Skip to main content
Robert C. LeBrasseur

Robert LeBrasseur’s Answers

563 total


  • Speeding ticket 83in a65 please helps

    Radar by aircraft

    Robert’s Answer

    What is your question?

    See question 
  • I have a class d crime out of maine can i get it transferred to another state?

    i have a 1 month old son im helping raise with my fiance who is still over coming on issues from the c- section and we are running low on funds we have a place to live in florida but cant leave until i get this situated is there any possible way i...

    Robert’s Answer

    You can move to Florida during the time the charge is pending in Maine but you must return to Maine for your court hearings. You can only leave if you do not have a bail condition preventing you from leaving the State of Maine. Also, you need to advise the court of any changes in your address and/or phone number.

    See question 
  • Ok i have a criminal charge in maine but im about to be homeless staying here can i transfer to florida where i have a home?

    its a class d crime i dont want to get in trouble if i go but i keep getting harassed by police and im getting kicked out of every place i stay at so is it possible? and the police told me i need to find a different place to live

    Robert’s Answer

    You need to look at your bail conditions. Most bail conditions do not prohibit people from leaving Maine while there case is pending. You have a standard condition of probation that requires you to notify the court of any change of address or phone number. So if you do move notify the court of your new address/phone.

    See question 
  • I have been charged with a class C misdemeanor for shoplifting and am unsure of what to expect.

    Will I be tried as an adult? Should I get a lawyer? Just in general what should I expect and what should I do? Should I plead not guilty? P.S the court date is just a few days from my 18th birthday.... Also it is my first offense.

    Robert’s Answer

    There is no such thing as a class C misdemeanor in the State of Maine. A class C crime is a felony. If this is a first offense and a felony it must be alleged that you stole more than $1000. Regardless of the class the offense you should get an attorney to assist you.

    See question 
  • What are the rules of a no contact stipulation of someone convicted "and" on probation due to a drug charge?

    daughter stole prescription drugs and was arrested and charged with 2 counts of felony possession..

    Robert’s Answer

    I am not sure I fully understand what you are asking. A no contact provision means no contact between the defendant/probationer and the person they are prohibited from having contact with. No contact, direct or indirect, is permitted. You cannot relay messages through third parties, have internet contact, or direct contact. No contact at all. If on probation you can seek to amend the no contact provision through the probation officer. An attorney's help is suggested.

    See question 
  • Is it legal for police officers to search your vechile without probable cause?

    My son borrowed my car and got pulled over for speeding and the police officer had him get out of the vechile and asked him to open my console and then flashed his light all in my car and not 2 long ago the same thing happened to my other son exce...

    Robert’s Answer

    The police are allowed to look into the vehicle from the outside of the vehicle without a warrant or probable cause. The officer should not have asked your son to open the console. Additionally, the officer is allowed to ask the driver to get out of the vehicle.

    See question 
  • Is it legal to be charged with something after you've already been charged.

    My friend recently got arrested for O.U.I and went to the local jail. His court date was today and when his trial started the arresting officer then charged him with aggravated criminal mischief for willingly and knowingly inflicting property dama...

    Robert’s Answer

    I agree with Attorney Rioux. The officer will write a ticket/summons for what the officer believes was committed. The officer will then forward their report to the prosecutor who will review the report. If the prosecutor believes that additional charges can be proven beyond all reasonable they might add those charges. Additionally, if the prosecutor believes what the officer ticketed/summonsed for cannot be proven beyond all reasonable doubt they will not make the charge. All felonies under the Maine Constitution must be presented the Grand Jury. The Grand Jury will return an indictment charging those offenses that the Grand Jury believes their is probable cause to charge. Again, these charge may differ from what the officer ticketed/summonsed for. Good luck.

    See question 
  • Can I get out of an OUI charge?

    Facing an oui charge. Blew a .09 after the officer failed to administer the test two different times. At one point he left the room for about 1 minute to get help from another officer. Once he returned he was able to get an actual reading. I've re...

    Robert’s Answer

    Anything is possible if you are willing to proceed to trial. There are certain protocols that must be followed when an intoxilyzer is used. You need to consult with an experienced OUI attorney as soon as possible.

    See question 
  • Who is liable in this case?

    A person drives to a party, gets too drunk to drive back and asks a friend to drive her back home (in her original car). That friend brings with him marijuana and other drugs, and is pulled over. The officer writes the initial ticket and lets the ...

    Robert’s Answer

    The prosecution has to prove beyond all reasonable doubt that you knew the drugs where there and you had the ability to exercise control over the drugs. That is the definition of possession for drugs in Maine. More than one person can possess the drugs. An experience criminal defense attorney should be able to assist you. As a former drug prosecutor for the Maine Department of Attorney General I have this experience.

    See question 
  • So my ex girlfriend was charged with domestic violence and disorderly conduct. IS she looking at jail time and if not what?

    She has one prior which was in 09, (she was give a deferred disposition which she failed to complete and was give a year probation in which she completed). i was told she punched her new boyfriend in the face after he talked about one of his ex gi...

    Robert’s Answer

    This can be charged as a felony domestic violence assault since she has one prior domestic violence assault conviction in the last 10 years. As a felony she is looking at jail time and probation. She needs an experienced criminal defense attorney.

    See question