Garret Patrick Rooney’s Reviews

Garret Patrick Rooney

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Above & Beyond

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Rooney was very knowledgeable regarding NYS DWI laws. He has an excellent court room present & is a fantastic trial attorney. I am confident anyone would be pleased with his ability to represent them in all area's of the law.

  2. DWI Trial

    Posted by Paul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Rooney just finished my DWI trial in Long Beach and on 7/21/14 the jury found me not guilty of all charges. Mr. Rooney fought very hard for me. I owe my future to him. Anyone charged with a DWI should retain him. It has been 2 long years but he never gave up on me.

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 6-12 months ago.
    • Garret handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Garret Rooney to help me with a DWI arrest. The District Attorney would not offer me a reduced charge because I was under 21, I was involved in an accident trying out my friend' scar and I refused to take the breath test. Garret went over all of my options and I'm glad I followed his advice. We went to trial and I was found innocent.

  4. Best Attorney medical malpractice

    Posted by Robert, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    Mr. Garret P. Rooney helped me when I was misdiagnosed and sent home by a hospital when I was really injured. I could have died from my injuries. Garret is the finest attorney I know, and he is also a caring, good-hearted, respectable person. He is just a "regular guy" which I mean as an enormous compliment. He is an asset to the legal community and his reputation is impeccable. He treated me, and represented me, as he would have done if I was his brother (we have the same last name but we aren't related). Garret is someone I can trust, caring more about others than himself. I wish more people, not just attorneys, were like Garret. He really cares.

  5. GREAT DWI LAWYER

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Rooney by a friend after I had met with two other lawyers. I was pulled over and arrested for DWI. The DA would not offer a plea bargain because they claimed I blew a .17 when I was pulled over and tested on the side of the road, and then blew a .13 at the police precinct. The other lawyers I spoke with seemed to be trying to convince me that I would be found guilty of DWI, a crime, and they would try to reduce probation (3years) if possible. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME EVER IN TROUBLE!!! Mr. Rooney took the time to sit with me and go over everything, not rushing to judgment, but rather making me feel as comfortable and confident (in this unfortunate predicament) that he would do the absolute best he could for me. I also have an uncle who is a police officer in Nassau County, and when he found out about my arrest he was glad that I was being represented by Garret Rooney. My uncle told me he knew Mr. Rooney and he is the best attorney he knows, especially for DWI. Mr. Rooney fought very hard for me, even when the DA said there would be no plea bargaining Mr. Rooney kept fighting. At the hearings (before trial) Mr. Rooney was able to question the officer who pulled me over, and the officer at the precinct who did further tests on me. I was amazed as I watched Mr. Rooney question these officers, pointing out all the things they did wrong, all the things they didn't do, all the things they didn't know. A couple of weeks after the hearings we were back in court and the DA finally offered a plea bargain to driving while impaired which is not a crime. I could tell the DA didn't want to make this offer but it was obvious, as others have stated, he was no match for Mr. Rooney. I decided, very happily, to accept the plea bargain. Now I will not have a criminal record. The impaired charge is just a violation, like a ticket. I don't have to go to probation, no chance of jail (although Mr. Rooney assured me I wouldn't do any jail on my first charge with the .13 and one ticket for speeding), nor any of the other penalties/requirements that I would have had if I chose one of the other lawyers. I know this is a long post but I can't say enough about Mr. Rooney and I am very lucky that I had him on my side. Anyone arrested for DWI, or anything, would be crazy not to hire, or at least meet with, Mr. Rooney. Also, he has an office in Mineola. He is the best lawyer and I will recommend him to everyone I know.

  6. Criminal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret more than 3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I made some very stupid mistakes as a young man. I was arrested for possession of a controlled substance with intent to sell. Due to the weight and purity I was looking at a long time in prison. I had met with 3 different lawyers who said there wasnt too much they could do, at the very best 5 yrs. Mr. Rooney was very honest and up front with me prior to hiring him. He saw in me more then what the court system did. He fought for me and was able to get a plea deal that included no jail. I would no be where I am today without his help. He is much more then a lawyer. I would recommend him to anyone!

  7. Divorce

    Posted by Regina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Mr. Rooney for my divorce. He was extremely calming, compassionate and professional. His attention to detail was extraordinary in terms of attaining the settlement I desired. He exceeded all expectations and I had previously hired two other lawyers. He surpassed a previous former District Attorney that I had hired. You will be heard and respected during any legal process. He is versed in all legal matters and can handle a wide variety of cases. I highly recommend him. He is fair but fierce in court yet has a gentle manner when dealing with his client. I cannot say enough about the Quality of this Professional. You will be pleased!

  8. Best lawyer

    Posted by Brody, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret 1-3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Garret Rooney to defend me in a wrongly accused robbery. He made sure I was treated fairly in the percent and went back to long island from Brooklyn twice in one day to be present for my court case. This showed me how compassionate and professional Garret is with his work. I am currently attending court with Garret as my attorney and he always keeps me updated with my case. I recommend Garret to anyone who needs a lawyer he is very devoted to his profesion.

  9. Awesome Criminal Attorney

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret more than 3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Rooney to assist my daughter with her charges of DWI and Assault. Mr. Rooney resolved the case during trial with a plea bargain which was beyond the DA's office guidelines. Every attorney I spoke with told me that my daughter would just have to plead guilty and nothing could be done. Mr. Rooney proved all of them wrong.

  10. Great DWI Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garret Rooney.
    • I hired Garret more than 3 years ago.
    • Garret handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Garret P. Rooney reperesented me in an unfortunate DWI situation. He was very receptive and informatve. He is the consummate professional. I highly recommend him to anyone involved in a legal matter. He knew more than the police officers about the testing, how it is to be performed, clues to look for and so on. The district attorney tried to force me into taking a plea, threatening to add more charges if i went to trial. Mr. Rooney was vey professional, handled all pre-trial hearings and conducted the trial. The jury came back with an acquittal (not guilty) on all charges. It was clear that the district attorney, as well as the police, were no match for Mr. Rooney. If you ever find yourself in trouble I recommend calling him at 516-248-1200