Sheryl R Rentz’s Reviews

Sheryl R Rentz

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Absolutely amazing

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sheryl went above and beyond for me right from the start. I had to get an emergency PFA at midnight, and the next morning I called her having read some of these reviews. I was scared, I had no idea what to do; Sheryl was so kind and reassuring, I hung up the phone after speaking to her just once and actually had hope. She ended up breezing through my case flawlessly, couldn't ask for more attention to detail and communication from an attorney. She made me feel safe and protected the entire time. I could not imagine anyone better.

  2. Hire Sheryl

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Child Custody matter.

    I thought I had a difficult case. But after meeting with Sheryl, she broke down the case we will prepared step by step. I was prepared for court and I won. Exactly what I wanted. I was confident in her ability.

  3. A Great Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Sheryl is an excellent attorney. She has represented me for over ten years in a divorce case that seems never-ending. Emotions run high in a divorce case on both sides of the table. First and foremost, Sheryl has always advised me on what was legally best for my children and me. Many times Sheryl has indicated that it's not worth going back to court; it's not worth filing that document; it's not worth getting in that fight. I've never felt that she is doing things to run up a bill.

    Sheryl family law experience brings clarity and reality to situations. She is a skilled negotiator and trial lawyer. I've worked with many lawyers in my professional career and what I value most is communication. I have never found Sheryl inaccessible except when she's in front of a judge. A quick email or a phone call to her astute office staff can always clarify when Sheryl can get back to you. I can always count on her to communicate via a quick email, text, or phone call seven days a week 24 hours a day.

    I highly recommend Sheryl for any family law situations. She is a great attorney.

  4. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by David, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was lucky to find Sheryl. She listened to my implausible story and helped my children and I through a difficult and contentious custody battle which never quite seems to end. Every time an issue arises she has been there. Lawyers don't make for the easiest clients. I am very grateful that she tolerates me so well. Highly recommend her.

  5. The best

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She reviewed with me all my options, prepared me for court and got great results. She knew my case . I would highly recommend her

  6. Eh... Wish I'd had a different attorney.... best description... Shoddy.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sheryl handled a PFA in conjunction with a divorce case for me. Sheryl COULD have told me that I qualified for free PFA representation through the county's non-profit agencies, but despite knowing that money was very tight, she didn't bother telling me this, instead choosing to bill me at $200 - $225/hour.

    While sitting in court, waiting for our case to be called, she was busily texting and emailing from her smartphone on other cases... but she billed me for travel time to & from the court, as well as the time sitting in court that she was working on other cases. I don't know if she billed the clients for the texting and emailing while sitting in court waiting for my case to be heard, so I can't claim that she was definitely double-billing.... but I know she billed me for absolutely everything she or her staff did... including times when she was waiting in court for other people's cases.

    Her office documents were sloppy, in some cases not even getting our names correct as well as other basic facts. When I pointed this out to her staff the first time, they billed me for the time it took them to correct and resend the documents. The next time I found incorrect names and spelling errors on a document her office emailed me, I fixed the entire document myself and sent it back to them. They "re-reviewed" it and sent it back to me - and billed me for their re-review time. If they would have gotten names and facts correct in the first place, they wouldn't have had to re-bill me. Honestly, I felt cheated - her office turned out incorrect work and I had to pay more for that? And the same thing occurred with some documents she sent to the courts, where they returned the documents for being improperly filed and/or incorrectly done. I got billed again for that too. She does know the law - that much I do acknowledge - but the shoddiness of her document preparations cost me quite a bit more than it should have.

    Thankfully, my then-soon-to-be-ex-spouse was willing to negotiate with me directly on what settlement I should pay him, so I didn't have to pay Sheryl for that as well. I believe I actually negotiated a better settlement than she would have been able to.

    The icing on the cake was that I needed to provide a copy of the divorce decree to my employer within 30 days of the divorce. Sheryl got the copy sent to her from the courthouse and essentially held it for ransom - would not allow me a copy until my legal bills were paid in full. She didn't care that I was trying to comply with a condition of the benefit plans from my employer, whether I actually had the money or not, nor that if I didn't present that document to my employer within 30 days, that it would have a direct negative effect for me.

    I think this relatively straightforward, uncontested divorce, with no issues of child support, child custody and no issues of spousal support/alimony - cost in the neighborhood of $10,000 in legal bills with her.

  7. Very helpful

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Rentz was very helpful and knowledgeable. She kept in contact with me and helped me with a difficult situation. I felt I was in very good hands.

  8. Amazing

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She returned all emails and telephone calls promptly and advicated actively for me. I knew I had someoen in my corner

  9. Horrible lawyer - not prepared - professional or worth the money

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sheryl Rentz.
    • I hired Sheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheryl handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A horrible attorney. Was a friend of a friend...DO your research. She sent out information without fact checking and often without spell checking. She does not pay attention to detail or her clients. She kept telling me she was a bulldog...I got a kitty cat. She was ineffective and a huge waste of money. She bills without explanation - they are vague and unsubstantiated. She is a terrible attorney and I would never recommend her to anyone!

866-290-9292