Lauren Hope Kane’s Reviews

Lauren Hope Kane

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Phenomenal attorney and person

    Posted by Rhonda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 6-12 months ago.
    • Lauren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lauren is both knowledgable and compassionate about family law. She has literally saved me from a horrific divorce. She is down to earth and fair. I know that she cares about my case and about me. It is such a comfort to work with such an awesome person and attorney. I highly recommend her.

  2. Exceptional, Honest, and caring for her clients well being.

    Posted by EdH, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Family matter.

    There are good attorneys and bad attorneys and Lauren Kane is none of the above. Lauren without question is an exceptional attorney. My divorce took 5 years to complete due to a restraining order that was that was falsely filed and the lack of co-operation from the ex-wife. I was very afraid that I would have a hard time hiring an honest and capable attorney to take my case due to the stigma attached to a domestic violence restraining order. She did not say "this is what we are going to do to get your out of this", instead she said "give me all the facts, a history of your marriage, along with documentation then we will decide if we will work together". Lauren believed in me when no one else would. I retained Lauren in July of 2012 and after 20 months of working together I can say without any reservation that she is the one I needed to get me through the before, during, and after, of my very difficult divorce. I have a disability that keeps me from operating a motor vehicle which makes it difficult and expensive to get around using a taxi cab. Lauren went out of her way to meet me at a restaurant near my home when we needed to meet face to face. That in itself says volumes about, not only her professionalism, but caring about her client’s well being. She has put in hours for me that I consider above and beyond the call of duty. At first when I didn’t hear from her for quite some time I became concerned as to what was happening. I called and she let me know that if she didn’t call things were A-OK because she didn’t want to add unwarranted time to my bill. She actually spent well over an hour with me and several of my family members and she did not charge me for the time. Lauren gave me my life back and I will never forget that. I am going to need an attorney again soon to finish up some after the fact issues of the divorce and I guarantee that Lauren H. Kane will be right there beside me.

  3. A legal source of "hope"!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lauren defies the stereotype of the "crooked lawyer." She is tough but compassionate, aggressive but professional and honest--with her clients and the opposition. She is readily accessible via phone, text and email and responsive--even on weekends! She knows the law and is detail-oriented. She is an excellent writer and a strong litigator. Moreover, Lauren cares about her clients: you will not simply be a source of billable hours to her. She is not a fee churner. If having an experienced, strong advocate is important to you, but equally so is maintaining your personal integrity throughout your legal process, Lauren is the family law attorney to hire. I recommend her highly.

  4. Having the right lawyer!

    Posted by Laura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren more than 3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used google to find a lawyer to help me with my divorce.
    After reading about Lauren H Kane, I knew that she would be the right person to help with my case.
    It should have been a very straight forward non contest case, but unfortunately it did not turn out that way.
    Before Lauren took my case - she was very clear in asking me if there was any chance of a reconciliation, as this was something not to be taken lightly. I explained that the marriage was definitely over - but it struck me then that Lauren was the right person for my case - and her belief in marriage was very strong.
    Lauren took on my case and filed a non-contest divorce. Based on the fact that there were no children involved and just house, cars and pensions to settle, this should have been quite straight forward. However my ex felt he deserved much more (since we had been married 24 years). Lauren explained to me that because of the length of marriage, he was entitled, but she would fight for a reasonable outcome.
    This is where Lauren really shined. 3 long years of back and forth finally came to an end in April 2013.
    Lauren showed compassion for my situation - a female earning good money, and a soon to be ex trying to get as much money out of the marriage as he could.
    Lauren was professional but also very compassionate - she would ensure that I was kept informed every step of the way. We had regular calls where she would clearly explain to me what was happening and more importantly why it was happening.
    Soon after hiring Lauren I moved to New York City, but the distance did not cause any issues with the communication.
    Lauren's deep knowledge of the law in this subject helped protect me and my assets - my ex was trying to take as much of my pensions and assets as he could. We came in front of a judge a few times and Lauren would always make sure I understood what was happening as well as look after my well being in court.
    There were many occassions in court where the opposing lawyer did not prepare or provide court ordered documents - Lauren was sure to point out to the judge that we had always been compliant and always provided everything that was ordered. this acutally helped in the final settlement hearing. It was unfortunate that my ex would not agree upon the terms we had prepared, so finally a judge had to make the decision for us.
    The fact that Lauren was so thorough and we left no stone unturned, made the judges decision far easier. My ex was claiming alimony, but had failed to submit 1 single document out of 17 that were ordered by the court.
    I am so glad that I did not have his lawyer!
    Based on this, Lauren appealed to the judge (I told Lauren I needed this to be over) - she managed to get a settlement decision and I did not have to pay the alimony that my ex was seeking.
    It was so exhausting and frustrating, but Lauren would always keep focused and would talk to me (calm me down) and help me understand what the situation was.
    I cannot thank Lauren enough for getting me through a very traumatic time.
    You see, I am an expat with no family in the USA, so I really had no one but my lawyer - and I am so glad I found Lauren. The nightmare is over now (April 2013) and I am able to continue my life knowing my future is protected thanks to her.
    I would recommend Lauren to anyone considering divorce.

