Robert Michael Vella’s Reviews

Robert Michael Vella

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. STAY AWAY!!!!

    Posted by Harry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I originally reviewed Mr. Vella several years ago at "HIS" request. Considering the fact that he was handling my divorce, I gave him a good review in hopes that he would do a good job or at least treat me with some consideration or at least decency. Nothing could be further from the truth. He is unresponsive and his work is sloppy. Talks a good game and is very personable. However, once he has been paid, and it's time to produce, he puts you on the back burner. He will NEVER return calls, texts or emails without threatening to fire him. Even then, his responses are nothing but empty promises. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND A LOT OF AGGRAVATION STAY AWAY!!!!!

  2. Couldn't ask for more

    Posted by Christopher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bob was recommended to me by a mutual associate to handle my divorce. Today I recommended him to a personel friend. I was represented and treated in a compleatly professional manner. He kept me calm and focused and looking at the big picture when at times I was seeing red and not thinking very clear. Bob always got back to me in a timely fashion and his secretary Theresa always took the time to listen to my concerns and help me with what she could. He also worked with me financially during a tough time. Extreamly happy with the results am now moving foward.

  3. Lawyer wth experience and heart

    Posted by Lorraine, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.

    Robert Vella represented me for several years for post-divorce hearings. Post our last hearing almost a year now, he still represents me for legal communications. I highly recommend Robert Vella.

    Rob is incredibly knowledgeable about the law, court system and highly respected within the system. It felt good to have him at my side as we walked into family court. He was always present and never sent another office attorney in his place. His Legal Assistance is professional and very responsible. If Rob was in court she made sure i knew when to expect a return call, and he always did.

    He put my children first and treated my case as if my children were family. Rob was compassionate and understanding of my grave financial situation and never pressured me financially. His actions are always heartfelt and never wavier. His follow through is stellar. I trusted him 100% and still do. He was always honest even when it hurts and kept me relaxed and focused.

    Court outcomes are sometimes unpredictable and you need to be flexible with the legal give and take, and open to compromise. Rob NEVER EVER gave in when it mattered most! And for this I am extremely grateful, grateful for life!

  4. "WHY DIVORCE LAWYERS ARE NOT TRUSTED"

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Shame on the bar association for allowing Robert Vella to continue his law practice. Vella accepted my $5,000. for an uncontested divorce. It is almost 2 years and have still not received a divorce. Here is what else I DID NOT RECEIVE: I did not receive a retainer, returned phone calls, itemized bills, emails or written correspondences, or my divorce. Here is what I DID RECEIVE FROM HIM: False promises, lies, unethical behavior, aggravation, medical expenses due to the stress he is causing me, rude conduct, and a well trained staff who follows his lead.— Through misrepresenting himself I paid him $5,000 and now have to find another attorney.

  5. What an amazing and dynamic team

    Posted by Theresa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Robert Vella and his Legal Assistant Theresa were professional, responsive and brilliant. Their sense of urgency dealing with my matter was suburb. My divorce was handled quickly and professionally. I thought my divorce would never be finalized and then I contacted Robert Vella's office and they assured me that all necessary steps would be taken care of promptly and efficiently. They were delightful to work with. Not only were they professional but they added that personal touch that really makes a difference in dealing with such matters. It was a pleasure dealing with them both.

  6. MINEOLA'S BEST DEFENSE

    Posted by KRISTINE, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    MR VELLA IS AN EXTREMELY FAIR AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ATTORNEY. MY CASE WAS DIFFICULT IN SO MANY WAYS AND MR VELLA KEPT ME CALM AND FOCUSED WHEN I WAS COMING APART. THERE WERE MANY OBSTACLES, HOWEVER, THAT I FELT MIGHT HAVE BEEN HANDLED DIFFERENTLY, BUT THE BATTLE WOULD HAVE GONE ON FOREVER IF I HAD ACTED ON EMOTION AND NOT RATIONALITY. I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND MR VELLA.

  7. Highly reccomended

    Posted by a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.

    Outstanding attorney who is deeply caring for his client and kept me infromed as my case progressed. Very smart when it comes to knowing the law. Family man and a pleasant person.

  8. Mr Vella

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.

    Great attorney, he is very trustworthy and definitely goes out of his way to help out his clients. I highly recommend Mr Vella. Was not expecting the outcome of my case and I am very thankful that everything wound up being okay.

  9. Honest. Professional Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Andrew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have know Robert for over 35 years now and he has been my attorney for 20 of them. He has done various amounts of legal work for my family and i and with superior results. It was always a pleasure to deal with him and his staff in getting our legal issues solved. Robert has not only done my house closings and business openings, but he has handled my family's cases as well. He has always answered our questions quickly and honestly and was always available when we needed him. I recently went through a divorce and would only choose Robert to represent me during my difficult time. I would encourage anyone who needed legal advice in any subject to contact Robert, i'm sure he'll do an excellent job representing them.

  10. An excellent attorney.

    Posted by Michael, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Vella.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Fraud matter.

    When a prospective client leaves an attorneys office with a feeling of confidence and peace of mind it is such a relief and stress has been lifted. This is how i felt after a consultation with Mr. Robert Vella.His expertise, compassion and demenor made me feel that I had discussed my problems with a friend.He quickly and profesional resolved the problem and more importantly my state of mind. I would highly recommend him.

516-873-8788