Skip to main content
Matthew Jay Weiss

Matthew Weiss’s Answers

317 total


  • I have a sc drivers license and got a speeding ticket , saying I was going 76 in a 55 (town Colton,ny,can I get reduced

    I do not have any thing on my license and will there share info with sc

    Matthew’s Answer

    This ticket carries 6 points, roughly a $200 fine, a $300 Driver Assessment Fee and could lead to an insurance hike. Therefore you should plead not guilty and fight this speeding ticket. Feel free to call me if you have any further questions.

    See question 
  • I just received what I feel was a ridiculous reckless driving citation in Brooklyn.

    I was following an unmarked squad with 3 officers inside through the housing projects in Red Hook, and they slowed to the point where they were only going 5-10 mph. Believing they were going to stop, I went ahead and went around them on a surface ...

    Matthew’s Answer

    Because reckless driving is a criminal offense (misdemeanor), carries 5 points and can adversely affect your insurance rates, we strongly encourage you to fight this ticket. Further, given its seriously, you consult with (if not hire) an experienced traffic lawyer. Feel free to call us for a free consultation. My Avvo rating is 10 and my firm handle reckless driving cases regularly.

    See question 
  • Are the 2 points given for violation 1110(a) in New York state will be applied to a Florida driver's license?

    X

    Matthew’s Answer

    A NY 1110a conviction will transfer onto your Florida license. Therefore, you may want to fight it. Feel free to call me for a free consultation.

    See question 
  • Do I need a lawyer for a reckless driving charges?

    I was pulled over because I Apparantly failed to keep right over the double lines. When asked to step out of the car I obligated, but couldn't walk towards the officer because I have Stiff Man's Sydrome similar to MS. He accused me of inotixated d...

    Matthew’s Answer

    Because reckless driving is a criminal offense (misdemeanor), carries 5 points and can adversely affect your insurance rates, we strongly encourage you to fight this ticket. Further, given its seriously, you consult with (if not hire) an experienced traffic lawyer.

    We can help. Our firm has handled literally 100s of these types of cases.

    See question 
  • Last week i was given a ticket for making a left turn or disobeying a no left turn sign it was raining i avoided and accident

    need to know if anyone can help me i have a commercial license it happened in new York city

    Matthew’s Answer

    This ticket carries 2 points and roughly a $150 fine.

    Fighting a ticket in New York City is difficult because there is no plea bargaining. I have provided a link to an article that will help you better under NYC's unique adjudication process.

    See question 
  • I was in an at fault accident in which I recieved a ticket, what should I do especially since I already could loose my license?

    I have had traffic violations resulting 11 points moslty for speeding or red light violations. This accident I recieved a ticket for following to closely to another vehicle,in which I wasn't the car just would not stop as I tried to stop and hit a...

    Matthew’s Answer

    Your tailgating ticket carries 4 points and roughly a $200 fine. You should therefore fight it (especially given your point problems). Before your court date, you should take a NY Driver Safety Class which will remove 4 points from your license. You should also consult with (if not hire) an experienced NY Traffic Ticket lawyer.

    See question 
  • I got a ticket for doing 89 on a 65 zone on the I87 in ulster county, what's my best and worst outcome if I fight the ticket?

    I had a radar detector that went off waaaay too late b ut the cop did say that I slowed down quickly. He wrote that he observed me speeding and then got me on a lazer. All of my details were entered correctly. Also, I'm a canadian with an onta...

    Matthew’s Answer

    Because a NY conviction will transfer onto your Ontario license as demerit points, I recommend that you plead not guilty. If you do, you or your NY traffic lawyer most likely can negotiate this 6-point ticket (4 Ontario demerit points) down to a less serious saving you points as well as the $300 Driver Assessment Fee (and possibly avoid your auto insurance rates going up). When hiring a traffic lawyer make sure that he or she is familiar with the Ontario demerit system as it is very possible for you to end up with 0 demerit points.

    See question 
  • I have a hearing at TVB in Happauge for a speeding ticket. I need to get a copy of the ticket as the original got damaged.

    Do I reach out to the TVB then?

    Matthew’s Answer

    When you go to court, you can ask the judge for a copy. More importantly, you should re-schedule this case as long as possible. This court is changing procedures, locations and personnel in April, 2013 and the new court will be much better for you to obtain a favorable result.

    See question 
  • Postponed the original hearing at TVB/happauge for the 1st time, when would it be too late to contact a lawyer to wk on my case

    This would be for a speeding traffic ticket. I postponed the hearing myself. Does this jeopardize my ability to get a lawyer?

    Matthew’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    A lawyer who handles a lot of traffic matters can cover most cases with only a few days notice. However, because there are major changes occurring at the Suffolk traffic court, you should talk with an experienced traffic lawyer as soon as possible. This is a difficult place to fight a ticket and having a knowledgeable attorney is definitely worthwhile.

    See question 
  • Got a 6 pt speeding ticket in suffolk county NY. How many times can I postpone the hearing/court scheduled date?

    trying to postpone this as long as I can. I pleaded NG.

    Matthew’s Answer

    You can re-schedule the first time online (the day before the hearing). Thereafter, you can re-scheudle in person. You should be able to get 1 or 2 more adjournments beyond the original one. Keep in mind that the Court will impose a $40 bond for your second (or third) adjournment. This bond is refunded if you win or applied towards the fine if you lose. The only way you can lose with a bond is if you fail to appear as scheduled. Because this court is changing how it handles cases in April 2003, you should definitely push this out beyond this date.

    See question