Buta Biberaj’s Answers

Buta Biberaj

Leesburg Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 11
  1. Will my ex be arrested for unlawful sexual intercourse and If so for how long?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Joseph Briscoe Dane
    2. David Mark Wallin
    3. Buta Biberaj
    4. Darryl Elliot Young
    5. Dan Eugene Chambers
    5 lawyer answers

    if the crime/action is reported and the investigation comes up with evidence supporting the charge, yes. The evidence can be your testimony, his statements or witnesses who saw the action or other physical evidence such as DNA. As for the charge, it will depend on the discretion exercised by the prosecution and, thereafter, any plea agreements.

    8 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. Caught shoplifting worried most and got civil demand notice

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Buta Biberaj
    2. Douglas Holbrook
    3. Michael Lawrence Doyle
    3 lawyer answers

    The civil demand notice is a demand on behalf of Sears for you to pay them a "liquidated" (a specific) amount to compensate them for the time and nuisance of your "shoplifting" from their store. Most of the demand letters are from attorneys outside of VA. Before the store can sue you, they have to file a suit in Virginia and use a Virginia attorney. So, most of these demands and threats to sue are not followed through. As for, whether this is instead of criminal charges, NO they are not....

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Should I hire a lawyer....or just do some crazy homework on DUI cases and represent myslef

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Ronald Joseph Manto
    2. Michael D. Conroy
    3. Jennifer L. Ellis
    4. Buta Biberaj
    5. D. Benjamin Sessions
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    Representing yourself, even if you were a lawyer, is a big risk. Hire an attorney and increase your chances that he/she will not allow the prosecutor or the officer to take advantage of you by introducing evidence that would be excludable under the rules of evidence. Your facts sound strong, but if you don't know the rules of the court, you get out-played. And, can theoretically lose. Good luck.

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. How and where can i find a lawyer to take his case to do a motion to modified his sentence

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Buta Biberaj
    2. Rixon Charles Rafter III
    3. Kevin Reese Pettrey
    3 lawyer answers

    Call the Va State Bar Lawyer Referral Service - the number is (804) 775-0808 - ask to be referred to an attorney in or near Burkeville who practices parole law. This question needs to directed to someone who does Parole Law. Good luck.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Is there a way to have reversed a guilty charge (I paid a fine by mail) for DIP (not drunk; .001) in Loudoun County, VA?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Faraji Allen Rosenthall
    2. Mark Steven Paullin
    3. Wilfred Ward Yeargan III
    4. Carleton Penn III
    5. Buta Biberaj
    5 lawyer answers

    This is going to depend on when you paid the fine and when was your original court date. Tradionally, prepayment of a fine is an admission of guilt. The clerk enters the finding of guilt on your scheduled court date. You have 10 days from that date to appeal the case to the Loudoun County Circuit Court. Another option is for you to file a Motion to Rehear/Reopen the case which has to be done within 60 days of the date the finding of guilt was entered. If all of those time periods have...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. Reckless by speed, 80/55, in Loudoun County VA

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Buta Biberaj
    2. Bhavik Dalpat Patel
    3. Timothy Kevin Wilson
    3 lawyer answers

    As my practice is predominantly in Loudoun County and in the areas of criminal and traffic defense, I will try to provide you with information (not advice) as to what "generally" occurs in Loudoun with RD cases. Reckless driving by speed in Virginia can either be by travelling 20 or more miles per hour above the posted speed limit, or by travelling 80 or more miles per hour regardless of the posted speed limit. Your charge of 80/55 is on the cusp of both of those situations where you could...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Last weekend i was in a car accident and recieved a DUI. I wasnt the driver. How do i prove it?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Buta Biberaj
    2. Ted Harvatin
    3. Lars A. Lundeen
    3 lawyer answers

    You need to call an attorney who regularly practices in the jursidiction where you were charged. Although the burden is on the Commonwealth to prove your guilt, you need to know that your statement "I was the driver" will be used against you towards proving that you were in fact the driver. To disprove the commonwealth's case, you will need a lawyer to help you subpoena witnesses (your friend, anyone who saw you two get in the car prior to the accident,etc.) who can help establish the facts...

    Selected as best answer

  8. Can I be expunged from a DUI in West Virginia (1/11/06) while living in Virginia? How do I go about this process?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Kenneth William Jacobson
    2. Brenton Daniel Vincenzes
    3. Buta Biberaj
    3 lawyer answers

    Check out http://www.courtswv.gov/lower-courts/expungement/SCA-C900.pdf. This is the petition that is used by West Virginia. If you were a juvenile for the DUI, there is a separate process but you will have to consult with an Attorney in West Va for advice on that specific matter. If you were an adult at the time of the DUI conviction, it is expressly excluded from the expungement qualification. However, the best thing you can do is consult with a criminal / traffic defense attorney in W....

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. Civil personal injury - Vacate Judgment with Predjuice

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. John Paul Harris III
    2. Buta Biberaj
    3. Christian K. Lassen II
    3 lawyer answers

    Assuming/hoping you were represented by an attorney, your most efficient course of action is contacting your attorney and getting the information. Additionally, you can go to the circuit court clerk's office and get copies of the pleadings and order relating to the dismissal. If neither one of those actions get you the answers, please consult with an attorney to assist you. Good luck.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. What is my situation about the second crime?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Buta Biberaj
    1 lawyer answer

    I am unclear as to what your question is exactly, but will try to provide you some information. If your facts are that you previously were CONVICTED of a shoplifting charge three years ago, and got a second one for stealing less than $25 worth of goods, here are my thoughts: the 2nd charge would be a misdemeanor because of the value being less than $200. I don't know where you are charged (county), but most prosecutors may require you to plead guilty and be found guilty and receive a...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer