Richard Croak’s Reviews

Richard Croak

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Small Business Owner in Kinderhook, New York

    Posted by FL, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A few years ago, I found myself in the unfortunate situation to have to seek bankruptcy protection, first for my business and not long after that followed by personal bankruptcy. After having spoken with two or three bankruptcy lawyers, whose approach was one that made me even more uncomfortable than I already was, I picked an ad from the Yellow Pages that stated "There is life after debt".
    The first thing that struck me about Mr. Croak during our initial meeting was his ability to make his client comfortable in an extremely uncomfortable situation. His approach was exceptionally professional but personable at the same time. Mr. Croak made the process clear for a lay person. After I decided to hire Mr. Croak the process was, though agonizing, executed in a way that deserves my utmost respect.
    The major creditor in the business bankruptcy was the same creditor in the personal bankruptcy and in both case they brought in hostile attorneys. To this day, I am in awe of Mr. Croak's ability to counter several unjust occurrences with extreme poise. His knowledge of the bankruptcy laws and procedures are apparent in his approach. Both cases were discharged after which I was able to reconstruct both my business as well as personal life. I highly recommend Mr. Croak

  2. Like a great teacher, Guides you on path to figure things out

    Posted by Tony, a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • Richard handled my Debt / Lending Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Richard Croak has a way of leading you to the right answer by asking you the right questions. He is intelligent, caring, and knowledgeable. He helped me realize what my options were on an old negative amortization mortgage loan, and led me to how to figure out expected reset payments amounts which opened and corrected my mind on teh subject.
    Thank you Richard!

  3. Mr Croak is the best by far

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr CroaK When I needed some finiacial assitance,He walked me thru the Bankruptcy procedding as well as home forclosure prevention.He is very polite very knowledgeable.I would encourage you to seek his help if you need it

  4. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Croak demonstrated a genuine interest in helping me in a time of great need. I was extremely nervous and he made me feel comfortable and relaxed. He demonstrated empathy to my situation and was not judgemental. I am confident in recommending his expertise to any client.

  5. was a great help in getting me back on track with my financial situation

    Posted by Walt, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i found myself in a bad financial situation and Mr Croak was a great help in finding some light at the end of a pretty dark financial tunnel.I would recommend his services to any one who finds themselves in the same situation.

  6. Very Good Lawyer

    Posted by Martin, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very good attorney. Efficient office. Does everything for you. He made the process easy. I would highly recommend these people. PS they were by far the least expensive

  7. Took money from hard-working single mom and never performed services he was hired for.

    Posted by Tia, a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He took money from me to lift a bankruptcy stay so that I could pursue my ex-husband for court ordered spousal support and this lawyer never performed the services he was hired for, dodged phone calls, gave excuses and after nearly a year and countless phone calls, I have not received a single piece of paper from him stating that he did anything for me other than take my money (did not even get a receipt for payment other than my cancelled check). I would never recommend this guy for anything.

  8. Helped me out of a bad place

    Posted by Jack from Latham, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used another lawyer first who got me in deep trouble. Rick took over and was able to put things right.

  9. Great Character

    Posted by Donna G, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He could have told me taht there was nothing he could do for me or taken my money but didn't. he reached out to another human being with helpful advice when he didn't have to. He affected my life in a positive way/

  10. Great attorney very knowledgeable.

    Posted by Bill, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Croak.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great attorney very knowledgeable. Had seen several lawyers before him was told I could not file for bankruptcy. But he was able to overcome all the problems I had in just two weeks. Would never use anyone else.

518-690-4410