Douglas J Smillie’s Reviews

Douglas J Smillie

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. They don't get much better

    Posted by Jim, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Doug is one of the best attorneys I have ever worked with. He was always on top of every aspect of my case, explaining options and strategies. I have used other lawyers in his firm and have received the same......They don't get much better !

  2. Referring Attorney's review of Doug Smillie

    Posted by Dan, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have retained many attorneys all over the world, including many at the largest and best known firms. Doug is one of the best lawyers I have used. He is also a very decent, honest person. I can recommend him without qualification. The work he did on our matter was nothing short of extraordinary. The result justified this assessment.

  3. Corp. Sec.

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I

  4. Chief Operating Officer

    Posted by jim, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Doug handled an age discrimination case for us in a very competent and professional manner. Obviously we won the case or I would not be recommending him.

  5. Client Review

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was accused of patent infringement and unfair business practices.
    Doug was very comforting, timely in his responses and very knowledgeable. (We won the case).
    I would highly recommend Doug.

  6. Outstanding Professional

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As a creditor, I routinely work with Doug on both Bankruptcy, and Creditors' rights matters.
    He has a vast knowledge of the law, including the Bankruptcy Reform Act.
    Doug handles all cases expeditiously, and is always accessible.
    He is a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend him.

  7. Solid

    Posted by a Commercial Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was referred to Doug by a counsel that I used in a bankruptcy proceeding. Worked with him for about 2 years on that issue. After that we worked on a OGM purchase. I would continue to use him except that I moved to a different state.
    In both situations Doug's advice was always right on, very professional and prompt. I go nuts when I don't get a quick response, Doug always provided that.
    To summarize, everything that I worked with Doug on we succeded in either winning on the issue at hand or defeating the other party.

  8. Glad Doug was on our side of the courtroom

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Doug represented our newly formed company in a case that would determine its ability to continue existence. It was Doug's first litigation in Lehigh County Court and my first time in a courtroom.
    The contrast between Doug's performance and that of the plaintiff's Philadelphia attorney was astounding. Doug was well prepared for each court appearance in a highly technical case and routinely caught opposing counsel off guard. He was articulate and professional in his questioning and won favor with the judge in the first few hours in the courtroom. Our victory in the case was documented in a nine page Court opinion that recounted Doug's successes in every facet of the case.
    Doug Smillie is a first class litigator.

  9. Top Notch Bankruptcy Lawyer

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smillie.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Doug lead me through one of the most difficult times of my life that resulted in a most satifactory outcome. I would highly recommend Doug and his firm to anyone who asked.