Emmanuel J. Dockter’s Reviews

Emmanuel J. Dockter

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good talker, Dismal effectiveness

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Family matter.

    I retained attorney Dockter based on the reviews made by past clients in Avvo. In my six months of working with this attorney I did not see the professionalism stated in their reviews. What I clearly observed was an attorney that was slow to respond to your needs until the day before and even the night before court hearings. Unprepared for court appearences with poorly written motions leaving out many important facts even when supplied to him as they were done at the last minute. This happened to me several times and it was the same excuse of an emergencgy meeting. Well if that is the case dont write your motion the night and day before, prepare correctly. When you interview with him you will meet a man of confidence who is quite intelegent about the law. When it comes to him representing you, this will no longer be reflected and you would have retained an attorney that has his own self serving agenda in mind which is where he uses his intelegence. He is what is known as a rainmaker in this industry. He will talk a good story and once retained you are stuck. You will then discover his lack of getting work done with court dates around the corner and no work done on your case. He will tell you to work on something for the case and then not touch it for days if not weeks. He even changed his position on main goals of my case he should have addressed in the initial interview. Do not hire this attorney. I guarentee you will regret such an action and you will say I should have taken the advice of this reviewer

  2. Can't Find a More Honest Professional Lawyer Who Conducts Business With Integrity like Attorney Emmanuel J. Dockter

    Posted by Irene, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Emmanuel Dockter not only gave me a piece of mind on the welfare of my daughter but he also gave me back my sense of faith that there are honest lawyers/people in the world that conduct their business with integrity. I would highly recommend Attorney Emmanuel Dockter to anyone that is in need of an Ethical, Meticulous and Professional Lawyer who as Attorney Emmanuel Dockter wrote to my daughter's father's lawyer will "resolve the case without wasting the client's time or money."

  3. Recommended to me by an old friend who is an accomplished Law Professor

    Posted by Jonathan N., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Finding myself in this situation came as a shock and completely out of left field. Once the shock wore off, I reached out to the only person in the field of law I knew, and trusted, and he suggested a short list of people including Emmanuel. I called around to a few offices and settled with him because he seemed to be a good orator, and he has a really nice subtle way about him.
    He was fair with his pricing and fee schedule as well.

    In all he handled everything with style and grace and I wouldn't hesitate to pass his card along should someone close to me ever require this type of service.

  4. Responsive and trustworthy

    Posted by Megan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Emmanuel always kept me updated and responded personally to all my e-mals and phone calls, even though I am sure I was far from his biggest client/case. I was involved in a child support case that was complicated by the fact that my child's father was a wealthy jerk who dragged his feet about going into court and who had a law firm working for him that treated the case like they were defending him against a felony murder rap. The situation made me fly off the handle many times; but no matter how many times I may have lost my temper, Emamanuel never lost his. HIs calm demeanor and common sense got me through the whole ordeal. I now have a decent child support order in place, and it wouldn't have happened without him. For family court cases, you really need someone like Emmanuel who not only is knowledgable but who is diplomatic and able to deal with stressed out people operatiing under less than ideal circumstances.

  5. VERY VERY good & pleasant lawyer, will give u peace of mind through out!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I move to Boston a few years ago, after my move my ex wife & i decided to end our marriage.. not knowing what to do I checked for reviews & started calling each lawyer that I saw online. I came across Atty. Emmanuel and after talking to him I felt like I" was talking to a friend that cares, you dont get that its all about the money & per hour charges feeling that you get on other lawyers. I felt really comfortable, so I decided to see him in person. He gave me importance, you can call him or email him & he gives you his time no matter how you think your concerns are so shallow. he is very well grounded Lawyer & thats what I admire about him. through my divorce at times I was overseas.. Atty. Emmanuel would remind me of hearing date and if I had a problem he takes care of it right away before you even ask him too. he tries very hard to make his clients comfortable through out this horrible experience in one's life. THANK you so much Atty. Emmanuel. please stay grounded, humble & remember all the good habits as you go through the years. I highly recommend Atty. Emmanuel to whoever is looking for a divorce lawyer, you'll know what I mean when you see this man in person.

  6. Outstanding!

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Emmanuel Dockter erased all my cynicism about lawyers He never polished his own star to get my business, or ran up my bill as others had done. Instead he patiently listened to my whole divorce soap opera so he could really understand every angle of my case. He then put together a great strategy in front of the judge, that was so hard to argue with, the other side just had to settle. He called me up numerous times during the trial to address my concerns and tell me not to worry. "You are going to win this case," he said And I did.

  7. The Best Divorce lawyer in the boston area

    Posted by Robert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I will never forget my first conversation with divorce attorney Emmanuel Docktor, because it delivered me from so much soul crushing anguish. He was first of all very empathetic from the word go concerning my brutal custody battle. Secondly he grabbed the bull by the horns saying some brilliant things that lifted my spirits & feeling of confidence. He invested plenty of time talking to me about his legal strategies but surprisingly never overcharged. He was collegial with opposing counsel, masterful in front of the judge, brilliant in his cross. He achieved total victory, and thanks to him I can sleep at night.

  8. Highly Recommended

    Posted by CB, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Attorney Dockter in all matters probate/family law. He is extremely knowledgeable in his discipline and takes a level headed approach by not waisting your time or money. He will always give you his honest opinion with legal outcomes, while respecting your beliefs. Lastly, in my observations (in court proceedings), Emmanuel has already earned the respect of his peers including Judges, Probate Officers and GAL's.

  9. Excellent service!

    Posted by Robin, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had to deal with a few lawyers over the years for family/child support matters, usually very disappointed with the promised service and expertise. I no longer live in MA but had to get a lawyer and not wanting to go back to the previous lawyer I had used, I went online and put in a few calls to attorneys, Emmanuel Dockter, called me within 15 mins of my original and it didn't stop there, he kept me informed every step of the way and represented the outcome of my case honestly and accurately. Emmanuel renewed my faith in dealing with an attorney, my case is done and children are all grown but if I were in the position to need an attorney again, he would definitely be my choice. I have to mention this, I also received the unused portion of my retainer back, never has that happened. I am very impressed with the honesty, thank you Emmanuel!

  10. Highly recommend

    Posted by A client who wouldn't hesitate to call again., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emmanuel Dockter.
    • I hired Emmanuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Emmanuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr. Dockter. The only reason I didn't put excellent for all rating is because he has room to grow, which one only gains through experience, which no doubt he will do. Where Mr. Dockter is younger he will become a truely excellent lawyer with time. But in the meantime he gains knowledge with his resources.

    I saw an individual who cared for people.

    One day in court a person needed help in figuring out which office to go to and Mr. Dockter took the time to help this person. I have seen too many people ignore people who need a helping hand but not Mr. Docktor he went out of his way to help them. I was proud to have a lawyer do that. I knew I had an excellent lawyer from that moment on.