James Robert Parrish’s Answers

James Robert Parrish

Manassas Car / Auto Accident Lawyer.

Contributor Level 9
  1. Can my dui keep me from being certified as a physical therapy assistant in virginia beach?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Fitzgerald Lewis
    2. Kevin Michael Duffan
    3. James Robert Parrish
    3 lawyer answers

    It is unlikely that such a conviction would prevent certification. However, it is best to check with the professional occupational regulatory authority within your state. Also, please understand that an employer may refuse to hire you based on such a conviction as it could present a number of insurance issues for the employer.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  2. Dozed off while driving and woke up just before my car hit the dividers. But car was totaled. No loss of life. Implications?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. James Robert Parrish
    2. Gerald Gregory Lutkenhaus
    3. Mitchell Paul Goldstein
    3 lawyer answers

    Reckless Driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor crime in Virginia and you can be charged with this offense based on excessive speed, causing an accident, driving aggressively, or for several other reasons. People charged with this crime face the following penalties: -Up to one (1) year in jail, -Up to $2,500 in fines plus Court costs, and -Up to a Six (6) month driver’s license suspension. If you are convicted of Reckless Driving you will have a permanent criminal record, which could...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  3. I was rearend but don't have insurance is the driver still liable for my damages

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. James Robert Parrish
    2. Mitchell Paul Goldstein
    3. John Mark Cooper
    4. Michael L Saile Jr
    4 lawyer answers

    Most likely. In Virginia, the law basically states that if you are rear-ended while stopped (or nearly stopped), then the other driver is at fault (unless he/she has other evidence to explain why the accident happened like an unexpected brake failure or an unanticipated wet spot on the road). Whether you have insurance or not does not impact the other driver's liability/responsibility for damages he caused to you. I agree with one of the other answering attorneys who indicated that you...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  4. Minors Settlement Needs Honest Answer Please!

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. James Robert Parrish
    2. Benjamin Weaver Glass III
    3. Lars A. Lundeen
    4. Steven Mark Sweat
    4 lawyer answers

    While I don't fully understand your question, I believe you want to know if you can use the settlement funds to buy contact lenses for your son. The short answer is yes. Settlement funds can be used for the health, welfare and education of the child. Accordingly, as long as you keep track of the money you spend for your child's contact lenses, all should be just fine. The response given is not intended to create, nor does it create an attorney-client relationship, nor is it intended to be...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  5. The first time i seen him 2005 not sure on the date of my surgry but jan 2009 the earlest time i seen last seen march 2 2009

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. James Robert Parrish
    2. Joseph A Blaszkow
    3. Alan James Brinkmeier
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with the other responding attorneys in that this situation is far too complex to answer in this forum. However, as general information, in Virginia, you have 2 years from the date of the injury to sue a person for damages. In a medical malpractice situation, that 2 year period can be extended by the "continuing treatment rule," which basically means that the statute of limitations does not begin to run until you stop treating with the medical provider who caused the injury. I strongly...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  6. Can I speak to my arresting officer about dropping my drunk in public ticket?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. James Robert Parrish
    2. Timothy Kevin Wilson
    3. Alan James Brinkmeier
    3 lawyer answers

    It certainly reads like you were in the wrong place at the wrong time with the wrong kind of "friend" and now face a real dilemma. The real question to be answered here is "Should you speak to the officer?" and the short answer is NO. The officer does not have the authority to "drop the charge." Once the charge is issued, the matter is in the hands of the Commonwealth Attorney for your county (in Virginia). Also, anything you tell the officer can be used as evidence against you in Court....

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  7. If information from your drivers license is wrote down on your arrest warrant wrong by the police officer, is the warrant still

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Wilber Thurston Harville
    2. James Robert Parrish
    2 lawyer answers

    Such a minor error would unlikely result in a valid defense to the charge or dismissal of the charge by a Court. This type of mistake is referred to as a "scrivener's error," and is not uncommon. The most effective method of defending criminla charges is through collaboration with an experienced and knowledgeable defense lawyer.

  8. Is there any possibility to get my restricted driving license fully restored if I exhibit an excellent performance in VASAP?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Wilber Thurston Harville
    2. James Robert Parrish
    2 lawyer answers

    Unfortunately, no. If your license has been suspended based on a conviction of DWI in Virginia, then you face a mandatory minimum 1 year period of suspension. A Virginia judge cannot waive or shorten this period of suspension.

  9. Does a summons indicated for traffic court but actually for criminal court still count?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Timothy Kevin Wilson
    2. James Robert Parrish
    2 lawyer answers

    Your type of question is quite common and is the subject of much confusion amongst folks facing these types of charges. Unfortunately for you, the Summons is very likely valid and a Court would likely not dismiss the case based solely on the box checked by the charging law enforcement officer. Of course, this may not be the only error the officer made in your case and you should have an attorney with experience in this area review all of the facts of your situation and represent you in...

  10. What is the penalty for this

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Timothy Kevin Wilson
    2. Brian Daniel Geno
    3. James Robert Parrish
    4. Graven Winslow Craig
    4 lawyer answers

    The Virginia Criminal Code has several different charges relating to "hit and run" and the penalties for each version are different. Your question reads as though you were charged with the Class 1 Misdemeanor version, which means that you face a jail sentence of up to1 year and a fine of up to $2,500. Whenever anyone contacts me who is facing this charge, I always recommend that a veteran defense lawyer be engaged to handle the situation. The response given is not intended to create,...

Call now for a free consultation.

703-906-4229