  5. review

    Posted by Tom, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lauren Kane is the best the lawyer's lawyer and I am surprised that she hasn't been picked to sit as a judge. Makes sure that you get your money's worth and then some. If I ever need another lawyer again, it will most definitely be Lauren H. Kane.

    TC

  6. Worked hard, got results!

    Posted by Cathy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lauren was extremely responsive to our needs. She fought hard to get us exactly what we wanted. She is extremely smart and can think on her feet. Nothing phased her - ever. No matter what the other lawyer pulled, she was ready for it. She knew the judges, and she knows every aspect of the law. I've never had anyone work so hard for me in any area of my life. She kept us informed on a minute-by-minute basis and made us feel like a valued member of her team as we prepared for trial. Lauren was recommended as "the best in Philly," and, having seen her in action, I couldn't agree more!

  7. More than just a lawyer

    Posted by Michael, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I initially called Lauren for a question that delt with an issue I was still going through with daycare payments that was still being withdrawn from my check although my son is close to 16 years of age. She listened and gave me advice. This was on her time and did not charge. A few weeks past and I received court dates for matters of custody and child support. I was devastated as I've been overpaying for years. I've gone to court twice before and left with my tail between my legs. I hired Lauren and it was like hiring a big brother (or sister) to protect you. I never felt safer than when we went for a hearing and she fought for everything that I was due for. She didn't miss any issues and actually lowered my monthly child support. She was professional, tough, knowledgeable and thorough. I can't say enough about her (as you can see). My advice, give her a call. Explain your situation to her. She's willing to listen. Don't make a mistake and think you can do things yourself like I did. She has a long career and it shows why when you see her in action. She is more than just a lawyer, she is someone who will make you believe that life is worth living again.

  8. The best lawyer I have ever had with a special case as mine since I was not present at the hearing since I'm in Arizona.

    Posted by Carl, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren more than 3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Since she was refered by a friend in 2004, She represented me with deligence and integrity. She understood my emotions since I was a wreck and advised me of the situation that made me feel at ease. I was relocated to Arizona and unable to be at all the hearings due to the expenses and kept well informed and saved me money and time off work and most of all ease of mind. I would recommend her to anyone seeking representation. Thank you very much Lauren H. Kane attorney at law.

  9. Great Lawyer and person

    Posted by Rich, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren more than 3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have known Lauren H. Kane for over ten years. She worked on my child custody case, as well as, reffering a personal injury lawyer for me. She is very professioal and timely and keeps you informed on everything that is going on. If not for Lauren, I know I would not have made out as well as I did in my custody battle. That case lasted a total of 9 years!! Her refferal for my personal injury case, Richard P. Haaz, had me awarded over 1 million dollars in damages. I can't say enough good things about Ms. Kane. I can't believe anyone would have any negative comments about her or her work.

  10. Lauren Kane is an exceptional!

    Posted by A, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Kane.
    • I hired Lauren more than 3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Lauren is exceptional! Lauren has done such a great job that my now ex-wife (the defendant) has tried to slander her name in retaliation to the results of the proceedings. Lauren knows court procedures all too well and is capable of managing the most difficult cases with highest grade of professional expertise. Lauren is by far the best attorney that represented me or any other person that I know. The proof is in the results. Lauren aggressively sought to bring fairness to the court room for me and my children. There were times during the build up to the proceedings that I felt it was me against the whole system .. the world even. Soon after I expressed this to Lauren I felt as though she was the only person I could cout on to support me in this conflict. Her strong backing and expertise enabled me to receive joint custody, retain my home with no buyout, pay no child support, no alimony, and better yet have a piece of mind of knowing that if my emotionally disturbed ex created more issues that I could count on Lauren's assistance in the future. She has proven that she is a great attorney. I keep a very small circle of trust and I trust Lauren Kane. I consider Lauren Kane a friend for life!

    Appreciative Client and now Friend