Brian Le Bon Calpin’s Reviews

Brian Le Bon Calpin

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Kept me out of jail.

    Posted by Pete, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I faced a serious charge. First went with public defender. He said I'd go to prison. Then I hired Mr. Calpin. He got me probation and I'm out on the street. HIGHLY RECCOMEND!

  2. RUN THE OTHER WAY FIND DIFFERENT LAWYER

    Posted by Barbara, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.

    WENT TO HIM FOR A LEGAL MATTER DEALING WITH FAMILY LAW. HE TOOK MY CASE AND A CHECK FOR 300.00 . FIRST COURT DATE HE WAS NOT ALLOWED TO REPRESENT ME BECAUSE HE HAD NOT FILED A MOTION TO DO SO . BUT HE TOOK MY MONEY WENT IN COURT TALKED TO DYFS CAME OUT OF COURT ROOM AND TOLD ME WHAT I ALREADY KNEW THAT DYFS HAD TOLD HIM THEY WERE GOING FOR TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RITES. ( I AM CARING FOR GRANDSON /FOSTER ) THEN I GO BACK TO HIM I WAS TAKEN BACK THAT HE HAD TAKEN 300.00 DOLLARS JUST TO WALK IN PRIOR TO COURT TALK TO DYFS LAWYER . ON MY NEXT VISIT TO HIM HE TELLS ME HE NEEDS TO FILE A MOTION TO INTERVENE AND THAT WOULD BE 250.00 AND THE APPEARANCE ANTOTHER 300. WELL HE NEVER STEPPED FOOT INCOURT FOR ME AGAIN AFTER HAVING TAKEN MY MONEY AND WHEN I WENT TO HIM HE TOLD ME AND ALSO TOLD ME VIA EMAIL I NEVER PAID HIM SO I SENT HIM VIA TEXT E-MAIL AND USPS COPIES OF CHECKS GIVEN TO HIM FOR SERVICES HE DID NOT RENDER. HE HAS NEVER ANSWERED ANY CALLS EMAILS SINCE FEBRUARY.

  3. Plain and simple, HORRIBLE

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Brian calpin a few years ago for a divorce. After I payed him his retainer fee, he disappeared off the face of the earth. Finally after many,many attempts to contact him he would call back, but was clueless as to what was going on. Which btw from what I understand, that lack of communication is malpractice. Even the little effort he did make was laughable. Motions, cross motions and basically any and all documents were vague and POORLY written. He left many things hanging in the balance that are still haunting me to this day. In the courtroom he sat slumped in his chair and said not one word on my behalf, which there was definately ample moments that he should have reacted. I could go on and on but, I think you get the idea. I seriously was considering suing and/or taking steps with the NJ BAR ASSOC. concernng this matter. I would NEVER RECOMEND BRIAN CALPIN to anyone. I dont know Brian personally, but as a lawyer, it is my opinion he is INCOMPETENT.

  4. The good, the bad and the ugly

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Based on the professional service he rendered, I can rate Mr. Calpin highly. However, he is sometimes difficult to contact. I have been reaching out to him for several months in order to finalize my divorce settlement but, he has not returned any of my calls or emails. I need to speak with him so, if anyone knows where he is, please advise. Failing these final attempts to contact Mr. Calpin, I will have no choice but to retain yet another lawyer to take legal action. That would be very disappointing.

  5. DO NOT USE BRIAN CALPIN! VERY UNPROFESSIONAL

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Mr. Calpin in Nov. of 2011 to represent me in my expungement process. My consultation went well and he informed that the process should take no longer than 2-3 mos. I waited one month to contact Mr. Calpin about my case and he told me that it was a process and he will keep me posted, I waited another month to contact him this is when he told me I had a hearing on Apr. 15th of 2012 only to find out that date was on Sunday. At this point I decided to do my own research and contacted the expungement office, there I was told that my expungement was never filed and to contact my lawyer(Mr. Calpin). When I did that he told me it was filed and that the office must of misplaced it. So I called the expungement office back and was informed that if in fact the expungment paperwork was filed that he would have received a package from their office, and if so, just to send them proof and they would go ahead with the process, Mr. Calpin didn't have any proof and said that he would just file it again, 5 mos. later.. I declined that offer and asked for a refund. At first he refused saying he did the paperwork but it was just lost and that happens all the time. I asked for proof that he actually filed the paperwork, fax confirmation, letter, anything. He couldn't provide this. Now I am in the process of filing and complaint. So again I tell you DO NOT USE BRIAN CALPIN! Save yourself a headache...

  6. We Do Not Recommend Mr. Calpin!

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I hired Mr. Calpin to complete our wills and power of attorney documents. We paid the retainer upfront on our first and only meeting. He has since refused to return calls or emails. We have tried multiple times and have not heard from him for over two months. We have since filed a complaint with the NJ Bar Association and have had to hire a new attorney. We have not received any communication nor a refund for the money we paid Mr. Calpin.

  7. DO NOT HIRE BRIAN CALPIN - HE IS BAD

    Posted by Patty, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Brian Calpin to represent me in 2 matters. He refused to call me and never evn showed up for Court. I filed complaints with the NJ Bar. What a waste of money. Terrible lawyer.

  8. Many delays, no communication

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I sought out help from Mr. Calpin after getting the runaround and zero communication from my last lawyer. Initially he returned calls and I thought that I was finally making progress in my case. Not so. Cut to six months later, it takes weeks to get a return phone call, I appeared in court on the date he informed me to only to find out it had been changed and he never notified me. It has now gotten to the point that I had to file a complaint with the NJ Bar Association, as he is simply nonresponsive and has now wasted another 6 months of my time.

  9. Protected me from very serious charges.

    Posted by Steve, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was faced with a very serious criminal charge that, had I been convicted, my ability to obtain a good job would destroyed. However, Mr. Calpin negotiated my case to to a petty offense and I have a clean record because of him.

  10. All hassle, no communication

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Calpin.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We hired Mr. Calpin in October 2009. Once he received payment, we did not hear from him again until February 2010 when we threatened legal action to retrieve our retainer. We called numerous times, sent many many emails and he never responded. His office is basically empty and we became VERY worried that he'd moved without notifying us. He told us in an email just before we asked for our money back that he filed paperwork with the courthouse. A phone call to the courthouse revealed he lied to us. He did finally issue a refund, but kept all of our paperwork and tied up our retainer unnecessarily for four months. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more money on a more professional attorney.