen Drazin is a very knowledgeable, competent and intelligent man. He has instilled in me a confidence that he possesses regarding legal matters. His endeavors are all for the best needs of his clients. I have always been totally inpressed with Mr. Drazin's intelligence and perception of what competent action needed to be completed. I also felt very confident regarding the competency of his staff and their professional savy. I would recommend Mr. Drazin to my entire family and friends.

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ronnie:
      It's always a pleasure working with you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. My Lawyer For Life

    Posted by John, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen has been my lawyer since 2007. He has always taken good care of me and I have recommended him to friends and family. I feel fortunate to have found an honest, knowledgable lawyer to help me navigate through any legal issues that I may experience.

    1. Stephen A. Drazin

      Stephen Drazin

      Lawyer Comment:

      John:
      Your review is appreciated.
      I haven't heard from you in some time; but, the same is an indication that the results we achieved (together) for your family (you and the children) are working-out-well.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. First lawyer I have ever completely trusted

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am usually pretty skeptical of any lawyer, especially after some of my previous dealings with lawyers. Then I found myself in the middle of a nasty divorce and a difficult bankruptcy. A friend of mine had used Drazin's services and recommended him. Needless to say I was very skeptical. Lucky for me I was wrong. He has been amazing. He explained each step of the process for me and has made me feel much better about the whole process. His knowledge of the law impresses me each time I deal with him. He has taken a huge amount of stress off of my shoulders during one of the most difficult times of my life. But most importantly he tells me the truth, which is a lot more then I can say about the other lawyers I have dealt with. He is straight forward about what is realistically possible and doesn't promise things because he thinks that's what I want to hear.

    Then there is his staff. I have worked with Cary, Jeannine, and Alex. Cary walked me through my bankruptcy hearing and was great. She answered all my questions both before and after the hearing. She is very responsive and has responded within 24 hours to any email or phone call. Jeannine is amazing beyond words. She is so much more than a paralegal. She has handled all my paperwork for both the bankruptcy and divorce. She keeps my documents organized and thanks to her I have the documents I need. Anytime I come in she allows me to vent my frustrations and understands my stresses over the situation. She too will respond within 24 hours of any email I send. Jeannine has been invaluable. As for Alex I just started working with him but he has been as responsive and thorough as the other people in the office so I have confidence in him.

    Stephen Drazin is the type of lawyer you want because he has integrity and is the kind of man you are proud to represent you. He knows his stuff and will work harder than any lawyer I have ever met to make sure you are heard. As are the rest of his staff. Stephen Drazin surrounds himself with good people and as a result has created the best law firm I have seen. I would not hesitate to use this office again or recommend it. If you need a lawyer there is no other choice.

  9. Probably the Best

    Posted by Darnell, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After two other Divorce lawyers, in a highly contested case, I retained Stephen Drazin and the Drazin Law Center, P.A. For the first time, I had an attorney who explained the entire process, the strategy, and focused on my goals. We were successful. I only wish I hired Stephen at the beginning and, thus, would have saved myself tens of thousands of dollars.

  10. Down to earth Attorney - speaks in language you can understand

    Posted by Linda, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Drazin.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen handled a Personal Financial matter for me. He was very easy to talk with, understanding and made a me feel comfortable. He advised me of everything that would happen with my case. He is a very honest up front person. He has no hidden surprises. Rochell his assistant is very helpful as well. The Drazin Law Group is wonderful.